Ratings based on 1,836 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

a wonderful resort

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Cons: air condition the lobby
This hotel has always been my favorite hotel in Cancun. The swimming facilities are wonderful. But most of all, the staff is outstanding. They cater to every need. The buffet has a large selection and it is quite good. The Mexican restaurant is most pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great all inclusive Cancun vacation!

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, encouraged partying/having a good time, and it was very affordable. We also felt very safe and relaxed the entire time.
Cons: The food was not great, although there was a lot to choose from. The bed we had was also hard as a rock and was very uncomfortable.
Location: We went on the ScubaCaribe catamaran snorkeling day trip and it was AMAZING! $89 for a day of fun and all you can drink/eat!
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at Riu Caribe! We arrived at 3, checked in right away, and got a beautiful ocean view on the 4th floor. The rooms were clean, had a stocked mini fridge/bar, and was nice and cool inside. The main pool is huge and always has entertaining activities to partake in or watch throughout the day (although the water was a little warm). The beach has lots of seating with shade and crystal blue water. There was a lot of seaweed, but the staff works hard to clean it up. We were never hungry or thirsty and felt very comfortable staying here. It was our first trip to Cancun and for the price, we would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Overall the stay was amazing! Hotel, beach, and pool was fantastic, one thing I was not impressed with was the food. The food was not as great as I expected it to be, after a couple days we figured out what worked for us and what didn't. Drinks were so delicious, service was also amazing! I was really taken back by the ocean and its beauty, it's something like you've never seen, overall the trip was what we wanted and more!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from fortaleza-ce

hotel agradavel perto da praia, com boas instalaçõ

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: das instalações
Cons: a qualidade da alimentação
Location: a localizaçao no que diz respeito a proximidade de shoping fica um pouco distante
como o hotel e muito grande, a alimentação abundante porem de qualidade razoavel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cali

Great vacation

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The room was great and the views from it.
Cons: The bathrooms near restaurants are awful, dark, smells really bad and the air condition had fungus.
Location: Great location because the beach was great, we stay in the hotel all the time because we had everything we wanted right there.
Awesome beach, great pools, awful public bathrooms, food good, it could be better. Great shows!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

OK but will not stay there again!

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: The Beach.
Cons: AC in the lobby...Quieter rooms?
The Hotel was OK.... The bad: Our biggest compliant was the lack of comfortable places to set in an air conditioned areas around the hotel...The lobby was very hot so if you want AC you have to stay in your room....our room has two chairs and the beds so sitting there for any length of time was not comfortable also TV channels in the room for English speaker were only 2! So our time out of the son was so boring! The hotel was very noisy everywhere! One of the pool was quitter but not by much...but also the rooms were not quite at all you can hear noise around the clock even on the 6th floor...can't imagine what is the noise level in the lower floors! The good: The beach is the best thing about this hotel....The water was very nice; some days there were sea-weeds but other days the water was very clean and the beach area was big enough not to feel very crowded. Food was OK....There was enough variety....buffet was better than the sit-down restaurants. Staff were nice and the hotel/room were clean! I read in reviews before going that nay room below the 5th floor will not be able to see the water due to palm trees.... and that was very true....I requested a room change and was accommodated but had to wait for the rooms to be cleaned. the view from the 6th floor great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de Mexico

Decepcion

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: La ubicacion
Cons: Atencion del Personal
Location: Excelentes, mucha diversidad
Esperabamos recibir un mejor trato por parte del personal pero fue todo lo contrario, al llegar al hotel nadie ofrecio ayuda con nuestras malestas ya que veniamos de un viaje largo y cansado hubiera sido de gran ayuda, pasamos a hacer nuestro registro y todo paso sin pena ni gloria, esperabamos ayuda nuevamente con las maletas pero nadie se acerco y decidimos caminar a nuestra habitacion. En los centro de consumo la mayor parte del personal muy groseros a excepcion de Vicente y Charly quien durante toda nuestra estancia nos atendieron de maravilla. Al check Out continuaron los problemas, por la mañana solicitamos un late Check Out pero recibimos un rotundo NO, al hacer nuestro registro de salida, nadie nos atendia hasta que tuvimos que interrumpir a una señorita de Recepcion para que su respuesta fuera"Aqui no es Check Out pase a la ultima fila" todo esto con una actitud muy grosera, al pasar a la fila que nos indicaron, los huespedes que estaban enfrente de nosotros preguntaron por un late check out a lo cual el recepcionista le contesto que no habia ningun problema que podian permanecer en el hotel, al llegar nuestro turno preguntamos nuevamente por Late Check Out a lo cual el recepcionista con caras y mala actitud nos respondio que podiamos quedarnos en los centros de consumo pero que era necesario quitarnos las pulseras, lo cual no sucedio con los huespedes anteriores. Quedamos decepcionados del trato que recibimos en Riu ya que ibamos de Luna de Miel y fue lo peor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

El hotel tiene una playa razonable.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Disfrutamos la estadía en el hotel. La ubicación es buena para una familia con hijos pequeños. No muy cerca del centro de Cancún. El hotel necesita remodelación y las camas de las habitaciones son pequeñas y no tan cómodas. La atención del personal fue muy buena.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ubicación de la playa excelente

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Solo hay A/C en las habitaciones, resto del hotel caliente y húmedo. Mala comida y mal servicio en restaurantes, pareciera que los entrenan solo a recoger platos y no a ser meseros.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from guadalajara

Mi experiencia fue regular- malo.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: las actividades de la piscina.
Cons: todo, desde el buffet, hasta la forma de tratar del personal. y sobre todo las instalaciones y la higiene.
El hotel ya se ve viejo y descuidado, la habitación esta incomoda y las almohadas huelen muy, pero muy mal. Por un descuido mi hijo tomo mucho liquido y se orino en la noche, su cama jamas cambiaron las sabanas, hicieron la cama pero pusieron las mismas. la comida no esta tan buena como en otros Riu a los que me ha tocado ir. en fin realmente no me gusto.