Ratings based on 2,457 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel perfect for both families and couples

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Amazing staff beautiful beach the hotel is in the perfect location. Great entertainment during the day and night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We always enjoy this place. Everything is a 10 except the atrium. That room compared to other hotels is weak. The entertainment is week.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice inclusive

Posted Feb 18, 2017
If you are looking for a nice hotel to party and drink this is the all inclusive hotel for you. This hotel is a bit outdated but you will have a nice inclusive experience. The staff is very polite and everyone is willing to help. If I return to Cancun I would not stay here again. I would try a different resort just for a more elegant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern New Jersey

A return trip to RIU Caribe

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Cons: Replace the Chinese restaurant with another cuisine (Italian?)
Very pleased to return 10 years later and find this resort in beautiful condition with many areas updated. Gorgeous room (we were upgraded...thank you!), beautiful beach with soft white clean sand & wonderful pool. Fabulous staff everywhere - maintenance people, housekeeping, restaurant servers (Ruben & Adriana) - the resort is spotless and service is excellent. Our only negative is there are only 3 restaurants (other than the buffet) and the Chinese one is just awful, which we made the mistake of trying again on this trip. Mexican & steak restaurants were terrific. For the majority of our 10 day stay, we mostly ate at the buffet which is fabulous and as lovely as a "real" restaurant. We were a party of 4 (one is vegetarian) and we raved about the selection, quality and variety in the buffet. Had a great trip!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

hotel was okay

Posted Jan 27, 2017
The best thing about this hotel is the beach. The beach is nice and not rocky like the resorts on both sides of the hotel. The food is okay. Sushi was the only thing really disappointing. It was a crowded when we went. You can reserve beach chairs in the morning or most likely you won't get one; however someone stole our towels and took our chairs. You get one card per person for beach towels. Overall, this hotel was okay nothing to glamorous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Could have been 5 stars if they would have cleaned

Posted Jan 23, 2017
I wish I could give them 5 stars, but I cant, because the room cleaning was AWFUL! The sheets were not changed at all during my stay of 8 nights. There was some small brown spot on the pillow case that never left during my stay. Also the toilet was never cleaned, even before I got here. How do I know? Because you know the little hairs form when a man shaves? Well there was some on the toilet (now we didn't have any man staying with us) and when my mom just for curiosity got the brush that cleans the toilet and lightly scrubbed the hairs, THEY DIDNT MOVE. How long has the toilet not been cleaned? Were the sheets even changed before us? Also the floor was never cleaned during our stay. There was ants crawling around. All they did when they "cleaned" your room was, do the bed, change the towels and add extra toilet paper if needed. Oh and spray something in your room to make it smell clean. When you walk in, it seems pretty and clean but when you actually check around, its dirty. We even gave them tips. The pool was loud. Loud as in music blasting so loud that the hotel next to us can hear it clearly and probably the hotel after that one. There was bars everywhere in the hotel, i personally didn't like that. The pros- the hotel staff was overall pretty nice. The food was great. If you want to enjoy your stay, go to Xcaret and other places. (They are amazing) Its very lonely staying just at the hotel. It won't feel like a vacation. Hotel is beautiful but not clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Hotel in Paradise

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Staff and services were amazing...Hotel was clean, staff was very friendly, food was great, and beds were extremely comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Run down, outdated hotel - sub-par quality

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: the beach
Cons: the hotel is outdated and the food not very good.
Location: location near town and not too far from airport.
The hotel needs some serious upgrades...it looks like an 80s throwback. The room is really run down. the weirdest is that there is a glass door between the bathroom and the beds, so if someone uses the loo in the middle of the night, it lights up the entire room. Really poor design. the bathroom was dingy, poorly lit and always looked a bit dirty. Our first night there, my son and I were walking near the pool and got knocked into by some very drunk 20-somethings. the following night, the disco next door was having a party that went until midnight and it was SO loud that we could not go to sleep. it sounded like the disco was in our room. this in a "family resort". We have stayed at Rius before and have found this one so disappointing compared to others..the food here was sub-par and the staff was not really on top of swapping out food or clearing tables between guests. Really unimpressed by the hotel and while i specifically looked to stay in a Riu after my last few experiences at Riu's being so positive, I will probably look at other chains next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
We're we're overbooked and upgraded to another Riu upon arrival. He new riu was fantastic!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst hotel in Cancun

Posted Jan 16, 2017
trying to eat dinner was a nightmare , my daughter new skirt disappear from her suitcase