Ratings based on 2,532 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Nice hotel in the hotel zone.

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: View of the ocean. Pool and restaurants.
Cons: Room noise, cameras
Location: La isla shopping. very close to nightlife (coco bongo, mandala, la vaquita, senor frogs)
Overall this hotel was a great choice. Many restaurants to choose from, as well as bars. Beach is very close to the pool. Rooms were very nice, with a balcony & alcohol dispenser which was really cool. Bathroom was very big and had a big shower. Biggest complaint about the room would be the noise. You can hear people in the rooms next door and people talking in the hallway. Beach is beautiful, but got my phone and wallet stolen while in the ocean for 20 minutes. Their bartenders pick up and serve drinks at the beach but according to the hotel it is a public beach and there is not much they can do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH, USA

Great hotel!

Posted May 24, 2017
Loved staying at this hotel with my boyfriend. We were able to relax on the beach/by the pool as well as eat and drink as much as we wanted. Not too much going on but you could easily find something fun to do if you wanted to. If you are looking for crazy night life and somewhere close to downtown - this is not the resort for you. Food was great, room was clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The beach and pool area are beautiful!! Definitely will book our next vacation at another Riu resort!! They even sent champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for my birthday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very nice hotel with a beautiful view of the beach

Posted May 22, 2017
The hotel is very nice. Staff was so nice and super friendly. Love the all inclusive, definitely coming back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Overall disappointed. Beach was gorgeous, pool was gorgeous, but thats about it. Staff was mostly unresponsive and unhelpful. Food at all the restaurants was just awful. Wont be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
It was pretty good. The only thing is when we ordered our room we paid extra to upgrade it for an ocean view with a king size bed since it was for our honeymoon. But when we got there they tried to give us a bad room that was super small and no view . Thank goodness we printed out our Itinerary And showed them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Loved it!!!!

Posted May 12, 2017
Excellent location, restaurants, gorgeous beach (no rocks). Truly pleased with the staff. No regrets. Will definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Neptune City, NJ

Fourth year back to the Riu Caribe

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The resort is very well maintained.
Cons: The elevators on our side of the hotel were not working correctly and they are not air conditioned. A coffee maker in the room would be nice.
Location: There is always something to do at the resort. We never left it.
This was our fourth year back to the Riu Caribe. Once again, we had a great time. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and they remember us from the years before. The resort is not overwhelmingly big like others, so it is easy to get around. The food and drinks are awesome. A lot to choose from. Will be back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The staff the beach the pool the Fooood!

Posted May 6, 2017
We stayed here for our honeymoon and we had so much fun and relaxed. The few downsides I would say is that the bed was a bit uncomfortable the linen felt rough and the towels too, some fabric softener will fix that. Another thing is that our shower in the room the drain kept whistling every couple of minutes which kind of drove us crazy the first day until we filtered it out. Also the wifi is only on the lobby and extends towards the beach but no wifi in the room. Then again we were on vacation so we were a bit glad that we were forced to enjoy vacation and get off our phones. The staff was amazing and friendly. Prior to booking I had read reviews that the food was a hit or miss. We personally had no problems with the food. Sometimes people think the food is not good or lacking variety, seriously you have people who are cooking for so many different cultures and have also to think about allergies then you have your people who are picky. I am a picky person and honestly I tried not to be picky and ate a lot of different types of foods and it was good. All in all from check in to check out everything was excellent I recommend this hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora, Colorado

Our 4th straight year. Enough said

Posted May 6, 2017
Always great staff, food is always delicious with many different options
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas,Nevada

Crappy hotel with crappy foods and services

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing !
Cons: Nothing !
Location: The location is ok....Shopping mall or restaurant is not a walking distance from the hotel.
Hotel is basicly only 3 star hotel with sister hotel of may be 4 star hotel beside this one. You can,t even go inside the other sister hotel to look or walk. You wont be allowed to do that,they treated us like a criminal when we tried to walk and see the other sister hotel..... Never have anything happened like that in my life,that we can even walk at their own hotel sister hotel because they said,we book for Riu Caribbe not Riu Palace Peninsula,so we can,t do that.