Ratings based on 2,549 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Everything was great except for the food.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Defiantly won't be going back just because the food was horrible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Cons: Beds are hard. I had to order extra pillows to put down to make a pillow top to sleep on. Food was average even in the individual restaurants.
Location: There wasn't really anything in walking distance.
The hotel was nice but there are others around that I have enjoyed more for about the same money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

General

Posted Jun 25, 2017
I ordered ocean view room, but I got a room in the corner. If I did not go to the receptor to negotiate about this, I may not change the room. The hotel is so noisy in the evening. However, the staff is friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Nice all inclusive on a budget

Posted Jun 25, 2017
One of Riu's older less flashy resorts. Remodeled rooms acceptable. Housekeeping and Maintenance did a great job throughout the week. Balcony doors difficult to open and shut with background noise from outside filtering in. Walls thin and could hear neighbors talking. Rooms with side view of ocean not oceanfront. Still a nice view. Slight mess up at check in but was rectified next day. One of the nicest beaches in Cancun ( our 5th trip). Lots of loungers, tables, and shade if desired. Excellent wait staff on beach. Tons of water activities available. Staff worked hard to entertain guests both inside and outside. Food however was not good. Same food in buffet for breakfast and dinner. Specialty restaurants were not any better. The outdoor buffet by the pool had birds flying in and out. I saw birds stealing some of the food right out of the serving pan. Honestly that just grossed me out. By the end of the week, we were barely eating. We actually went out to eat twice in downtown Cancun. Easy bus ride for $1 each way. On a side note: we all returned home with a GI bug. Not sure where we got sick. Lastly, prices in Cancun were ridiculously high and one night in downtown the streets were filled with sewage water. It was disgusting. I have no desire to visit Cancun any time soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jun 23, 2017
We got there and did not receive the room I booked and paid for. Booked a king size bed with oven view, got to the room and had two twin beds. This was a vacation for me and boyfriend and did not want two beds. Call and they just put the beda together to make a king size bed it was okay but not at all what I wanted. Also a big issue was the major issue with the ants in the room! Like they were everywhere and planning a vacation to have fun and be relaxed to deal with bugs was the worst thing! So everyday had to have someone to come in a spray near the balcony so they wouldn't get all in our luggage or clothes. Also this resort said they had wifi but only in the lobby so that can be a issue with trying to communicate with family and not having this resource reliable as described in booking. All together I feel like the room could have been way better it was nice but not at all what I expected! The guide we had through Expedia was GREAT! His name was Jorge and he was very helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, clean place! Staff was awesome!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much. Weather was crappy, but hotel was super nice!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: the food but they should have coffie in your room to make i will never stay there again in the lobby the coffie was always just warmth not hot
Cons: it was very disappointing that they did not have coffie in the room to make early in the morning if iwanted coffie i had to go dowwn to the lobby and
Location: we love the casinos near by one dubie casino won at blackjack
this is the only hotel in cancun that do not have coffie in the rooms i have been to alot of diffrent hotels in cancun i will never stay in this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Wish i had of stayed longer !

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Great hotel with heaps of activities and super relaxing, fun atmosphere, heaps of bars on a beautiful beach, room had a few issues to start with clenliness but after I told staff about it I was moved into a better room, would love to come back and stay again! Could easily stay 8 nights here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Nice hotel in the hotel zone.

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: View of the ocean. Pool and restaurants.
Cons: Room noise, cameras
Location: La isla shopping. very close to nightlife (coco bongo, mandala, la vaquita, senor frogs)
Overall this hotel was a great choice. Many restaurants to choose from, as well as bars. Beach is very close to the pool. Rooms were very nice, with a balcony & alcohol dispenser which was really cool. Bathroom was very big and had a big shower. Biggest complaint about the room would be the noise. You can hear people in the rooms next door and people talking in the hallway. Beach is beautiful, but got my phone and wallet stolen while in the ocean for 20 minutes. Their bartenders pick up and serve drinks at the beach but according to the hotel it is a public beach and there is not much they can do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH, USA

Great hotel!

Posted May 24, 2017
Loved staying at this hotel with my boyfriend. We were able to relax on the beach/by the pool as well as eat and drink as much as we wanted. Not too much going on but you could easily find something fun to do if you wanted to. If you are looking for crazy night life and somewhere close to downtown - this is not the resort for you. Food was great, room was clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The beach and pool area are beautiful!! Definitely will book our next vacation at another Riu resort!! They even sent champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for my birthday!