Ratings based on 2,328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great vacation.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
riu Caribe is a very nice resort- we took a family of 8 and all had a great time. Buffet is wonderful. not easy to get mini bar in room restocked- when asking felt like we were putting them out. towel animals are adorable! Antonio in the buffet really stood out as he always remembered our names and always kept us laughing!! nightly shows were good but one bar tender made it hard to get drinks - we found it was faster to go to lounge bar and get one. pool staff was fun!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

El servio es muy malo, y la conidad pésima .

Posted Jul 21, 2016
De entrada la persona q nos recibió (Jesenia) tenía una actitud nada agradable , en lugar de recibirnos ofreciéndonos los beneficios del hotel , nos bombardeó con todo lo negativo . El paquete q ustedes ofrecen no es lo mismo q el hotel provee .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b seatac wa

Overall one of the best vacations ever!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
It was a great vacation-didn't care for the restaurant times, first day there water started pouring out of the ceiling of the buffet room. We had three rooms -staff was not always friendly when asked to stock mini bar/refrigerator - Could use more waiters around pool. Great shows nightly, great pool entertainment staff, great food! i would request a room on an upper floor -our room said ocean view but was so low palm trees blocked views of ocean and pool
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your money at this hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Don't waste you're money at this hotel go somewhere else and be a happy vacationer but definitely not at this hotel. Service is bad, food is poor to bad and everything every day. Check in isn't until 3 pm they tell you they will try to have something earlier but of course never happened. Also the checkout is right at 12 and they cut your wrist band right after checking out so you don't use their facilities after that. Entertainment is bad and lets say you want to dance well you have to leave your hotel and pay for the nightclub they promote so after 11 pm there is nothing going on. Music a the pool sucks, drinks at the bars suck their bartenders need to go through extensive training in order to learn how to make a drinkable drink. I guess they do it to save money or I don't know what but there is bearly any alcohol in their drinks so you have to ask them multiple times to add more alcohol. I really didn't feel like tipping servers here since the service is so poor. THIS is NOT a FIVE STAR Hotel. Save your money and go to a different hotel trust me you'll be glad you didn't go to this Riu Caribe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Had a very nice vacation.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
The resort Riu Caribe was as expected. The food was good. It was clean and pleasant. The staff worked hard but were not as personable as the Barcelo tucancun was our previous trip. The beach was very nice and calm water. You could take a nice walk but not for long walk on the beach. The people there were all very friendly and it was very interactive and fun activities. The Riu palace was right next door and we checked it out. It was very beautiful but more quiet and not as friendly and fun as Caribe. We also visited the Riu Cancun 2 days and it was okay but wasnt as much fun as the caribe. It was not wild by any means but just plain down to earth fun. The drink were very good and the shows were fun as well. We did not encounter any problems while there. I would choose Caribe again. Did not encounter any sales people. It's in a really good location close to ferry and pirate ship. There are a few little shops by the ferry. 100% satisfied😄
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Esperaba mucho mas de este hotel

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: La playa
Cons: Shows, Comida, atención al detalle
Location: La cultura Maya es espectacular…. Recomiendo ir a Chichen Itza, Tulum y Coba….. Estos son los que viste.
En general este hotel es término medio: *** Personal es bastante amable, dispuesto a ayudar *** La comida es bastante mediocre.... comimos en el restaurant de cortes y estos están bastante malitos, sin embargo el estar comiendo de noche a la orilla del mar es espectacular También comimos en el restaurant de comida mexicana, la arrachera estaba bastante desabrida El mejorcito de los 3restaurants fue el chino donde el pato estaba excelente *** Los shows nocturnos dejan mucho que desear, creo que si tenderán shown de habla inglesa deben de tener personas que la hablen un poco mejor. Creo que solamente no quieren gastar en contratar shows de más alta calidad…. Sin embargo no quiero se irrespetuoso de los participantes de los shows pues ellos hacen su mejor esfuerzo. El único que se salva es el señor que toca el sax -Las instalaciones son regulares para el tipo de hotel, un poco mal mantenidas y sin detalles que llamen la atención
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Food was great. Staff was very friendly.

Posted May 18, 2016
Had a great time. Wish the rooms were slightly better and more up to date. The hotel staff were absolutely amazing. Very friendly service everywhere we went. Hotel needs some upgrades and need to fix their elevator. Only one was working the entire week. Other than that totally worth the money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Nice hotel, The beach was amazing at this hotel.

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: I really like the location and the Beach property
Cons: Some area could be cleaned a little more often i.e. the mirrors in the elevators and the trash in the ashtrays.
Location: Many things to do near by
The rooms where nice and clean. The beach was amazing as was the pools. The swim up bar was another bonus I loved. The waiters could have be better while we where dinning but our overall experience was great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly.
Cons: It would be great if they had coffee makers in the room. Also the toilet in our room made high pitched squealing noise at times which would wake us.
Location: The hotel is only 30 minutes from the airport. We never left the property, as there is plenty to do right there.
This is our third year back to the Rui Caribe and we love it. The restaurants and food are very good and the staff that waits on you is very attentive and accommodating. The pool and beach are beautiful and very clean. Everyone is very friendly and if you need anything, they will take care of it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Third time in three years

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: We like that it is not far from the airport. Everyone on the staff is friendly and there to see that you are happy
Cons: This year there were no alarm clocks in the room. We also have had issue with the fact that there is no coffee makers in the room. That needs to chang
My husband and myself and BBF's have come back three times. We love it there. The property is beautiful, the restaurants are good and buffet always terrific. We will come back again next year