Ratings based on 4,415 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Beautiful hotel and excellent staff and restaurant servers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel stay ever

Posted Apr 21, 2017
This hotel is one of the best stays I've had in a while. The service was awesome and the service was superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tx

Great hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I am pretty picky on how I like things from cleanliness to appearance. I thought the hotel and staff are wonderful. I would recommend this to all my friends and plan on returning soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dalls, Texas

Riu Palace was fantastic

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: There is nothing more to say than the staff. They were fantastic.
Cons: The room bed was not great. The mattress was not the best. You could kind of feel the springs in it. Not terrible, but not good.
The staff was amazing. Everyone was so nice. The place was incredibly clean. Staff members were constantly cleaning the place. The beach was really nice. Based on the size of the hotel, there was always plenty of chairs available on the beach or around the pools. I read many reviews that there was a musty odor that was really bad. I was a bit worried about that, but they must have done something to change that. We did not notice that at all. From check in to check out, everyone there made us feel welcome. We liked that the hotel had two main pools. The party crowd generally used one pool area and the other was usually very quite and calm. The hotel has a buffet restaurant and 5 other specialty restaurant. No reservations are taken, so there may be a wait. The fusion restaurant was fantastic, followed closely by the Japanese restaurant. The Mexican restaurant was good, not great and the only disappointing meal was the steak house. Maybe we are spoiled coming from Texas, but the steaks were not very good. We ordered a NY strip and a fillet. The strip was more like a thin sirloin with lots of fat. The fillet looked exactly the same, except they trimmed all the fat from the sides. Regardless of order, they all came medium well ( you can't really cook to order when they are that thin). Based on overall experience, I would highly recommend this resort. You will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything at your feet!

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Great location , friendly staff & more importantly great service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Pergect

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Everything was fantastic - food drinks beach entertainment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roy, Wa

Beautiful resort, great beach, awesome staff!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The hotel was always sparkling clean and gorgeous!! The staff are amazing! The food is ok...I've had better. Only real complaint the bed is like sleeping on concrete...same as other RIU we stayed at (somehow we forgot this) and the elbow level metal "help me" rack in the shower. Two awesome bartenders Linguini and Ernesto!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

A tale of two pools

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Having a hard time with the rating. I travel frequently and have stayed in RIUs before but it was like there were two sections and noise levels to this resort. The swim up pool bar area which I normally love to be near was very loud and there were many overly intoxicated people! I love to drink and have fun but when you see people falling down the stairs from that pool to the beach or vomiting on themselves by the pool then that's just not my scene . The central pool and pool to the left were still lively but much quieter .The beach is very nice with a lot of chairs and umbrellas. We played volleyball everyday on the beach and met a lot of nice people mostly from the US The hotel as a whole is very beautiful with very attentive hard working staff !! Food in the speciality restaurants was ok- not a large selection and we felt they were trying to be overly creative. Also most of the specialty restaurants had a 45 minute wait time each night. I am not a buffet person at all but ended up eating there most of the time because we could eat when we wanted and it had a much larger selection and the quality of food was good. The wine offered at the resort was not good at all and not much of a selection. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Las Americas but don't think it would be our first choice next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Staff was friendly. Location great and food was the best I have ever had at an all-inclusive resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

PENINSULA HOTEL - Not bad but Not Great

Posted Apr 18, 2017
I originally made a reservation here with some friends and upon arrival the person in the front mentioned it'd be best for us to stay in the Riu Peninsula as we looked like we would have more fun there. We decided to go with their suggestion which we appreciated but when we arrived to the Peninsula, they only had rooms available with King beds. They also didn't have any roll out beds. The beds were extremely hard and not comfortable at all. The restaurants closed way too early. We went in at 8:45pm several nights and they would reject us which wouldn't end up with us having buffet almost every night. The pool area / volleyball courts / beach area were good.