Ratings based on 4,479 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Beautiful modern hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
This is my 6th time to Cancun & we keep going back because of the wonderful time we always have! This has been by far the best resort I've stayed. Everything from our check-in to check-out was absolutely wonderful. And as I always say...the mexican people go above & beyond & are truly wonderful to those visiting their country. The only thing I would recommend is a DJ or some type of entertainment at least until midnight. When you're on vacation you look to dance or hang out a little later than usual & after their theater show there is nothing to do. Aside from that, thank you for a wonderful stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Only as good as your guests...

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Service, entertainment, beachfront, consistent food at buffet
Cons: Food in the specialty restaurants not amazing No bachelor party guests(impossible for the hotel to control, of course) Mattresses not very comfortable
Location: Isla Mujeres - 30 minute ferry ride away, beach cabana massages, eat at Jax! Don't shop the main strip Shopping nearby the hotel with decent prices
Beautiful pools and beachfront. Food was good, not exquisite. Service phenomenal. Didn't enjoy several bachelor/ette parties attracted to the facility and surrounding area. Entertainment staff was very friendly and talented and interested in providing guests with a satisfying visit. Overall, very good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

50th birthday celebration.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The Riu fit crew were amazing.....thank you to Roxabeth and the team....service at the restaurants was great too...they really do what it takes!!
Cons: Just the room humidity.....provide dehumidifiers on request possibly? I saw them in the hallways. I'm in love with the Riu
Location: The trip to Chichen Itza was incredible, and swimming in a Cenote was a great experience!!
What a great experience....the staff was so wonderful, the food sooooo good, and what a beautiful place!! ...Cannot wait to go back and be pampered again. This was our second trip to Cancun, but our first time here....we will go no other place now!....Have to give a big thumbs up to the management for putting together such a wonderful staff too... I only wish they would provide a room de-humidifier on request, my only issue was the humidity in the rooms, sometimes it made sleeping uncomfortable, but it would not dissuade me from staying here again....I loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca.

Best Experience Ever

Posted May 21, 2017
We had such an amazing time here. The staff is so friendly. The hotel is so clean and well maintained. The restaurant variety is amazing. The only thing I would suggest is more lounge chairs and umbrellas for the beach area. Other than that. It was almost a perfect experience. We will be back soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Disappointing; NOT 4 star

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: THE FOOD, THE SERVICE, THE QUALITY OF THE ALCOHOL, CLEANLINESS
Location: There are some shops across the street.
This hotel is more like a 2.5-star hotel at best. Pool area was dirty; empty drink cups floating in the pool, dirty towels everywhere. Buffet lunch was essentially completely picked clean 15 minutes before close. Hamburg guy actually ran out of buns & took a bun off another sandwich to make my burger. Pool service is non-existent. Long wait at bar for drinks. Drinks are made w/ cheapest alcohol possible. White wine is undrinkable. Food is HORRIBLE. Most of the restaurants are only open 3 hours for dinner so there is a wait every night for tables or you eat at the same sad, tired buffet for all meals. You must put your room card in a slot in order to get electricity in the rooms. There is only ONE towel kiosk for 3 pools & the guy who gives out the towels (Towel Nazi) scrutinizes you for each towel he gives out. Only 1 towel per person and you are REQUIRED to present a special card to get that towel & you better bring it back or you will be charged for it. View not what we paid for (complained about this and got no response from the manager). 2/3 pools very loud and not at all relaxing. All pools close at 7pm! TV is all Spanish except for 1 or 2 stations. This place is SO Spring Break! Everywhere you look, they are cutting corners. Not worth HALF what we paid. No class, no value, no sophistication and really poor service. Don't do it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very nice resort.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Very clean and very friendly staff. Great food at "Krystal" Fusion restaurant.
Cons: We did not like food at "Los Arcos" Italian restaurant and "Fiesta Mexicana" Mexican restaurant
Location: Very close to shopping - various shops right across the street. 30 mins ride to airport.
Clean rooms and facilities. Friendly staff. Good food. We loved beach, very clean with beautiful sand. Great infinity pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mechanicsburg, P

Third Time at this resort

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The beach and pool area is perfectly maintained. Especially liked the addition of the folding canopy above the pool lounges.
Cons: The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to stay number 4.
We always enjoyed our stay at this resort, however we really appreciate that it is adult only. We arrived early and our room was ready so we could enjoy the facility all day long. Since the remodel last fall we noticed a great improvement in all the restaurants especially the steaks. Also liked the "no reservations" for dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south florida

Nice hotel in good location

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location, food, staff
Cons: Noise from the central electrical system in the rooms on a back / ocean view/
Location: Location is a great neighborhood
We love the resort. Great location, friendly staff, delicious variable food, great services . Will be returning back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Pennsylvania

It was the best vacation my wife and I ever had.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Better shows.
Location: It was a 10 minute cab ride bus ride 45 minute walk to everything.
My wife and I have been to Mexico before but nothing compared to the experience we had at the Rui Palace Las Americas. Room was phenomenal, the food was phenomenal, the beach was phenomenal, and the staff was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Beautiful hotel but needs some tweaks

Posted May 18, 2017
So I'll give you the upmost honest review . My girlfriend and I booked this hotel based on reviews here's ours Airport shuttle : was awesome . The shuttle we booked through greyline was a Mercedes sprinter . The driver met us outside airport and made us feel special . Got my girl a nice rose and ice cold waters . Hotel checkin : it was very easy . They greet you with a nice champagne flute and if you tip the man ( we are from Vegas so we understand the game) we got a nice bump up to a 5th floor ocean view and a bottle of champagne sent to our room the next day. The man at the front desk Roberto I believe was awesome Bar experience: we toured all the bars and they were awesome . The bartenders are there for YOU . Go see ABU at the piano bar he works 1-9., he will keep the drinks flowing and he is a cool dude . Make sure to tip HIM, and they will forever make sure your drink never reaches the bottom . Abu got to know us well enough we stopped ordering and he had us taken care of . It was really nice .only issue I'm not sure if the ice is filtered my girl and I felt a lil uneasy drinking slushed drinks The room : we had a jr suite on the fifth floor room 555 . It was very nice with an ocean view . The only issue we had was the shower water smelled kind of like a sewer.. That was a bummer other than that the room was nice and Clean and we felt very safe at night. FOOD:needs some work more menu selections. Steak house was the best but bread was cold and Japanese place was good