Ratings based on 4,288 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Great hotel-all inclusive

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Once we finally reached the resort, (never use Super Shuttle), it was outstanding. Everyone was accommodating. They made us feel like they wanted you there. Food was good across the board. Good,safe area with easy access to everything. The room was excellent and well cared for. Highly recommend this one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Best part is pools and beach

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Steak restaurant only had 2 steaks on menu. Food available 24 hours right next to front desk was terrible. Some staff was rude. Left room early before sun came out and no lights in hallway. Entertainment was terrible. Bar staff and poolside staff were very attentive. Food was ok not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

You won't starve

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: See above. I would add the cute towel art in my room. It was a puppy dog made of towels.
Cons: The gym could add a chinning bar. Its my favorite exercise and I missed that.
Location: Take the catamaran to Isla Mujeras. This includes a brief snorkel adventure and a plethora of shops on the island. The lunch is so so. Not impressive.
Friendly helpful staff and right near the beach. You won't starve with at least five restaurants and a 24 hr snack bar. In fact the problem will be to restrain yourself so you do not over eat the delicious food. Its also a great opportunity to practice your high school Spanish since the staff all speak Spanish as well as English. Drinking is no problem either. The staff take orders on the beach or wherever you happen to sit. So its a truly sybaritic experience. At poolside the staff will entertain you with organized activities such as pool volleyball or dance lessons. There is a fitness center too to work off the pounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

This place is clean with friendly staff.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Our room was big and we loved the balcony and view. No kids around was great.
Cons: There was coffee machine issues in the 24 hour café. The food needs more garlic. The milk sitting out is not chilled. Some buffet food could be warmer
Location: Shopping was close. There are numerous restaurants near by. Many excursions were available.
We enjoyed the pool activities. There is some pretty good food too. The bar tenders did us right. The overall employee impressions is they work hard. Easy check in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mystic, CT

Great short get-away on a beautiful beach!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: We loved the service and food the best! The lobby and pools were beautiful. And, the beach was talcum powder like sand! Close to everything!
Cons: Two double beds pushed together instead of two queens or a king.
Location: Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby as well as the ferry to Isla Mujeres!
From the time we walked into the beautiful lobby we were pampered and awed by the service and the location. The 7th floor room overlooking the pool and beautiful beach and all the colors of the ocean on our extended sized deck blew us away. What a view! The food was phenomenal! Every restaurant was better than the last. We had a great time. Good strong drinks with plenty of variety. The staff was friendly and helpful! Easy check-in and fast service everywhere. We absolutely loved the place. The beach was great! The water crystal clear! Our only complaint would be the two double beds pushed together. Both were comfortable, but one was not big enough for both of us to sleep on. There were so many people cleaning the lobby and grounds every morning. We will definitely go back as it was our favorite AI so far! The resort being all adults was also VERY nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wonderful experience!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
We quickly fell in love with this hotel! From check-in to check-out you are treated like royalty. The staff is genuinely caring. The food at the in-house restaurants was spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Family getaway

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness of the resort and rooms, the extremely accommodating staff, great beach, selection of food and restaurants, and proximity to downtown
Cons: The Italian restaurant menu needs an overhaul. The food at best was below average.
Location: Close to downtown Cancun, marinas,shops, restaurants, and large malls.
My wife and I decided to take a trip to Cancun and bring along our adult children and their spouses (9 total). After researching various resorts we decided on the Riu Palace Las Americas. This was by far one of the most enjoyable trips we have ever taken. We highly recommend this resort. Nothing against younger children at a resort, but this was the first time we experienced an adult result and it was refreshing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Hotel RIU

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the staff, the cleanliness and the decorations.
Cons: Please see the above statements.
Location: Location was perfect with a shopping center within 2-3 blocks. The beach was very good as it was somewhat sheltered so the waves were not too strong.
The hotel was beautiful, clean and the hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The room was furnished nicely, the bathroom was extremely user friendly. But since I have arthritis, I was not impressed with the steps in the room to get to the TV, couch or balcony, and the TV was not easily seen from the bed. As in most hotels, the mattresses are too firm for my comfort. I would have liked to sit by the pool but was not able since there were no deck chairs, only loungers which I cannot sit on because of back problems. I talked to several other older people who also complained about this situation to me. The outside couches were uncomfortable because the seats were too wide. To sit on them, a person's back is not aligned comfortably. This makes them very uncomfortable to persons with back problems. To get some sun, I needed to walk on the beach or outside the hotel, not what I prefer to do. Since it is adults only, and I noticed there were quite a few older adults, I would think the hotel would be made more accommodating for us. The food was excellent in all the restaurants, including the buffet and 24 hour snack room. I especially enjoyed the variety in the buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Very clean and very fun! Lots to do, good food.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
My boyfriend and I go to Mexico once a year. I'm 22 and he's 26 and we both agree it's a happy medium between party resort and relaxation. There's a pool bar where everyone gets crazy and another pool up above that's more calm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Black Springs, AR

The Riu has it all, great resort!

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Everything - met our expectations in every area. Honored the Adult Only policy (have stayed elsewhere that did not).
Cons: Poolside service was slow depending on which pool you used.
Location: Plenty of shopping and restaurants. Fun day trip - take the ferry to Isla Mujeras.
Beautiful resort, very impressive lobby, super friendly staff, great beach, ocean is an absolutely beautiful aqua. A special thank you to Atalia and Angel @ Don Roberto restaurant. Olga kept our room in perfect order with a friendly smile. So very accommodating, ask and you shall receive. Really enjoyed the shrimp, lobster, fish and steaks at Don Roberto. Yummy tamales served at Fiesta Mexicana. Poolside BBQ was amazing, shrimp, ribs, paella, wings, guacamole and the best pico de gallo ever. Beverage servers poolside and on the beach; mini bar in room stocked daily. Capuchino served my favorite little pastry, a mini cream puff with white chocolate topping, ummmmm. Hotel sent up a bottle of tequila wishing my friend Happy Birthday.