Ratings based on 4,484 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and elegant hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location, great service and great food.
Location: Private beach, shopping malls
Elegant hotel, excellent service and great location. Hotel staff really tried their best to please us, I'm grateful and appreciate all theirs service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect mix of relaxation and fun

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: The staff make this place great. They are very friendly and attentive. The food and drinks are good.
Cons: The power went out a couple times while we were there. One time it made us a little late to dinner since we couldn't see to get ready.
Location: The location is in the heart of the hotel and shopping area. We didn't stray too far, but there were places to pick up things if we needed to.
This place was awesome. My girlfriend and I stayed a week for her birthday and we are really glad we did. Our first impression was an attendant taking our bags and handing us a glass of champagne. Next we were upgraded to a suite for free. No complaints there. The room was very well air conditioned and cleaned. it had plenty of space, a huge shower, and his and hers sinks which was convenient. The internet worked well enough. It was hit or miss for watching videos, but music and texts worked fine. The food was good. The main buffet was decent considering that it is mass produced, and the specialty restaurants were never crowded despite having pretty good food. There were two main pools, plus a beach area. One pool would have loud music and volleyball and a swim up bar every day. This was usually populated with a younger crowd looking to drink and socialize. We went there one day and had a good time. The rest of the time we spent in the other pool area or in the beach, which was much more relaxed. These really benefited from being adults only. We had a waiter at both that would bring us drinks from the bar all day, which was awesome. The drinks were usually pretty quality, with middle shelf liquors of each type. The service here really sets it apart. They are all extremely friendly and helpful, and to the extra mile to make it an enjoyable experience. They even brought my girlfriend a little bottle of special tequila for her birthday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Mediocre food. Nice hotel.

Posted May 27, 2017
To qualify my opinion, my wife and I travel a lot for both work and pleasure. In fact we have gone through two passports with extra pages over the last 10 years. This is our third trip to Cancun and we've been to Mexico so many times I can't count them all. The food at the resort was mediocre, at best. Entres at the restaurants were generally over cooked and flavorless. The portion sizes are very small, even for an all inclusive. We usually ate at the buffet because we thought the food there was better than the restaurants. The hotel itself was nice. Beautiful colonial decor. Carved wood everywhere. Rooms were clean. Beach staff was great. All in all, we enjoyed ourselves, but we will stay somewhere else next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Has it all

Posted May 26, 2017
Great staff and food, close to the beach and has plenty to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Amazing stay

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Beautiful and very clean. Adults only
Cons: Beds
Location: Everything you want is at the hotel unless you want to go site seeing. This was a relaxing vacay for me
All employees were so attentive and wanted us to have the best time! The beds are not what we are used to in the US but they were big. Too hard for me. Will definitely return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Beautiful modern hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
This is my 6th time to Cancun & we keep going back because of the wonderful time we always have! This has been by far the best resort I've stayed. Everything from our check-in to check-out was absolutely wonderful. And as I always say...the mexican people go above & beyond & are truly wonderful to those visiting their country. The only thing I would recommend is a DJ or some type of entertainment at least until midnight. When you're on vacation you look to dance or hang out a little later than usual & after their theater show there is nothing to do. Aside from that, thank you for a wonderful stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Only as good as your guests...

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Service, entertainment, beachfront, consistent food at buffet
Cons: Food in the specialty restaurants not amazing No bachelor party guests(impossible for the hotel to control, of course) Mattresses not very comfortable
Location: Isla Mujeres - 30 minute ferry ride away, beach cabana massages, eat at Jax! Don't shop the main strip Shopping nearby the hotel with decent prices
Beautiful pools and beachfront. Food was good, not exquisite. Service phenomenal. Didn't enjoy several bachelor/ette parties attracted to the facility and surrounding area. Entertainment staff was very friendly and talented and interested in providing guests with a satisfying visit. Overall, very good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

50th birthday celebration.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The Riu fit crew were amazing.....thank you to Roxabeth and the team....service at the restaurants was great too...they really do what it takes!!
Cons: Just the room humidity.....provide dehumidifiers on request possibly? I saw them in the hallways. I'm in love with the Riu
Location: The trip to Chichen Itza was incredible, and swimming in a Cenote was a great experience!!
What a great experience....the staff was so wonderful, the food sooooo good, and what a beautiful place!! ...Cannot wait to go back and be pampered again. This was our second trip to Cancun, but our first time here....we will go no other place now!....Have to give a big thumbs up to the management for putting together such a wonderful staff too... I only wish they would provide a room de-humidifier on request, my only issue was the humidity in the rooms, sometimes it made sleeping uncomfortable, but it would not dissuade me from staying here again....I loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca.

Best Experience Ever

Posted May 21, 2017
We had such an amazing time here. The staff is so friendly. The hotel is so clean and well maintained. The restaurant variety is amazing. The only thing I would suggest is more lounge chairs and umbrellas for the beach area. Other than that. It was almost a perfect experience. We will be back soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Disappointing; NOT 4 star

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: THE FOOD, THE SERVICE, THE QUALITY OF THE ALCOHOL, CLEANLINESS
Location: There are some shops across the street.
This hotel is more like a 2.5-star hotel at best. Pool area was dirty; empty drink cups floating in the pool, dirty towels everywhere. Buffet lunch was essentially completely picked clean 15 minutes before close. Hamburg guy actually ran out of buns & took a bun off another sandwich to make my burger. Pool service is non-existent. Long wait at bar for drinks. Drinks are made w/ cheapest alcohol possible. White wine is undrinkable. Food is HORRIBLE. Most of the restaurants are only open 3 hours for dinner so there is a wait every night for tables or you eat at the same sad, tired buffet for all meals. You must put your room card in a slot in order to get electricity in the rooms. There is only ONE towel kiosk for 3 pools & the guy who gives out the towels (Towel Nazi) scrutinizes you for each towel he gives out. Only 1 towel per person and you are REQUIRED to present a special card to get that towel & you better bring it back or you will be charged for it. View not what we paid for (complained about this and got no response from the manager). 2/3 pools very loud and not at all relaxing. All pools close at 7pm! TV is all Spanish except for 1 or 2 stations. This place is SO Spring Break! Everywhere you look, they are cutting corners. Not worth HALF what we paid. No class, no value, no sophistication and really poor service. Don't do it.