Ratings based on 4,506 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Pedro, CA

Fun atmosphere, close to the beach

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: private beach close to the pools
Cons: pools should be open later in the evevings
Location: we enjoyed local shopping, boat tours and massages from nearby shops
We loved the adults only vibe at this hotel. Everyone was friendly and courteous and helped to make our stay so enjoyable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

AMAZING Resort in Hotel Zone!

Posted Jun 9, 2017
My husband and I stayed at Riu Palace Las Americas for 7 nights and 8 days. We chose this particular resort because it was both all inclusive in for adults only! If I could read this hotel at 100, I would! The resort was absolutely spotless with numerous staff cleaning nearly 24 hours a day! The rooms were beautiful, well-kept, clean and very spacious! The food… Oh my goodness… Was truly out of this world! So many choices and restaurants to choose from! We often felt as if we were at a five-star restaurant while dining in the numerous restaurants the resort has to offer! The staff was AMAZING! They were funny, always remembered your name, were always hustling and bustling, and truly seemed to enjoy their jobs! My has been and I will most definitely be back next year! We would highly recommend this Riu resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Great location! Great all inclusive Hotel.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Staff was friendly. Hotel is extremely clean. I would definitely come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful wonderful staff

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: first class food and service
Cons: nothing
Location: perfect
loved mexico loved the water loved the people loved the mayan ruins
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas nv

Posted May 30, 2017
This place was amazing!!!!! It's going to be hard to stay anywhere else after this vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and elegant hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location, great service and great food.
Location: Private beach, shopping malls
Elegant hotel, excellent service and great location. Hotel staff really tried their best to please us, I'm grateful and appreciate all theirs service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect mix of relaxation and fun

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: The staff make this place great. They are very friendly and attentive. The food and drinks are good.
Cons: The power went out a couple times while we were there. One time it made us a little late to dinner since we couldn't see to get ready.
Location: The location is in the heart of the hotel and shopping area. We didn't stray too far, but there were places to pick up things if we needed to.
This place was awesome. My girlfriend and I stayed a week for her birthday and we are really glad we did. Our first impression was an attendant taking our bags and handing us a glass of champagne. Next we were upgraded to a suite for free. No complaints there. The room was very well air conditioned and cleaned. it had plenty of space, a huge shower, and his and hers sinks which was convenient. The internet worked well enough. It was hit or miss for watching videos, but music and texts worked fine. The food was good. The main buffet was decent considering that it is mass produced, and the specialty restaurants were never crowded despite having pretty good food. There were two main pools, plus a beach area. One pool would have loud music and volleyball and a swim up bar every day. This was usually populated with a younger crowd looking to drink and socialize. We went there one day and had a good time. The rest of the time we spent in the other pool area or in the beach, which was much more relaxed. These really benefited from being adults only. We had a waiter at both that would bring us drinks from the bar all day, which was awesome. The drinks were usually pretty quality, with middle shelf liquors of each type. The service here really sets it apart. They are all extremely friendly and helpful, and to the extra mile to make it an enjoyable experience. They even brought my girlfriend a little bottle of special tequila for her birthday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Mediocre food. Nice hotel.

Posted May 27, 2017
To qualify my opinion, my wife and I travel a lot for both work and pleasure. In fact we have gone through two passports with extra pages over the last 10 years. This is our third trip to Cancun and we've been to Mexico so many times I can't count them all. The food at the resort was mediocre, at best. Entres at the restaurants were generally over cooked and flavorless. The portion sizes are very small, even for an all inclusive. We usually ate at the buffet because we thought the food there was better than the restaurants. The hotel itself was nice. Beautiful colonial decor. Carved wood everywhere. Rooms were clean. Beach staff was great. All in all, we enjoyed ourselves, but we will stay somewhere else next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Has it all

Posted May 26, 2017
Great staff and food, close to the beach and has plenty to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Amazing stay

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Beautiful and very clean. Adults only
Cons: Beds
Location: Everything you want is at the hotel unless you want to go site seeing. This was a relaxing vacay for me
All employees were so attentive and wanted us to have the best time! The beds are not what we are used to in the US but they were big. Too hard for me. Will definitely return