Ratings based on 3,112 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from York, NE

Our vacation destination of choice!!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Several different pools, spacious rooms and bathrooms, many dining options (all with terrific food), entertainment staff was awesome, beautiful place!
Cons: Nothing going on after 11 pm. King bed was 2 twins pushed together.
Location: Great beach, shopping and clubs just blocks away, another Riu with night club next door, ferry to Isla Mujeres or tours minutes away by bus.
Can't say enough good about the resort, location, and especially the staff! Beach party was the absolute best!! Had a blast😎
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from jersey shore area

Excellent location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, amenities
Cons: as i noted there is a mildew odor in some rooms
Location: great beach and pool. The surrounding area seemed very safe and the locals are very friendly and helpful
I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel. everyone was very,very nice. We had one problem on check in. our room smelled of mildew. after speaking to the front desk they gave us a choice of several other rooms. the new room was perfect! They have 5 ala carte restaurants on site in addition to the main dining room which is a grand buffet. no reservations but we never waited more than 20 minutes for a table. the food is unbelievably good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Beautiful facility

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Our best vacation. Everything you need is right there. Food was great as well as the staff and facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Beautiful resort with a gorgeous view!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Everything was simply out of this world. It is now one of my favorite resorts! Extremely clean, friendly, and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Air conditioning
Everything about this hotel was fabulous! Only complaint is the rooms are damp. They need to upgrade the air conditioning system. We have stayed at many different Riu resorts and have found this to be the case at every one of them. Otherwise a very very nice hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Great hotel, staff and food. I highly recommend this place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Birthday get away week

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Location: To many things to do to list.
Great adults only hotel stayed and the food was really good with different restaurant options. Our ocean view room had a spectacular view and was clean daily. Overall the whole experience at this hotel was amazing. Thank you to all the staff for been super helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from green bay wisconsin

Amazing Staff and experience

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The staff was more than amazing and catered to their guests! Everyone was super friendly and kept the drinks cold and full! The facility and rooms were clean and there were plenty of options if you wanted to relax at the beach/pool or enjoy some more cocktails and party by the swim up bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Would definitely come back! Overall, very pleasant stay - good food and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington Hills, Michigan

Beautiful, clean hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Spotless clean hotel, helpful and friendly staff, good food and great nightly shows., What more could you ask for?
Cons: Nothing,
Location: The location is great, on the beach, shopping center across the street and stores you can walk to.
My husband and I spent 10 days at The Rui Hotel and really enjoyed ourselves. The food was very good, with a buffet of everything you could think of and the Black & White restaurant had lobster tail and steak. It was nice you did not have to make reservations for the speciately restaurants. . All the staff is very friendly and the entertainment is outstanding, great shows.