Ratings based on 2,300 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Nice hotel, good staff. WiFi a little questionable but functional. Elevators slow at busy times. Trip would have been great if I would have married a better woman to spend it with.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Overall it was an good experience. I went out there for my birthday. I would suggest that if one requests a room with a double bed that it is available when one is ready to check in, but thanks to Sara for handling that problem. The restaurants were either a hit or miss, but you could never go wrong with the buffet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing considering the price I payed

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The view was awesome.
Cons: Give the swimmers more room to swim and snorkel in the ocean. Rooms are not very private, bath tub in middle of the room
Location: Isla de Mujeres is a nice getaway and my teenage kids thought parasailing was awesome
I loved the view from our room - breathtaking. I was a bit disappointed with the food, not many healthy options. The wine options were awful to be honest with you. I was surprised how limited of a narrow strip of ocean you are allowed to swim in the ocean water; you can only swim in a small area approximately 15-20 feet off the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean nice staff

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Simply amazing! Very beautiful place. Staff is very nice and clean area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Mar 15, 2017
As a young adult, I didn't feel welcomed here. Although it was a nice place to stay with a beautiful view, my room was way smaller than the pictures online, the food was terrible, and there wasn't any night life. A nice place to relax and enjoy your surroundings but not the best place for a college student. The food was really horrible. I stayed for 4 nights and had trouble finding food that was actually good. The food had to be the worst part of my stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Food was gross and the staff was rude... the room had a great view if you get a ocean view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Love this riu facilities,can't wait to return next year, great food,service,beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect vacation spot!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Clean beach, nice facility, courteous and friendly staff and good foods! No room for critics. Will definitely come back to Riu Palace Peninsula for my next vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brookston IN, USA

Hotel was close to the beach and to shopping

Posted Mar 14, 2017
We absolutely loved our stay. Everyone we came in contact with was way beyond nice and very very polite. The hotel was very clean and welcoming. We were able to take a cab and enjoy some nite life and shopping was within walking distance. The pools and the beach were very clean. We could not of asked for a better place to spend 4 days in paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Great food, clean rooms but not the most comfortable beds, limited beach area and very rocky by the water. Hotel staff was consistently friendly and accommodating, constantly keeping up with hotel maintenance. Overall a great hotel experience and a good time.