Ratings based on 1,744 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from argentina

Muy bueno

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Muy recomendable, la pasamos de 10!!!los lugares muy cuidados y muy limpio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Would go agian

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: The staff and atmosphere
Cons: Consistency of drinks from one bartender to next. And water flow to hot tubs in adult villas, it takes 30-45 minutes to fill the inside tub. WIFI not
This was our first trip to Mexico. We did not realize the sales pressure that would be everywhere, except with RIU resort. The sales pitches started at the airport, I guess if you needed help finding experiences while in mexico this may have been okay. But when someone says no, it means no! Now on to RUI Palace Peninsula, great experience from the minute to you walk in the door. Food was good at Buffets and much better at Ala cart restaurants. Alcohol was flowing at all bars, pool deck, beach, that kept you happy. The room was comfortable, my only complaints were they need at least one truly comfortable chair, the couch was not comfortable. and there was a slight odor in the room, it was clean however. And Luis the housekeeper checked in with you daily, super friendly guy. 99% percent of employees were smiling and looked happy to be there, unlike Americans at work. (yes I am American). There is a in room safe, wifi in the adult villas (but not very reliable). The liquor bar in the room is unique but once you have been sipping all day, you really do not use it. Know your peso to dollar equivalents, right now $20.00 peso equal $1.00 usd.. And unless your ask for change you will not get it back at shopping and buses if you over pay. The city buses are cheap, but god lord they must be trained by Chicago cab drivers. They must all work on commission of amount of passengers so they will cut each other off, kind of dangerous at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

El paraíso

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Muy lindo hotel, es como estar en tus sueños. Muy buena atención de la todo el personal y comida muy ricaaaaa!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

I was pleased with my stay.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Cons: Some restaurants never change menus.
The hotel is beautiful and the food was great! My room was comfortable but I had to negotiate for a decent supply of liquor. I asked for whiskey and they delivered scotch. The pools were beautiful as was the beach. White sand was abundant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
We really had fun. Hotel staff our very friendly.clean room. Hotel staff make sure we had enough supplies/drinks in our room. Close to the beach. I just hope they had heated pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful hotel, fantastic food, but there were so

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The food, the idea that you walked into any area, and could order whatever you want to eat or drink, and it was great.
Cons: Requests when there are issues should be taken care off in a timely manner, not sometimes ignored completely
Location: Beautiful area of hotels, but also seedy areas close. There is an island to ferry to, that is fun and has alot of shops and restaurants.
Beautiful hotel, fantastic food, some of the best ever, but there were some issues. Mini bar is supposed to be stocked every day, we had to ask 3 days in a row before they did it. Rainshower didn't work, refrig didn't keep things cold, and our view was bad. Requested things fixed, and a room change, they did nothing about any of it. All in all, the resort is gorgeous, and most of the staff is willing and helpful, but we feel we did not get some of what we paid for. Housekeeping was impecable, and again, the buffet and 5 other restaurants were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice horel, good grounds, friendly stuff

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Overall, I am happy with the hotel - food was good, grounds were clean. I used the spa twice for massages and was very happy with the service. The hotel has a modern vibe and looks much newer compared to other hotels in the area. we were on the 8th floor and there was no Internet. It was great in the lobby and close to the pool but as far as in the room, it was non-existent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

todo muy apropiado y facil de encontrar.

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Vista al mar y su servicio.
Cons: Yo creo que no hace falta nada,
Location: Muy seguro y facil de tomar el taxi o camion,y Barras,discos,restaurants muy cerca y facil de llegar.
Es la 3ra ves que vengo y pronto regreso,la cadena Riu Es mi favorita y selos recomiendo,la limpieza,servicio del personal,el desayuno,lunch,cena,espetacular.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Not For Solo Travelers, a couples resort!!!!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: The pools were nice, to cold to get in since it was cloudy and rainy all week. The bars had watered down except martinis in the lobby bar.
Cons: Honor what your reservation was booked as, offer more things to do for singles.
Location: The flea market had some good finds, you have to bargain for a good deal which was fun! The Isla Shopping mall was so overpriced, just don't go there
My reservation was for an adults only villa with an ocean view, when I arrived they tried to put me in a garden view villa, NOT ACCEPTABLE I paid for OCEAN VIEW, they told me they had none left! But I had already paid in full for Ocean View, DISAPPOINTING. Ended up in main building in room 1037, NOT GOOD, its right about the nightclub stage and noisy as heck! Loud music all night. The food in buffet was always cold, never hot. The steakhouse was disappointing, lobster was over cooked and tough, steak was tough as well, and what they called ceviche sucked. The Italian restaurant was ok, Osso Bucco was good except for over salted, and anything you wanted off their buffet portion was cold again, barely luke warm. Krystal was just OK for food, and Tamales restaurant was worst of all. Never again will I book an all inclusive resort!!!! All there was to do was hang at pool and drink, hang at lo0bby bar and drink. I did meet some wonderful couples and one really snobby single man who would barely speak to me. No other singles in the building. WATCH OUT in booking through a third party because the hotel will screw you over and not give you what you paid for through a third party company. I have stayed in much better resort hotels in Mexico before and this one would rank a 3 with me, there is nothing to do. Everywhere I went they kept asking me why I was alone, hmmmm, I guess single women should never travel alone in their opinion. I travel all over and here are rude
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great First Cancun Visit

Posted Jan 26, 2016
This hotel met my expectations. The price was great for what you receive. We stayed in the adult only area and definitely recommend it because the hot tub on the balcony was perfect. Beach area was a great size in comparison to the neighboring hotels. There were many pools which was great! The adult only having their own pool was such a bonus because it was a lot quieter and less crowded. I would definitely recommend RIU.