Ratings based on 2,425 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very close to the beach, very beautiful beach

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: the view from the hotel amazing
Cons: People working at reception should be more flexible
very nice waiters and waitresses. Housekeeping are very nice, friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel, very relaxing stay

Posted May 28, 2017
This was our first time in cancun and we picked this all inclusive. This hotel is amazing!! Everything is so picture perfect. We went with the VIP adults only which gives you special acess to a pool, restaurant and bar for VIP members (highly recommend if all you want to do is sit by a pool). Buffet food and steak house were excellent. The themed restaurants a little weird, like they were trying really hard to be fancy. Different show every night. Only down fall is it's far away from a lot of well know excursions. Island mujeres is a 20 min ferry ride though 2 min walk away and is so worth it! Will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best service

Posted May 25, 2017
Staff treated us lime a king! House keeping staff were very clean and sometimes they cleaned the room twice! If you seat somewhere either lobby, at the beach, pool,...etc. staff comes to you to see if you are doing ok and offers you something to eat or drink. Variaty of food is offered. Good and fresh quality foods.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Love the Riu Palace Pennisula Cancun

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: This hotel is very family oriented. Plenty for big and little kids to do.
Cons: Some of the lobby and bar furniture are beginning to look a little shabby and could be replaced.
Location: Location is perfect. If you want to go downtown, the buss fare is one peso.
This was our 6th visit to the Riu Palace. Almost feels like home. This year was stay in the All Adults Villas and truly enjoyed it. The pool is very nice with a quiet atmosphere. If you want action, the bar pool and others are just across the lawn. At the Villas, we were truly pampered with having our own waiter, Felix, who was outstanding. The buffet is always good and plentiful. The entire hotel is clean and the staff very courteous. Can't wait for our next visit to the Riu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the beach

Posted May 23, 2017
We used to stay next door at the RIU Caribe but moved the Palace a few years ago. Great place and we can use the facilities at both hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
The hotel was amazing the only thing is the noise so lowed inside the room in the 17th floor!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Riu Penninsula not top-notch

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The beach was beautiful. The staff was attentive and talented. Entertainment was great. Check-in and Check-out was smooth and seemless.
Cons: Pools need to be really cleaned each night. Maids should change sheets and leave more towels (as we requested). Waters need to be refilled in room.
Location: We are experts at getting around and took the bus numerous times to all of the places we love - LaIsla, the grocery store, Walmart, the marina.
We always stay at Riu's when we travel, but Riu Peninsula was lacking in a couple of places. Although our view was beautiful, we had reserved a suite and it was one room, not the usual 2. The room was comfortable, but within the first hour my husband killed a cockroach! I understand that they are commonplace in a tropical locale, but it just wasn't a great start. The first two days, our sheets were not changed - only bed was made. We had to request extra towels every day as there were not enough in the room. Waters were never restocked until 4th day - even though that was the only thing we were drinking. Riu does an amazing job with food, but I would recommend sticking to the buffet. The buffet has anything you could possibly want and done well! The evening we ate at the steakhouse, there was also a wedding taking place and the chefs and waiters could not keep up with the service. We waited an hour for our main course and finally just left and went to the buffet to eat dinner. The beach was literally amazing - probably the best of all of the Riu's we have stayed at. It was clean, clear, and plenty of chairs to sit and enjoy the day. Waiters at the beach and the pool were very attentive. Speaking of the pool - the swim-up bar pool, the kiddie pool and the infinity pool all had a bad odor each day - much like a toilet. I was surprised they didn't take care of that each night.Entertainment staff is amazing, persoable, and talented. Shows were fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Extra Ordinary resort experience

Posted May 22, 2017
I don't know where to begin. This was the absolute best choice for our honeymoon. My husband and I were soooo pleased with it. From the check in point we were served cocktails. And our room was a dream. Each day we came up from the beach they left us little cute towels rolled up as animals or love birds. Food was ALOT. We had so much that we didn't even need the FREE minibar in the room. I could not believe that this was all inclusive. Whenever we were at the beach waiters would come to take drink orders, the sports bar always had food 24/7 and let's not forget the unforgettable staff at the breakfast and lunch buffet! Oh my!! I have a lot to say. We will definitely be back no doubt!! After u book this all inclusive, u can leave ur wallets at home. Just stock up on $1 bills for tipping that is, if u want to! They're still very polite and friendly whether u tip or not! But you'd sure want to. We had so much fun riding the bus for ($1)to the La Isla shopping centre which was a stone throw away and had all the high end stores and souvenir shops h&m, etc. not to mention that you get tax back for anything you purchase in Mexico. My husband got an LV shoe a whole $90 cheaper than their store in the US. I have a lot to say about the whole experience but I'll end here. RIU palace peninsula is The ABSOLUTE BEST!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and beautiful beach.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Everything; clean rooms, good food, curtious staff.
Last year we were in a hotel on open sea. The waves were so high, we could not swim at all. This beach is in the lagoon, no waves or very small ones, so we were able to be in the water 3-4 hours daily. We loved everything about this trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Cancun trip ever!

Posted May 21, 2017
Most relaxing place with nice foods and beach. We had a nice ocean/pools view from our 5th floor balcony. Very cool interior lobby. We went to Chichen Itza by air-conditioned first class style bus and nearby island during outside hotel trip days.