Ratings based on 1,639 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Cancun Location!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Newer building. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Great location.
Cons: It would be nice if they carried some more wine selections.
Location: Walk south around the point past the Club Med. Take a cab to Playa Carmen and a ferry to Cozumel. Don't bother with downtown Cancun.
This resort is toward the southern end of the hotel zone which is out of some of the hustle and bustle. The staff are all very friendly and committed to excellent service. As with any all-inclusive you wear a bracelet to identify you. What's different is this resort uses three or four different bracelet colors, each representing a different level of service and accommodation. We recommend at least concierge level which we found just fine. The food was excellent although we recommend getting outside the resort for at least some of the meals. Views are great from almost every room and the beach is beautiful. The staff will help you plan any activity you want and make great suggestions for fun. We will return as soon as time and money permit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne, australia

Great first part of honeymoon

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Sun Palace was great - our first all inclusive hotel experience and first stop on our honeymoon. Free upgrade to presidential suite was an amazing gesture from the front desk especially after our 30 hours travelling from Australia. Room terrrific, mini bar great. Food was ok, room service menu very limited. But overall a great stay, met lots of fun people at the bar and staff were lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel , nice beach and nice pool

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Customer service is excellent . Beach is nice and hotel room is clean and nice ocean view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, United States of America

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Room was beyond expectation as well as the staff .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: beachfront, infinity pools, food, cleanliness
Cons: could have single malt whisky on drinks options as only had blended whisky. Restaurants (Italian and Asian cuisine could have longer opening hours).
Location: beachfront, 10 minutes bus to central Cancun for shopping.
Stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. Very welcoming immediately upon arrival. Room was as booked (ocean view with balcony, in-room jacuzzi). Staff were all very friendly and keen to help. We visited in October 2016 so the weather was always warm with great ocean water termperature however we did have cloudy periods. The hotel was very clean with very good food options and when it was cloudy we used the spa which was really nice. I couldn't recommend this hotel more for a special occassion as you get what you pay for. There are 3 infinity pools and it is very relaxing as it is a couples only resort. We will definitely come back here on our next visit to Cancun!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seoul

So nice place.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: want to eat many lunch at various restaurant.
Location: Lots of program in the hotel and beach.
We have stayed for 6 days. We experienced friendly, kind service. If we have a chance to visit one more time, we will visit one more time at Sun palace hotel. Excellent!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel !!!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: One of the best hotels i have stayed at. The food is amazing specially the Italian and thai restaurant. The staff is great, they dont mind how many times you ask them for a refill. I would recommend this hotel if you are going on a honeymoon. Its really quite and the beach is perfect.
Cons: Nothing. Everything was great. I dont drink alcohol so i cant tell about the alcohal quality.
Location: Location is far from the downtown. But you can easily take a bus for 10.5 pesos or 1 dollar. So it didnt bother much. It takes around 15 minutes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

LOVED IT!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
This place was fabulous! This was our first out-of-country all-inclusive trip so we entered a little critical, but quickly realized that this was pretty close to paradise. The staff was helpful, courteous, friendly and funny. Not to mention they were on the ball, someone was always around to answer questions and assist in what we needed to do for particular on-site activities. The only restaurant that we didn't try was the Thai one, but the others were fabulous. The quality of food blew me away at all locations. The options on the breakfast and lunch buffets were great. The setting for the restaurants in the evening was very romantic and the food there was delectable. I don't have any negatives other than some areas seem a little dated and the exterior of some of the higher up windows could use a cleaning, but that isn't a deal breaker, nor can it be expected to be sterling. The room was the cleanest I've ever seen a hotel room. We came up from the beach one day to find housekeeping mopping the floors, it doesn't get better than that. We will be keeping the Palace Resorts in mind for the next time we visit Cancun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Cozy and comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Service
Cons: Italian Restaurant
We stayed 4 nights. As we were checking in as Honeymoon Guests, Concierge changed the room which has better view . Even it was not full ocean view room, it was very nice to got upgraded. For the most part, the service of the hotel employee was great. Their response to any questions was proper and nice. The only point we did not satisfied was the Italian Restaurant. The taste was below expectation, especially the wine included in the all inclusive service was not good. However, in total, this hotel has great service and cozy atmosphere, so that I can recommend to my friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Sun Palace

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Sun Palace is probably the nicest hotel in Cancun. a majority of the other hotels are outdated and dirty. You don't even need to leave the hotel to eat, get a spa, book an activity and depending on the package you book it is all inclusive. Only downside is the hotel credit is taxed up to 16% USD.