Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Oh where do I start. The hotel offers NOT FREE airport transfer. I booked a room with two beds they gave me one queen and sofa bed, I tried to argue but they didn't change my room because other once were booked already. The room smells, old everything is like falling apart. The shower head bearly works. The dining area is like a garbage can. Not many variety of food. Drink are nasty. There is no beach!!!!!!!! Be careful don't fall for it. It's a lagoon not beach, so if you want to go to the beach you would have to walk to public beach or take bus to another resort but you can't use their amenities. Don't book excursions there, they will upsell you. Staff was nice except the front desk. Try to book hotel somewhere else. Not here! Stay away from this garbage!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Close to the beach excellent staff.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Good experience and staff are friendly and nice. Close to the bus stop,good food.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

DO NOT GO HERE

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The wait staff are really nice. It's the management and the facility and the front desk girl named Isabella that made our stay horrible. We had a large group (5 couples and 3 kids). We booked 5 rooms (one per couple) - all studio rooms. When we checked in, Isabella told us they were out of studios but that they can put two couples in a TWO BEDROOM presidential suite. We said ok. Turns out it was just a one bedroom suite with a living room. The living room had a pull out sofa and so they considered that one room. We said it has no privacy for that couple. We paid for 5 rooms but they were trying to get away by giving us 4 rooms. After going back and forth and pretending like she was confused, Isabella finally gave us the fifth room - a studio. So they were really not out, they just lied and tried to see if they could cheat us out of a Room. We had until noon to check out. I came down at 11:30am to check out & Isabella told us we needed to have all of our luggage in the lobby in order to check out. After we ran around getting everyone's luggage down, Isabella then told us everyone needed to be present. She never explains the process ahead of time. We finished the entire process 7 minutes after 12 and she charges us a fee for being "late". We complained that we didn't know the process and her response was we should have read the fine print before we signed the paperwork. We are never coming back here. Spend a few extra bucks elsewhere but you won't regret it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Hotel overbooked, sent us to a 5 star hotel with the intention of us buying a timeshare, without our knowledge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Already looking to book for later this year!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
This resort was absolutely amazing. When we first pulled up, we were skeptical as it didn't look quite like the pictures, but when we walked into the lobby and saw the rest of the resort, it was beautiful. The staff is amazing and truly care about you and your needs! We went scuba diving on site, and it was one of the best times of our lives. My boyfriend and I came here for our first vacation together, and we cannot wait to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Excellent Resort

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Excellent service
Cons: Wanted to take one of the 3 Hobby Cats out but the only set of sails had been damaged ):
We stayed in this resort complex with our daughter's family. All inclusive meant that we could have as much food (which was adequate) and drink (served to you wherever you happened to be). Particular mention to Andrea, Eileen, Tony, Ivan and Fabian
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very Nice hotel!

Posted Jan 20, 2017
My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Sunset Marina. Staff is very nice and helpfull, a lot of activities, good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york, NY

Good place

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The hotel is very nice, different from others in cancun but in a good way. Not typical big buildings, rooms are very big. We got free upgrade to presidential suite. The pool and pool bar are amazing. There is no beach, but its not a big deal, the free boat takes you to another their hotel, runs often, beautiful scenic trip in lagoon! Guests can use paddle boats, kayaks for free. Entertaiment is all day long by pool. The food is ok, nothing special, but a lot of variety of simple dishes. Plus between breakfast lunch dinner, always can order pizza and calzones from the restaurant on laggoon. Overall it was a pleasant stay, deffenetly would come back.
2 out of 5
by bret

Definately at lower end of all inclusives.

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Would never recommend this resort location, No beach (lagoon side) , small pool, food was very poor at best, service was very slow and unresponsive, entertainment shows were decent. Property was clean. Overall just a low end all inclusive. We just got back 1/3/17 so this is very up to date report.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas, nv

Not as it seen in the pictures, only the location

Posted Dec 26, 2016
The hotel is old and the stuff are not willing to help, all they care is if you tip them or not, Or if you gonna participate in their timeshare presentation, once you decline, they don't like you anymore, Very basic "all inclusive " We've been to Mexico many times, all parts, We NEVER had such a bad experience like we had from this hotel, The only good thing is the location of the hotel, close to playa tortuga, and not to far from the center, STAY AWAY!!!