Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great location, outdated hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Had 3 different rooms. First one was not what we booked. We booked for a double bed, they tried to give us 1 bed and a sofa bed on the first floor. Second room has a sign of wet paint at the door and smells. Third room, was on the third floor overlooking the tent like contraption facing the parking lot. Can hear the restaurant noise from below. Room towels were old, rough and looks dirty grayish instead of whitish. Door doesn't properly close. Toilet seat, room walls has old scuff marks. Food at the restaurants were average. At first we were told we need reservations when there were no patrons sitting. Only redeeming factor is the beach access, beach service and close to the nightclubs-about 10-15 minutes walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Fun atmosphere, very friendly staff, they put on many fun shows, great place overall!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The place is run down and the staff not helpful.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Avoid this place. It is not a resort . It's more like a dirty motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from detroit

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Best service and staff friendly .nice location i will go back jennifer and miranda at the front desk are the best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Great hotel, on the beach & reasonably priced

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: Different shows every night that were superb just like you are watching a show in Las Vegas; Friendly customer service; Location;
Cons: The lounge in the lobby is very small; Some upgrades are good but not a must at this time as this hotel is old
Location: Shopping area; night clubs like Coco Bongo...
I have stayed at many properties in Cancun area including 5* hotels like Riu, Marriott. I was a little skeptical on my 1st day at Sunset Royal resort but later on became very comfortable and enjoyed my stay. Sunset Royal is conveniently located in the Hotel Zone where shopping areas and night clubs are 10 minute walk, it is on the beach the food was good and the staff were very friendly and welcoming
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had fun but could've been better

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great time. The property description is a little misleading as there are really only 2 restaurants on site. The buffet outdoors with the evening show was fun and the staff at the pool do a great job! The pool bartenders were great but it closes at 6 and after 6 the only place to get a drink is the lobby bar. The sales push for time shares can be a bit annoying. We were called at 8am after checking in really late to come down and receive our "welcome package." All that ended up being was a push to go to a 2 hour presentation about time shares. This resort chain allows you to visit their other properties, but unlike other chains you have to purchase food and drink, which leaves little incentive to go visit them. Our last night there we were woken up about 1230am to some really loud banging/construction noise that lasted a good 30 minutes, other than that and housekeeping waking us up every morning the room was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bad hotel experience

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Tv and fridge did not work in our room when we checked in. One restaurant did not let us eat there because we did no had a reservation, even though we had the all inclusive package and the restaurant was empty. none wanted to offer services since we are a young couple until we started tipping the waiters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a. visalia california

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Orbitz
I especially loved the furniture on the beach The view from the room was stunning The staff was very helpful I will be back again ☺️
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great Staff

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The staff and the shows.
Cons: Nicer rooms for non-timeshare clients.
Location: The location was excellent. $1.00 to take a bus into town.
Two middle aged women had a wonderful time. This is my 5th all inclusive and 3rd time to Mexico. The staff made the vacation seem perfect. Check in was a breeze--no problems. If you are not a timeshare member you get a sub par room on the lower level. I was told the rooms on the 7th, 8th and 9th floor were very nice. We stayed on the 3rd floor room 305 you could hear the restaurant noise, at certain times during the day up to about 10 p.m.The food was "ok" breakfast was the best. The entertainment was good. Limited walking to pool, restaurants, and shows, but a stair case to the beach--about 30 steps to walk down. We declined on the timeshare presentation. The beach was great. The room was very clean, but standard--only one electrical outlet worked in the room, which made it difficult to iron clothes, and charge computer and cell phone. The timeshare clients got a lot of extra's that the regular all inclusive people did not get. Would stay again if the price was right. If you do not belong to the timeshare and are looking for luxury--this is not the place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 13, 2016
The staff was great, the food was great with plenty of options and varieties. The resort is in an excellent location. The only thing was that we stayed on the first floor with view to the pool and there was too much noice late at night with the music and really early in the morning with the staff. Other than that it was a great place to stay.