Ratings based on 884 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OUR FAVORITE IN CANCUN AND ALMOST ANYWHERE ELSE

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: We go back and forth on the Club Level. Its a fantastic experience with multiple food/drink presentations a day but not necessary for a great stay.
Cons: Honestly can't think of anything. We are already looking forward to planning our next trip back
Location: We enjoy trying different restaurants and there are many to choose from near by and some great shopping that's walking distance or easy cab ride
My wife and I have been visiting Cancun for almost 20 years now and we always seem to find our way back to the Ritz. At first we would just visit the hotel enjoy a drink at the bar and eat at The Club Grill, one of our favorite restaurants in the world, and we would dream about the day we could hopefully afford to stay there. Things worked out and the combination of the beautiful hotel, the first class friendly service and incredible restaurants have made the Ritz Cancun our favorite in Cancun and honestly just about anywhere else. We have had the chance to stay at the Ritz in Grand Cayman and St Thomas and both were nice, but they can't touch the friendly, hard working people and service in Cancun. The staff continues to draw us back. It's our favorite with one exception in Cabo. Not a Ritz there yet but they keep promising......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful hotel with top notch service!

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, staff, service.
Cons: Restaurants.
Location: Very close to everything.
Had a fantastic stay here. Had a beautiful room with the most spectacular view of the ocean! The hotel is very well maintained and the staff was fantastic. The hotel itself is beautiful and I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Remarkable World class

Posted May 7, 2017
One of the best places ever Service is excellent Food and decor great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Mexican Paradise

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!
Cons: More counter space in the bathroom. More Outlets in the room, especially by the beds.
Location: Located just off the main street in Cancun. It is an excellent location to shopping, buses etc. Right on the beach.
The Ritz Carlton Brand is known for great customer service and quality… The Ritz Carlton Cancun is no exception. Located just off the main corridor in Cancun The RC was wonderful. We were greeted with friendly smiles and the hospitality transcended the language barrier. Once at the front desk we were again greeted with smiles, warm Mexican hospitality and a cool Mexican beverage. There are no bad rooms in this hotel. They all face the beach and have balconies. The grounds of the resort are beautiful especially the pool/beach area. Whether lounging by the pool, or on the beach as a guest… You will NEVER want for anything. There was always a friendly staff member giving us what we needed… before we knew we needed it: a popsicle, damp towel, or a cold drink. While at the Ritz Carlton Cancun I would highly recommend reserving a Cabana during your stay. Out fitted for up to 6 people, you receive drinks, fruit, chips and salsa and the best treatment EVER. There are several dining options at The RC. There are two fine dining- 4 Diamond award winners: The Club Grill and Fantina. El Café Mexicano offered a FAB breakfast buffet; everything from American favorites to Mexican classics. There was also a lounge and pool side dining options. Casitas was also special as it was “dining on the beach” . I would highly recommend ALL OF THEM!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Service and location
Location: We walked to many restaurants and had some wonderful meals. We did a one day trip to Tulum, snorkeling and the cenotes.
We had a great experience. The room was great. Pool and beach were awesome, but what really made our experience perfect was the service. Everyone at the hotel went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. We will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Issues Abound, Grand Velas Riviera Maya is Better

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Rogiberto (spelling?) was excellent at the front door. The Club Grill (Enrique?) was really great. I received Ritz-Carlton points on my RC credit card
Cons: breakfast buffet service needs to receive Ritz-Carlton training again, so does front desk staff. Someone needs to ask if guests are having issues.
Location: Puerto Madero was a great restaurant across the street. Car service east at Ritz.
Avoid - try Grand Velas Riviera Maya instead. I typically only stay at a similar 5-Star class hotels (Waldorf, Ritz, etc.). Spent $9,500 for 7 nights, spa food here.This hotel has some serious service issues if they are trying to compete in the 5-star class price-point. Issues: 1. We asked to pay for an upgrade when we checked in, but told none were currently available but would be informed if upgrades became available for purchase during our 7 night stay....only to learn others were being offered upgrades throughout our stay. 2. I tipped the pool attendant (Romeo) $100 right away on our first morning and asked that we receive very good treatment during our 7 days there, only to get lousy treatment on days 2-7 from the other attendants. At one point, we rented a beach cabana and had to wait 90 minutes for someone to come by to take our order. 3. The breakfast buffett (only breakfast onsite) cost $130 for 2 adults and 2 kids, and also had horrible service and nearly uneatable food. Multiple times, I had to wait in excess of 15 minutes for my drink as my food got cold, and then had to get fresh food once my drink arrived. The kids only ate the cereal and a piece of fruit. We refused to pay extra for the smoothies for the kids, when they told us it was an additional cost. 4. The housekeeping system is a mess. I received mutliple false messages on my room phone telling me they couldn't service our room because our privacy sign was up. Expedia limits comments, so that's all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

All about professional & caring staff

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Hotel made everything easy. Spa was top notch. Beach was fantastic. Great choices for restaurants
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for Cancun standards

Posted Feb 7, 2017
The hotel has beautiful views of the ocean and a good pool. For Cancun hotel standards it is much nicer and luxurious than other options. The food is ok. The worst part, and the reason I would not recommend this hotel to friends, is that the rooms are very noisy. I had a room with an adjoining door and could hear absolutely everything my neighbors did as if they were in the same room with me. I woke up multiple times over the night with their conversation. Not exactly what one looks for in a relaxing vacation....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful property on a perfect stretch of beach

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The hotel is very attractive, quiet and offers any amenity you might want. The restaurants were casual or more expensive - something for everyone.
Location: Location is close to nearby restaurants and shopping. The beach is perfect at this location. I loved the Hershey's kisses at the check-in area, too.
While the lobby and hall areas are more traditional in style, our room was clearly recently updated with modern finishes and colors that mirrored the water and sky. The staff here is very attentive and pleasant. The pool areas and beach are lovely and relaxing. Workout facilities were very good for strength training as well as aerobic/machine exercises. Live music and a drink in the lounge/bar was a terrific way to end the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Winter getaway

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Our experience was outstanding from the moment we arrived until we left. Every single employee we encountered showed the utmost courtesy, helpfulness, friendliness and kindness. Professional in every sense. Our room was beautifully located on the 6th floor with a direct view of the ocean. The bed was extremely comfortable. Room service was prompt. The culinary experience was wonderful. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it, beautiful setting. We cannot recommend this hotel enough.