Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dripping sorings, tx

Hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Our villa was large and well equipped 2 story and we could walk onto the beach. Perfect! Beach restaurant was good, grocery store very well priced and room service pizza were great! Alcoholic drink were ok. Dependent on the waiter making them. Lots of activities for kids and adults!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Woodbury, MN

Cozy, friendly Resort

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe expand offerings in the marketplace - like lipstick, mascara, lip balm for those who forgot to pack. Display a list specialty drinks at bar.
Location: Near everything -ferry to the island, Captain Hook Pirate Dinner, right on the beach, easy access to the bus. Xel-ha and Dolphin Discovery are awesome
Great family friendly resort. Great staff - great location - access to everything - ferry to the island, bus, beach. Grounds are clean. Resort is smaller so you get to know the staff and other vacationers. Water is calm and shallow - perfect for young kids, but our teenager and older boy also had fun snorkeling and swimming in the water. Free shuttle to explore their other properties is great too. Great food - lobster night, prime rib night and the Italian restaurant were all favorites. We liked how quiet and peaceful this resort was. Rooms were clean and maid service was great too. Thomas Moore travel on site was also a plus - wonderful service and help getting to our excursions (parasailing, Xel-ha, Dolphin Discover). WE hope to come back again someday!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Stayed here for two nights. The beach area is awesome. The two-bedroom apartment was clean comfortable. Staff is very friendly. The food selection at the buffet wasn't great, and wasn't replenished fast enough. The swimming pools was average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poplar Bluff MO

Awesome hotel right on the beach.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Very happy with this hotel. Staff was friendly & helpful, rooms were nice. Beautiful ocean view. Great food & good variety of food to chose from!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel experience

Posted Dec 21, 2016
From check-in to check-out, everything was just fine. The 2 bedroom suites are very spacious and well furnished (especially the kitchen) and we had a lovely view of the water and the sunsets. The prices in the hotel minimart were very good, so if you are preparing to do smaller meals in the room, you can just shop there. You have privileges in the other Royal hotels, and we spent a lovely afternoon at the beach in one of them. My only complaint was that we were approached too many times about going to a lecture about their time share program. Ease up guys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Most of the people are very nice. They remember you and always say hello. This resort is not big but homy and very clean.
Cons: AC turns itself on/off when set temperature is reached, very annoying when sleeping. A form to fill out what drinks we want to restocked would be best
Location: Besides what you can do on the resort, you can easily go outside to take the bus to different parts of the hotel zone, or to downtown Cancun.
The resort itself is not big but it's homy. The villa we stayed at was roomy and clean with a small kitchen and 2 balconies. It was quiet at night but the AC would turn itself on and off when the set temperature was reached and the noise change could wake you up. We "fixed" this issue by turning the temperature very low right before going to sleep so the temperature can never be reached while sleeping (they have extra blanket in the closet). We only ate at La Palapa in this resort, food was mostly good and the waiters were very friendly. We went to Sands a couple times, we would go more often if the shuttle was more frequent. There were no shuttle going to Captin's Cove, you can only get shuttle from Sands and it only had 2 shuttles going back to Sands at 8pm and 10pm. The location of this report was very close to the bus stop which was easy to go to downtown and the hotel zone. The beach at Sands was nicer because of the larger waves, but if you have small kids this resort's beach is safer for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Decent resort for families

Posted Dec 17, 2016
This is an older resort in Cancun's Hotel Zone but the units are spacious with well-equipped kitchens. Which leads to the next point...you should plan on using the kitchen because the restaurant was terrible. Some of our dinner was actually inedible and the margarita tasted like blended water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great environment!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Love the Royal Cancun, great staff, great service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great service 100% of the time!

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Great service!
Cons: Adding a sauna and hot tub to the facility. There is one at the sister hotel Royal Sands, but you have to take a shuttle to go there and use it.
Location: Location is further down the beach. No shopping within walking distance.
Very relaxing beach trip. Villa was close to the beach and the pool. All service members were excellent all the time! :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE

never going back

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Nice until you tell concierge not interested in time shares, hard beds, hidden charges that are not explained up front. All inclusive package doesn't mean all inclusive at this resort. They advertise as family friendly but older hotel guests expect kids to stay in one area and have no problem telling you. Will never go back.