Ratings based on 946 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, California

The resort was great and very comfortable.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Royal resorts gave me the greatest experience Ever with the option of visiting the royal sands and royal haciendas in Playa del Carmen. My family had a wonderful time. If we go back to cancun. Royal resorts is the choice we will take.. Thank You Royal resorts
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great hotel for families

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The room (spacious and comfortable)
Cons: Shuttle service 7 days a week
Location: Calm beach, you should definitely travel to sister resorts
This was a great hotel for our family vacation! The beach is ideal for young children who cannot handle the larger waves yet - although you can go to the sister resort (Royal Sands) if you want thrashing waves. We didn't have time to visit all of the other sister resorts, only Royal Sands, and that seemed like a great place for adults to stay. The pool was amazing at Royal Sands (amazing view of the ocean). Royal Cancun had a great 2BR suite with an oceanfront view - the ONLY way to go! It was beautiful! The food was good (better at Royal Sands) and the service was good (also better at Royal Sands). We all had a wonderful time! My only complaint was that the shuttle doesn't run on weekends - so we had to take the public (non air-conditioned) bus to the sister resort. The shuttle should run 7 days a week.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice but not worth the price

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: It was quiet and not crowded. The room was clean and nice.
Cons: Another restuarant on site or better seating times for the Italian place. Get rid of the braclets. Mattresses were very firm and uncomfortable.
Pros: free room upgrade, clean, comfortable, nice, food was ok. Cons: only two restaurants on site, one with very limited seating, shuttle to other resorts/restaurants was inconvenient and only came every two hours in the evening. The room service menu was very limited, not even including a veggie option as a side dish. When we asked for one, we were put on hold to listen to a recording of Royal boasting of their excellent service, going beyond their guests requests, to then have the person come back on the phone and tell us they couldn't do a side of steamed vegetables. There was also this low level anxiety about extra charges all week: their required braclets for all-inclusive guests (which were annoying in themselves) fell off one day for my wife and we were told it would cost us $150 to replace it u less we found it. Someone took our beach towels while we were in the pool and when we went for new ones and explained what happened, again they threatened to charge us for new towels and said we needed to keep them close. I suppose you need to swim with them. The Caribbian Night menu only had four items that didn't have additional charges. Their website says all tips and gratuity are included but then told us we needed to tip our maid. Overall, the organization is all over the place. They have guests staying who own time shares,,other guests on a European meal plan and others who were all-inclusive. The communication was so confusing as they tried to include everyone in
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for families.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
We had an excellent time, The staff was attentive and the food was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from メキシコ

初めての家族海外旅行でした。忘れがたい素敵な思い出がたくさんできました。またぜひ行きたいです!!

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: 食事、プール、海水浴、テニス・バスケット、事務がすべて非常に良い状態で揃っていること。また、 ショッピングモールにもバスで10分程度でいける立地条件もGood!
Cons: イタリアンレストランのスタッフに、一部不親切なスタッフがいた。改善してほしい。
Location: 海岸沿いのモールにも、内陸部(セントロ)にもどちらにもアクセスしやすい(バスで10~15分)。
すべてにおいて大変まんぞくです。レストラン、プール、テニスコートなどの設備がそろっており、部屋は、まるで自分の家にいるような快適さ!!家でくつろいでいるような錯覚にとらわれるほどです。スタッフのみなさんも一部不適切な対応をとる方もいましたが、総じて親切かつにこやかな雰囲気の方が多く満足です。ロケーションも、海岸沿いのモールにも、内陸部(セントロ)にもどちらにもアクセスしやすく、申し分ありません。 ぜひリピーターとして何度も滞在したいです!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from frederick, MD

Right on the beach and family friendly

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The beach was very nice with little current which made it safer for the kids. Will like to visit again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy in Cancun

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The options of two separate pools are a plus! Also enjoy the hotel hopping within the sister hotels. It's a large resort with friendly and accommodating hotel staff; the atmosphere is very family oriented. Room service and pool side service were our favorites. Kudos to Angel and Manuel for their customer focus. Areas of improvement: *More on-site restaurant choices. *The A/C units are on timers but they are very loud and disruptive to sleep. *The use of receipts are not environmentally friendly. If you pay for all inclusive, why do you have to obtain and sign receipts for every purpose? The colored bands should be sufficient. We checked out with over 50 receipts! Overall great resort, especially for families. Will definitely visit again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st louis mo

Calm beach, family-friendly

Posted Jul 21, 2016
All-inclusive was a good deal. Food pretty good. Sister resort restaurants were better. Italian at LaTrattoria was great. Beach at sister resort Royal Islander was too choppy for water sports but very pretty. Should increase shuttle offerings/times among resorts and have them run later to accommodate dinner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, CA

Hotel is lacking shows/entertainment for kids:adul

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Nice experience nice staff. Hotel isndefinately lacking shows/ entertaimemt for kids at night time. Afterall thisnis a family resort. I am comparing to other resorts i have been at in Cancun. Everything shuts down at 10:00 p.m. Need adult entertaimemt as well. Need music aor live band at least till. 11:30 12:00 am. It feels like a kids camping trip withbschool the next day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Was NOT ALL INCLUSIVE

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The resort was very well kept/clean. The hotel staff was very friendly.
Cons: If you say it's ALL inclusive, there shouldn't be any limitations.
First of all, the resort was well kept and the staff was very friendly. We ended up having a great time but I kind of feel like it's false advertisement. I'm not sure if it's the resort's fault or expedia.... I specifically searched for an all inclusive resort when booking with Expedia. I went to an all inclusive resort last year so I kind of felt I knew what to expect. However, during our first dinner there we found out there were exceptions. If you eat from the buffet (limited selection) it's fine...But if you wanted to order something special (rib-eye steak, surf and turf) you had to pay extra( not quite 20 dollars per plate). LIMITED PLACES to EAT- The buffet is the only place available to eat for breakfast and it's outdoors so it was kind of inconvenient because it's so hot. Unless you order room service. For lunch- again, outdoor buffet, pool bar, or room service. Dinner- again, the outdoor buffet or you have to make a reservation at the Italian restaurant that was on site or room service. Yes, I realize you can take a shuttle to visit other Royal resorts to eat there but I was traveling with little kids so it was kind of inconvenient. I don't understand...They had a menu and an extension available to an "express" ordering place with a few options and an extension to a pizza place but again, that was NOT part of the all inclusive. In summary, not a lot of options for food. Would not recommend as an all inclusive. Pay a little more and try elsewhere.