Ratings based on 1,134 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a great beach/excellent service

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The service and the onsite restaurant. Access to other hotels in the area.
Location: Location was nice not too many other hotels which made the beach uncrowned. Captain Hook experience was awesome!
Great place for everyone, pools, kayaks, wind sails available.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. We’re happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a great location to make the most out of your vacation. We always strive to give our guests the best location, value, amenities and service. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laramie, WY

Love how close it is to the beach.

Posted May 24, 2017
Love the lunch there!!! The fish and shrimp tacos were amazing!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Jenny, Thank you for posting about our resort. We're excited to read your review and learning we've achieved our goal of providing our guests with the highest standards in food. It's great to hear that you like our fish and shrimp tacos. We look forward to see you again soon during your next vacation in Cancun. Warm Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kosta

Great hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
This is my second time in Cancun and prior we stayed at a bigger hotel which I thought was nice but after staying here I can see the huge difference. Staff was always sooo nice and welcoming. Whether we were in our room, the restaurant or beach there was always someone there to ask if we needed anything. Even upon arrival our room wasn't ready and they worked hard to get it to us by 11am. Even the guys trying to sell you a time share were not as pushy as everyone says.. he only asked once and didn't bother us after that.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear iria, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that your stay with us was memorable, and that our staff strived to help make you feel like we were your "home away from home!" We're convinced that our staff is key in our company since their interaction with our guests makes possible what we like to call "The Royal Experience". We're glad to learn you've enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent place to stay

Posted May 19, 2017
Lovely place that has all you want. We were not choosing the inclusive service/maybe they do not have, while the room is very nice and we loved it. However, I don't understand the requirement of a clean kitchen before check-out (if not will be charged 75 USD).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Arthur, Thank you for your review. We're glad to see that you had an overall nice stay with us. We have shared your comments with the appropriate departments in order to find ways to improve our service. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, Ca

Excellent

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: secure, relaxing, beach
Our 1st time in Cancun and I would not change anything. Hotel, Staff, Location where excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Gigi, It’s great to hear from you about your first time in Cancun. We couldn’t be happier to see that your time spent with us was a great experience. We hope to have you back again soon. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, but the beach is good mostly for kids.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: It's almost as good as Royal Sands, but noticeably cheaper.
Cons: Get rid of the birds in La Palapa! I'd like more variety of food, like in La Veranda at Royal Sands.
Location: Attend La Ventura park, Cirque Du Soleil, XCaret, a Pirate Ship show.
Nice hotel, pretty good food, very nice staff. Most guests are 60+ or accompanying them, or less frequently, couples with kids. The beach is beautiful, but the sea water is shallow (1-2 ft) and is only good for small kids. If you go farther you get into seaweed. Three pools compensate for that. Kids club, kayaking, sailing boat and paddle boards are available for free (need to be reserved at sports desk), extra activities for kids, sailing lessons, etc are available for almost free ($6 or so). Massage and water scooters available at US level prices. If you are looking for a nicer water and higher waves, there is a free ~hourly shuttle to Royal Sands hotel and back. There you'll get both and your All Inclusive card/bracelet will work just like in this hotel. From there you can also get to Royal Carribean, but I wouldn't recommend that one. Pro tip: don't forget to tip the staff, they will be very thankful and will provide you an even better service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Anton, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with great vacation vibe

Posted May 3, 2017
Location: Visit Isla de Mujeres and take a Chichen itza tour where you can swim in the swimmable Cenote.
The master villa we stayed in was great. It was spacious and fit 6 people comfortably. The room was clean and had an okay view of the horizon. The patios were really nice for that hot weather. The pools were nice and the pool bar was cool. The food and drinks were not that great. The food buffet was well overpriced and not that tasty. The drinks were basic drinks that anyone can make...no real cocktails. The maids did not come to our room most of the days but one of those days was their off day and another day was a holiday. When they did come, they didn't clean anything and only left new towels. The beds were a bit uncomfortable after sleeping on them for a few days but it didn't become too big of a deal as we only stayed for 5 nights. Still, the place looked great and was overall comfortable. We biked and swam and played water volleyball in the ocean for free. The market inside the hotel wasn't expensive but definitely made it easy to spend a lot. The taxi's ended up costing $10-20 total for 3-6 people depending only on the distance to our destinations. I'd definitely consider this hotel next time I visit Cancun.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Great Place To Stay!! Unlimited options, great staff, clean. Very Relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post about our resort. We're glad to learn that you found The Royal Cancun to be a great place for your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to the Mexican Caribbean. Warm Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey

OCEAN VIEW

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The ENTIRE Staff, they were so friendly and helpful. The Food was very good, a good variety every day. Two Pools and Beach with plenty of chairs.
Cons: Larger TV in the rooms. They have 32" screen in rooms.
Location: Location is only a short 25 minutes from airport ( if you do private shuttle). Shopping is also a 10-15 ride into town. Ferry to other islands,
While checking in we were upgraded to OceanView at no extra cost. A very pleasant surprise. The Food, The Staff and the entire resort were just Outstanding. Great resort for kids. Plenty things to do. Very Low key Resort, Activities during the day but no night life.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Bobby, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. We’re happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a great location to make the most out of your vacation. We always strive to give our guests the best location, value, amenities and service. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Back the third time in the last 12 months

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Always a great pleasure to be there! Love the quietness and the charm of this resort! Shiraki who works there became our friend and took such good care of us and our friends while there! Thanks a lot! Thank you Manuel from the pool bar and Espiridon from La Palapa! All great people!! Cannot wait to be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Lori, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're glad to learn you've enjoyed your stay at our resort. We're convinced that our staff is the most important asset in our company since their interaction with our guests makes possible what we like to call "The Royal Experience". You couldn't give us any higher compliment than a return visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm regards.