Ratings based on 832 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gilberts illinois

super clean...very well kept

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: the room
Cons: nothing
Location: we stayed in the resort with little kids but only 10 minute bus ride to about anything....20 minutes from the airport
we were looking for a larger room to accomodate 5 people and this was great....a 2 bedroom plus a murphy bed in the living room....this resort is spotless....would reccommend to everybody......quiet....not super large and overcrowded
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Amazing Place

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Not busy... even though the hotel was full, we did not feel crowded at all. The room was amazing, lots of space. The staff were excellent.
Cons: We would have liked some entertainment in the evenings
Location: great restaurants / shopping. Our kids just loved playing at the beach though so we mostly stayed at the resort.
The resort was wonderful. It is not massive like some of the other resorts. There was room on the beach, and you did not feel cramped at all. The pools were amazing, the staff was incredible. There was always staff ready to take our order and bring us food, and drinks. We were upgraded to an ocean view room. The room had a lot of space, we had room to put our 3 kids on individual beds, in a separate room! and had our own space upstairs on a 2nd floor! we were very impressed with the layout. The other people at the resort were all very nice / kind, lots of young families with kids. Our kids made some great friends on the trip and played for hours on the beach, and in the ocean with their friends. We definitely will be back! We went for 7 days on this trip, and our kids were 9, 8, & 4. Next time we come we will try and go for 10 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City

Very good property close to the beach

Posted Jan 31, 2016
We loved our stay at Royal Cancun. The pools are warmed so even on a windy day we could stay in the water. The beach is clean and the sand is amazing white and soft. The best feature is that you can take a free shuttle to the other properties and enjoy the pools and beach there, also the buffet if you have the all inclusive option. We will come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, mb

Family friendly

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Just came back from a week at the royal cancun with my family of 5. We had an awesome time in cancun and the royal cancun was a great fit for our family. The staff in the restaurant and poolside and beach waiters were great. The only down side was no hot tubs by the pools. But aside from that it was great. We got moved on Saturday, and my wife was hesitant to move at first, but they actually moved us to a better room. We are looking forward to our next trip to cancun, and would like to try the royal haciendas next. I highly suggest a trip to xcaret as well, that was a blast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

quiet-for older crowd

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Staff was nice and beach was pretty. Everything closed down at 10 PM(bars) at all resorts. Even though you had an all-inclusive wristband you had to have your room card with you to order any drink/food---was a huge pain. Multiple shuttles to use other facilities-another pain. No premium liquor included & some food items were an extra charge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great all inclusive

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: expedia
Cons: The timeshare sales pitch is actually 3 hours not 90 minutes as promised. It was a soft/hard sale but not unpleasant. If you have the time, do it.
Location: Resorts are in the hotel zone near everything (shopping, entertainment and activities).
The resort offered accept to all five of its sister resorts which offered lots of dining and entertainment options. Each resort had its own character and special niceties. Highly recommend the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Cancun Family Vacation

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Suite size, food, protected beach, food, Wi-Fi, staff
This resort was exactly what my family needed. We were traveling for the first time with our children, age 4 and 6. We were first drawn to The Royal Cancun for the room size, it was perfect to have room to spread out and seperate sleeping areas for kiddos. The room was very clean, maid staff was excellent. We enjoyed the pools, activities, and protected beach. The food was great, we enjoyed the La Palapa buffet for breakfast, poolside lunch off the menu, and dinner at the other resturants and other sister resorts. We took advantage of room service. We spent a couple days at The Royal Sands, and enjoyed the bigger waves and pools. Shuttle service was quick and clean, once you figure out the schedule. We did the All-Inclusive plan and thought it was a good price and got our money's worth. The menus were clear on the up-charges and what was included. The resort was very family and kid friendly. The resort size was manageable with kids, not too big to get from place to place. The free Wi-Fi was excellent. The concierge staff was very helpful with reservations and excursions. We were offered to meet regarding the time share option, but declined and were not approached again. We would definitly come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We felt completely spoiled!

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Wonderful friendly staff. Great room. Wonderful beach. Accessible amenities. Great food and drink. Awesome place to relax. Truly all-inclusive.
Cons: Inconvenient shuttle schedule; use buses. Some persistence from the time-share staff. Shallow water. Loud, sometimes lewd, party boats drive close by.
This resort was wonderful! Best of all were the warm and friendly staff that seemed truly interested in making sure that we had a good time. They were very helpful and courteous any time we asked for anything. Our suite had a great ocean view and lots of room. We had 2 bedrooms, one that was the master suite that had its own small balcony. Our daughters had a room with 2 twin beds and a sink. There was a large main room with a nice sized balcony, a dinette and a kitchen. We had the all-inclusive package so we didn't use the kitchen except to store water bottles but it was fully functional and stocked with dishes. Unlike other resorts that seem to discourage taking advantage of the amenities, this resort cheerfully facilitated their use. The drinks were well prepared and not watered down. The beach was extremely expansive and well equipped with chairs, lounges and palapas for shade. The pools were warm, clean and beautiful. This section of the hotel zone has very calm shallow water which is great for families with small children. All the included activities were as stated and easy to schedule and access. The schedule for the shuttle between Royal Resorts on our plan didn't work well for us, but we just hopped on on of the many buses that come by right in front of the hotel. For the 4 of us most of the rides were 42 pesos, but I think a few of the bus drivers may have taken advantage of us and charged more than they should have, still a very good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Nice hotel - very quiet for older couples or families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from raleigh,nc

Very nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Loved this hotel . They have all the facility you need for your vacation . Lots of option for food. My kids loved it don't even want to go back home