Ratings based on 743 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego ca

We loved it

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Facility and staff were wonderful. Very attentive. We were given an upgrade at no additional cost. We had a great concierge Marce. Thank you for making our honeymoon the best trip....we will be returning largely in part because of this experience. Thank you....we had an awesome time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was clean and friendly staff food was also good

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The place was really nice it was relaxing especially after flying. Beautiful landscaping around the hotel and was quite at night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Perfect for families

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: We liked the large suites, the fact that the beach was close by. There is a Doctor in the sister hotel next door and unfortunately we had to use her.
Cons: We arrived on a Wednesday so we had to move three times!!!. We should have been advised to book Sat. to Sat.
We were very pleased with our suite. The grocery store downstairs was convenient and reasonably priced.Restaurants were good. Staff and cleaning staff were excellent. Overall we were very pleased we chose Royal Islander for our vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: WiFi was not so good
Location: You have got to go to Chichen Itza. It takes a full day but what an experience. The travel tour staff at hotel set it up and were great.
First time in Cancun and a great place to stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Large clean beach with many lounge chairs but waves make it bad for swimming. Pool is wonderful and has separate areas for kids. Restaurants, bar and the staff are terrific, take excellent care of you! Hotel staff are kind and helpful. Front desk staff are super! A special word of thanks to Jorge Pech, his concern for us was much appreciated. This hotel was a great way to begin our trip to Mexico.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Good price. Nice room and kitchen. The hotel store is convenient. Beach very good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Don't stay here

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Rude personnel, if ur not time share holder u are better off on another hotel. They treat u like a thief. U can't even unpack because they move u everyday. Very inconvenient. Far from downtown. Since it's a non all inclusive u will just waste ur time trying to go to restaurant or do grocery shopping. Don't do it!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over the top.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
From check in to check out the staff catered to every detail. The location and facilities are better than the Expedia adds. Drinks at the pool or beach to dinner at any of the restaurants could not have been better. We booked excursions with their in house service, and could not have wished for better. This is not a spring break party resort. However when it's party time your a short taxi ride to clubs. This is the place to stay. Thank you to all the staff at the Royal Islander.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

superb location, beautiful beach

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms with full kitchen. Superb service, very friendly. Great location.
Excellent from arrival to departure. Zero complaints. Will definitely come back here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Very nice hotel but it is an older crowd. Not much if any music playing at the pools and the wait staff at the pools is nonexistent. Expect to wait 1/2 hour or so for a drink. Rooms were clean and all rooms face the ocean. Over all I would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Closeness to beach.
Cons: Moving rooms on Saturday is not convenient.
Everything is there, maintained and ready to go. It's easy to get into holiday mode and have a break.