Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice for families

Posted Apr 26, 2016
We enjoyed our stay here. Lots of sports and activitys for kids. We moved here after 2 nights at a more expensive hotel, and agreed we liked the Islander even more. Food could be improved, but the little store is so reasonably priced it makes up for it. Lovely pool, and the beach is the same all up and down the strip... Georgous. It doesn't matter whether you stay at a 1,000$ per night hotel or a 125$ per night the beach is still the same... Perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, spacious rooms

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Just what we needed for a family of 5 to spread out and have close access to the beach and pool. Was even better that we had access to all the Royal Resorts, not just this one, so we went to a different pool each day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty good for the price

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Everything was great. Only issue was the room wasnt cleaned regularly. No additional towels brought, old towels were not taken. That was a bummer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grande Prairie , AB

Great Resort - Great Beach

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Location - Customer Service - Cleanliness
Cons: Some fixtures could be updated in bathrooms .
Location: GREAT Location - close to marina and a short bus or cab ride to malls and restaurants.
Great Customer Service - Good Food - Clean and Comfortable - some amenities slightly dated but in GOOD repair. GREAT Value. Would return to this property Anytime.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Room was nice.
Cons: Could not adjust the AC. The room was freezing. Ended up turning th AC off.
We did not realize that people own suites and return year after year. It was very confusing on how to pay for meals, etc. Some notes staff told us to present our room card, while others insisted we pay with a credit card. Very confusing and frustrating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

se recomienda para las familias

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Muy placentero con los servicios, atención en los restaurantes, las instalaciones de los baños en perfecto estado, los sistemas de televición con bastantes canales en ingles y español y los servivios administrativos con trato respetuoso amable y atento }
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Lots of room. Safe and quiet location.

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Full kitchen, on site store, shuttle to other royal properties. Large balcony. Beach palapas are first come first serve so have a fair chance.
Cons: Front desk staff not friendly. Front desk guy that checked me out was oddly rude. Frequent problem with using my room key.
Stayed 5 days. With teenage son. Too quiet for him but was nice for me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virgjnia

They switched us to the Royal Caribbean

Posted Mar 7, 2016
We were switched to the sister hotel next door due to one of our reservations being lost . We were upgraded to the breakfast included as a compensation. Awesome sauce!! Loved our stay at the around Caribbean. We had dinner at the El Conquistador restaurant at the Islander twice! All in all service at the Royal hotels is the best!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Katy,TX

Cancun hotel zone

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Hotel was beautiful we were placed viewing the beach. .grounds were very well taken care of. .needed more restaurants. .market is a plus..the staff was fantastic especially consueiir Angel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel right on beach

Posted Feb 28, 2016
I enjoyed the facility but did not like the calls at 9:00am every morning from staff trying to get me up for time share information. I was on vacation and was disturbed every morning from phone ringing. I also expected for my room to have sofa and dining room table and seating in balcony from photos but it didn't and although my room was nice it was just ok nothing that stood out as special from any other hotel room. The grounds and location of hotel was good though and staff real nice.