Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Very good stay.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Ask for the discount promised inrestaurants, it is not automatic even if they say so. Great beach, many paid and various activities, spacious room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Close enough by taxi to shopping. Can't walk to anything.
Great views and the room size was great. The only bad thing was the restaurants listed were not all in the same hotel. You had to take taxis to the other royal hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Beautiful, clean hotel with beautiful grounds!

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: It was so clean and beautiful, great location and friendly staff! Each room is a suite and the market in the lobby has great low prices!
Cons: I can not think of one thing!
Location: It's right on the beach and you can take a shuttle to the other Royal Resorts.
We were so happy with our stay at the Royal Islander! It was so clean and well cared for, the staff was amazing and super helpful, and we had an awesome experience there! It was great to have to free shuttle to all the Royal Resorts in Cancun so we could hotel hop and experience all the pools and beaches. We were extremely impressed with the friendliness and professionalism from the front staff to the grounds crew! HIGHLY recommend this hotel, this was one of the best experiences we have had in Cancun.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Easy, Affordable, Nice

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Cons: Jacuzzi would be nice. More resort sponsored events or themed nights for guests to interact with each other.
Location: The resort is a little bit further south on the barrier island, but you can take the city bus for USD $0.50 and get anywhere.
Great experience at Royal Islander - the staff was friendly and our rooms had everything we needed. Loved the onsite restaurant, which was affordable and convenient for my large group. The pool bar has a happy hour everyday from 3pm - 6pm where you can buy beers for around USD $1.50 and large cocktails for around USD $3.50 ...The best part is that each individual receives their own room key, which you essentially use as a credit card. It was so easy to split the expenses between my large group.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahia-Brasil

Está sendo tudo maravilhoso. Gostei muito.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Hotel perfeito. Realmente este hotel é privilegiado, fica bem localizado em uma praia ótima.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Family Vacation

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Family vacation and was pretty pleased with our experience. Miguel Angel was very helpful our entire stay! It was our 1st time in Cancun and was a great place to stay. I enjoyed the shuttles to different Royal hotels but wish they had more than 1 to Royal in Playa De Carmen. Only issue we did have was when it came to our excursion. We booked for Tuesday and bus never arrived. Talk about un happy children! This issue was with Thomas Moore not Royal themselves. We ended up booking tour for Wednesday and they made sure we were on a bus that time. Only way to get discount on any tours is to take Time Share presentation. Alot of good info but time share for my family is not a good time at the moment. 2 bedroom Villa was amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

A relaxed site to vacation with a big beach side.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: The tranquility, the sense of relaxation on every corner or place of this site. the great beach & ocean views...
Cons: Maybe the Wi-Fi signal and more variety in the drinks served at the bar.
Location: A little far of the downtown Cancún, but the public bus service and taxis is excellent, near the "El Rey" ruins.
That's the second time I stay there & got impressed for the genuine spirit of service and warm of the personal, The hotel is tucked neatly in a quieted area far away from the noise & rush of the city. Clean & comfortable. The only complaint I had was the hotel policy of change of room every Saturday, but the personnel was always on call to help with this task. Despite this minor issue, I definitely would back soon again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de Mexico


Posted Sep 8, 2016
Great that is close to the ocean, but difficult access to he beach. It is tired, very from the 80's. Awful food. Good and spacious room, but again, old decor. You have microwave, coffee machine (you need to buy at the shop your coffee daily. Need a lot of re-modernisation. I went 2 days for work, and expected something better as I am familiar with the area. Not cheap for what you get. Won't come again and I don't recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buen Opción

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Ubicación
Cons: Comida
Location: Buena alberca.
Excelente opción si lo que quieres es un buen lugar para dormir y hacer tours.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

problemas entrega cuarto

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Nos entregaron la habitación dos horas después del Check in , y si la habitación la entregas a las 11 am y la recibes a las 6pm , es una descortesía Las habitaciones se deben de recibir máximo a las 2pm , o que puedas salir más tarde , el día es de 24 horas