Ratings based on 1,682 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Second time there

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Excellent grounds, rooms, facility. Clean. multiple pools. Multiple bars, right on beach.
Cons: I would prefer less hounding from concierge staff about attending the timeshare presentation. Had to repeatdly refuse.
Location: We styed on site- all inclusive is the best
Excellent grounds, rooms, facility. Clean. multiple pools. Multiple bars, right on beach. Second time here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful hotel on the beach in the hotel zone

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Clean everywhere. There is always someone cleaning somewhere on the property.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Hotel is located right in the middle of the hotel zone. Very close walking distance to a luxury mall and La Isla shopping district.
This is our second time to stay at the Royal Sands. We would highly recommend the hotel and facilities to anyone. The hotel is very clean, the food is good, the shuttle to their other hotels is convenient and the view of the ocean is breathtaking. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Other than the time share representatives trying to schedule tours, once we told them "no" we were not bothered again. Many places to shop within a short walking distance. We are definitely going to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel but service needs huge improvement

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach. Front desk helpful.
Cons: Drinks at pool/beach are watery with no taste. Add European beer Heineken, Stella. More fruits variety.Ice & soft drinks vending machine on hallways.
Concierge (Hector) very helpful, professional, helped us to change rooms for better view & cleaner, without pushing us to buy timeshares or excursions (like some of his colleagues). Royal Sands and Spa main restaurant, La Veranda-the staff very friendly, the food pretty tasty & diverse (different themes every night) but we expected more fruits variety. In the pool restaurants, the food is so so but the drinks a disaster; watery, margaritas were like made of powder with no taste. No European beers, only Mexican & 2 US. You can buy from their store, beers, soft drinks but u have to get a cooler+ice to have them on the beach/pool but that's not the way i want to enjoy my vacation...so they need huge improvements here. A la carte restaurants are not in the resort. 1 of the best, Hacienda Sisal is in walking distance from the Royal Sands and everything is very good. The other 4 or 5 restaurants are 2 to 5 miles away so you need to get a shuttle (headache because u need to plan the dinner schedule with shuttle's), a bus or taxi. When we went to El Conquistador, bus driver didn't know where it is, we had to take a taxi from the bus stop. El Conquistador, Captain’s Cove restaurants probably 3 & 2 stars. The biggest disappointment was in the last day when the cleaning staff entered to clean the room before 11 am, time that was still our time allowed by the hotel guidelines.Since we respected their 4 pm rule of entering the room, our expectation was to have our rights respected also.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Only one complaint

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: We liked the beach, pool, staff, facilities and options for activities. The giant turtles were coming ashore during this full-moon to nest.
Cons: Royal Sands should stop doing business with Captains Cove. The food was poorly prepared and overcooked in old oil. The vegetables were mush.
Location: Please read above.
Hotel is good and staff are outstanding/extremely helpful and diligent. We had the "all inclusive" deal. Food at buffet is pretty good. The "all included" includes some off-campus restaurants. The Sisal next door had very good food and an enjoyable experience with good Mariachi musicians "included." The beach, pool and bar facilities were very good. The staff at the CharBar were exceptional (Thank you Wilburton and Luis Kinll). Guest at the Royal Sands are able to use facilities and obtain "included" services at the other Royal properties in Cancun. We recommend the beach, sailboats, kayaks etc. available at not extra charge at the Royal Cancun. Now, our complaint. We arranged to have our last evening dinner at the off-campus restaurant "Captain's Cove." IT WAS TRULY AWFUL. The Ambiance and service were so-so but the food was terrible. We have eaten in restaurants across Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, South America etc. We all agreed that the food at the Captains Cove was the worst. One of our party experienced stomach problems afterwards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The only bad thing about this hotel is time share people. They are the most annoying people I ever seen. I don't thing I'm going back again just for this anonoying people. And plus they moved us on Saturday to another room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Family Vacation

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Food. Friendliness of staff. Pool. Cleanliness of rooms. Beach.
Cons: Entertainment at night. Maybe some music, dancing, some kind of show.
Location: Location was great close to the main part of town. Senor Frogs is fun but super expensive.
i highly recommend The Royal Sands & Spa. The food was good the staff excellent and the hotel facilities very pleasing. The only downside for us was we were with 3 teenagers (ages 16 -19) and they were bored after the pool closed at 10pm and the sports bar at 11pm. They were too young to go into town on their own so they were looking for a little night time entertainment at the resort (music, dancing). They still enjoyed themselves. Just something to keep in mind if you're bringing teenagers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Birthday Trip

Posted Aug 15, 2016
This place is amazing! It was very spacious and comfortable. Really enjoyed the huge balcony at night. All the staff were great and very attentive. We loved La Veranda, the resort restaurant. They had a different theme each night. The buffet was always good. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chacon

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Todo
Cons: Me gustaría q tuvieran algo para entretener e de noche
Location: Me gusta por q es un lugar q está bien cuidado
Esta vez fue mejor q la primera por q tuvimos información de todo lo q podíamos hacer gracias al joven omar q nos esplico q podíamos compartir con otros hoteles y salir a cenar fuera del hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice, but not perfect

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Cons: Wi-Fi is good for general surfing, but not for downloading big files or doing any real work (for those who still have to do that while on vacation).
Great staff, great pools and the sea, fabulous beach, good food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair Priced Resort

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Great staff and service! By far the best I've had in Mexico on my 5th visit. Could use more dinner options on the actual resort and some night life like shows or something. Overall would come back. Julio and Rafael our bartender and waiter were the best! They made sure to check on us every day!