Ratings based on 1,037 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington Texas

Better than expected

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: On the beach, nice pool and service by their staff. Great location - shopping and activities near by.
Cons: The décor is a little outdated in some areas (i.e., sports bar)
Location: see above
Very nice hotel and staff. Really loved the all inclusive deal. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Recommend this hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Went for a short 4 days but had a great time. The pool area is beautiful and looks right out to the beach. The food was delicious and service was great. The staff is the most pleasant I've experienced. Very close to the clubs, about 7 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel but dated

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: The staff, everyone provides an awesome service. Always with an smile.
Cons: Need standard rooms with a king size bed.
Location: Perfectly located in the middle of the hotel zone, a few minutes of all the restaurants and bars.
The hotel was nice for the price we paid. It needs to be updated, it looks a little old. They don't have standard rooms with one king bed so my wife and I have to sleep in separate beds. The staff is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Santa Ana, CA

Very nice and roomy!

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Very roomy, nice staff.
Cons: The food and shuttle service to other hotel.
Location: Xlor is very fun activity. My kids loved it. Xcaret is good too. We like the swim in the river at Xcaret. It was so beautiful.
We had 2 suits right in front of the beach. The rooms were big and roomy. It had separate bedroom with king size bed, walking closet, makeup table.... It had a living room with dining area. The kitchen was very clean and fully equipped, even though we never use it. The balcony was big. The food was OK but nothing stand out. The pools were clean, big but not much activities. The beach was nice but a lot of seaweed at the time we stayed. The staffs were friendly and helpful. Overall we liked this hotel a lot. We will come back there if we decide to go to Cancun again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Everything was great! My family and I had a great time- the only thing that was a little disappointing was the food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2015
The rooms were not luxury but the food and staff were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Muy buen hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Las instalaciones, la comida, un hotel excelente para relajarse y convivir con la familia.
Cons: El tiempo de espera en el restaurante.
Location: Para ir con la familia esta muy bien ya que esta cercano a playa caracol, el delfinario, playa tortugas para ver el espectáculo de piratas
La atención del personal fue de lo mejor, la comida muy buena, recomendable ampliamente.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Except for the Timeshare Tour

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: It is beautiful, and the lovely people who work there made it even better.
Location: Chichen Itza was breathtaking, and we took the bus to Market 28 in downtown Cancun. Don't expect great deals there, but it was fun.
The staff were unbelievably wonderful and nice. The room was beautiful with views of the pool and the sea, and the food was outstanding. The only bummer was the timeshare presentation we agreed to sit through to get a discount on a tour. "Two hours" turned into the entire morning, and I literally thought the roided up guy with the shaved head they sent in as the closer was going to take a swing at me when I had to say no for the fifteenth time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianola, MS

For the price, nice view of the beach and pool

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Upon reading some bad reviews, I was actually surprised to find everything was great. The photos actually looked more outdated than the actual resort. Everything from the exterior to the hotel room looked better than I expected. Food tasted fine until the 3rd day of the same food in the buffet. Recommend El Conquistador and Pirate's Cove (just make sure you reserve early. The taxis are great, but can cost about $9 per trip (distance of 5-10 min. ride). Buses are fast, and in my opinion the best way to travel up and down the hotel zone. Service of waiters out by pool area were fantastic. Our Concierge "Rachael" did a fabulous job booking things to do. However, like other reviews be aware of the timeshare reps. The discounts they offer may seem appealing, but it isn't worth the loss of 3-4 hrs of your priceless vacation. When our response was,"we weren't interested" they actually looked at us in disgust and asked "then why did we waste their time?" No wonder people call them "timeshare sharks". Other then that "disgust" moment, it was wonderful! Every server there deserved an extra tip!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location . Beautiful hotel.

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Located in walking distance to a high end shopping mall and an outdoor mall the Royal Sands was a perfect place to stay.The hotel itself was awesome and the staff helpful.