Ratings based on 1,937 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary alberta

our stay

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay at the royal sands, we had a beautiful view from our room and also lots of room! The staff was very friend, I would definietly recommend this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great All Inclusive!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We had a fabulous stay at Royal Sands. We are a family of four (kids 13 & 11). The hotel staff are all wonderful and the service was top notch! The food at the restaurants was all amazing! Our favorite restaurant was the Hacienda Sisal which is located at the Royal Sands. Some of the other restaurants in the all inclusive are off site but the shuttle from the hotel was easy, or we could just take a cab or the city bus. I liked going off site because it was a nice change of scenery. The rooms at the sands are huge! We had a one bedroom villa and it was ample room for our family. The price at other resorts was higher and it was just a standard hotel room size. The entire resort is immaculately clean. Everywhere you look you would see someone cleaning something. The beach is beautiful! The ocean in front of the resort is a bit rough but my kids loved boogie boarding in the ocean. We spent one day at the Royal Cancun (a sister resort), and the ocean there is as calm as a lake and perfect for snorkeling or paddle boarding. This was our second stay at royal sands and we will definitely be back! Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Good for senior citizen

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cons: Something must be done to Lapalapa with TOWELS only but No people are there. People just put towels to hold place and never come back.
First thing you will notice is most of the guests are over 50 years of age. They will occupy lapalapa (shaded seating arrangement) at 5 am or 6 am and they put Towel to hold seat and do not come back for 2-4 hours. So you go to beach after that, probably you will not get nice location to enjoy beach. And there are only limited Lapalapa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bonners Ferry, ID

Amazing view, clean pool and beach

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Will stay again, the experience was wonderful.Staff patient, helpful and friendly. Hotel plain but neat and clean. Food really good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

All inclusive???

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Clean. Beautiful pools and beach. Mexican restaurant on site was wonderful!
Cons: Straighten out the tipping policy, especially for all inclusive guests.
Nice place. Beautiful grounds. However, all inclusive used to mean, you know, all inclusive (including tips per website)! It's very obvious that staff expects 15-20% tips even though the much higher prices to book include tip money. Couple this with the fact that most guests do not choose the all inclusive option and DO pay full tips, who do you think the staff is going to cater to??? Concierge took 5 minutes to walk us to our room (we didn't ask), gave him $5, he said he made dinner reservations for us...didn't, he'd arrange for double beds to be put together, didn't. He'd have chairs brought to our balcony, nope. Guess a $5 tip for 5 minutes of his time wasn't enough to keep his word. Twice housekeeper didn't leave clean bath towels, when we called for some, guess what, person bringing them wanted a tip! Plenty more examples too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We had an amazing vacation! The beds were soft/pillows. Towels felt amazing too. The staff was awesome and very helpful. This was the best resort we have stayed at. No complaints! We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL

very nice hotel and resort.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: great clean outstanding hotel.
Cons: there could be always more improvement but for the price I paid I can't complaint much.
Location: it's in a heart of hotels district basically many shopping malls great restaurants lot's of activity's within 15 minutes Walking distance.
it's a great place to get relax & enjoy the beautiful beach resort with the great food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great property...terrible SALES pressure!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Royal Sands is a tremendous property...great condition, kept spotless, tremendous service staff. The one downside is the constant pressure to sell timeshares. For example, had a meeting with our "VIP Concierge"...she told us about all the things to do and how they provided discounted pricing...as long as we attended a sales presentation (she didn't call it that!)...no attendance...no discount. Once I made it clear that we were on vacation, we weren't going to buy a timeshare, and we weren't going to waste any of our vacation time attending sales presentations, we suddenly no longer had a VIP Concierge. Another example...I tried making dinner reservation one day for the next day...I was told only owners could make reservations ahead of time...all others were "day of" only...but that if we would attend a presentation, we would be able to make reservations for the entire week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon, IN

Even better than expected

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The view, the beach, the pool and the food were all wonderful. All the staff (ALL of them) were helpful and friendly.
Cons: Monitor the beach chairs and remove the towels that "hold" them when no one shows up in excess of two hours. We watched chairs sit vacant over 6 hrs.
Location: Perfect location being midway along the hotel zone allows access to many shops and restaurants within walking distance.
We spent a week here with the all-inclusive package. The food within the resort was good while the reservations required restaurants available at all the Royal resorts was 5 star quality. This was a stress free, relaxing in the sun perfect getaway for us. If you want to try an excursion, there are many to choose from at great prices through the Thomas More Travel agency located inside the resort. There's so much to do, we ran out of time to try out the Spa, but it sure looked great. Maybe next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pools

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Huge pools and pool decks Pool bars that served food Fantastic staff Large clean rooms
Cons: Only one real restaurant on the property. Most all inclusives have had several to choose from
Good hotel, almost great Huge pools and pool decks Pool bars that served food Fantastic staff Large clean rooms