Ratings based on 2,154 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Fabulous resort!!!

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing!!!
Location: Location was great with easy transportation to anywhere.
Best week ever at Royal Sands. The entire staff was so accommodating. A few of the outstanding staff: Gustave Hernandez, Edwardo, and Mario on the beach were amazing. Never waited for service and always greeted by name and with a smile. The cleanliness of Royal Sands is above and beyond. Someone is always cleaning something. Geny, our room attendant was great. Could have eaten off the floor. The food was excellent with many choices. Had a great week and will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Clare, WV

Super place to stay inCancun

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Everything. That's why we continue to return to this resort.
Location: We like the resort so much, we seldom leave to do other things.
All was wonderful. Room was super, food was great, and the staff did more than you could ever expect to make sure that we were well taken care of during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Mike and Betsy, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that your stay with us was memorable, and that our staff strived to help make you feel like we were your "home away from home!" You could not give us any higher compliment than a return stay. We hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very nice hotel! Close to the beach with excellent

Posted May 28, 2017
I recently went to Cancun with my daughter and this hotel was PERFECT! We never left the resort and we had a great time! All of the staff was fantastic!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Brenda, Thank you for your review. It’s so wonderful that we were able to play host to your vacation with your daughter. We hope that you were able to making memories that will last you for years to come. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst hotel ever met.

Posted May 28, 2017
Bad service, poor facility, no one cares about you after you check in the hotel. We reserved three nights at this hotel but had to switch to other hotel instead even though we had to pay much higher for it. Night mare for us to stay at Royal Sands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice Resort close to the beach

Posted May 25, 2017
This was our first time in Cancun. The ocean can be seen from every balcony in the Resort. We spent most of our days relaxing poolside, listens no to the waves of the ocean, which was our plan for this vacation. The poolside bars/waiters were great. Only complaint is they closed at 7pm while the pool stayed open until 10pm. The resort staff easily maneuvered around the 5+ hour power outage one of our 8 days there, makes me wonder if this happens often at the Resorts.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Josh, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We couldn't be happier to see that your first time in Cancun was a great experience. It's great that you were able to take advantage of so many of the amenities available around the resort. The power outage which last week affected the 3 states in the Yucatan peninsula was like nothing we have recent record of. We're glad to see that this experience didn't put a damper on your vacation thanks to the great response of our well-trained resort staff. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

So-so review

Posted May 24, 2017
This resort is actually a time share that rents out their rooms. Expect to change rooms on Saturday. There were not enough places to eat on the resort. The sit down restaurants were at other resorts and you had to be shuttled there which was a process because they wanted an hour notice. Our "concierge" did not help us. He never talked to us again after the first day and when we saw him in the hall and asked why he wasn't talking to us, he said he " was working" I had to read the book in the room about the resort to learn about the resort. I had asked our "concierge" about a tour of the resort when we got there, and he said that he couldn't because he gets done work soon. There was no night entertainment or shows on sight and the bar closed at 11pm. The food was flavorful and waiters were great! There was always a chair and umbrella available when I wanted one. However no one explained the towel policy and when I was packing I had to run out to the pool to return the towels. I couldn't leave in room or return at checkout. There was a lot of guessing about how the resort worked and how to make the best of my time. I had to know what to ask.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Danielle, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear your sentiment and of your experience from your recent stay with us. We strive to make sure that all of our guests have the best vacation experience possible and we're sorry to learn we didn't achieve this goal with you. Your comments are very important to us, and I am sharing them with the appropriate departments so we can improve on your experience in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon and change your mind about vacationing with us. Best Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Nice hotel on the Beach

Posted May 24, 2017
We have stayed at many resorts in Mexico and all over the world and particularly like the Royal Sands for the following reasons: the staff was friendly, the place is clean, and as opposed to many other resorts, the food options were not that bad. Quite pleasing, actually. That being said- not all the restaurants included in the all-inclusive package where on site. That meant lengthy shuttle rides that didn't necessarily leave at a convenient time. These places, however are very accessible by taxi or city bus, so there are plenty of options. The friendliness of the staff is important, but can so easily be overbearing, making it somewhat uncomfortable. This was not the case here; the service was immediate and effective, not excessive . I think we lucked out coming on a quiet week, allowing us ample of choices of beach chairs and not too crowded pools. The resort is a little dated, but since the design is a classic hacienda style, that doesn't really matter. We are very pleased overall with our stay,particularly for the room upgrade that we were given without prompting. We recommend this place for couples and people who are not that interested in the craziest raving parties that are to be found at many of the resorts, or cramped kids programs with lots of noise. We were very grateful for the amenities without the crowds, noise and drunk American tourists.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Cris: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you. Our resorts are built with relaxation in mind and we always aim to offer a relaxed experience taking care of your good rest without noise or any annoyance. We're glad to learn you enjoyed this relaxation. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted May 23, 2017
We stayed for a week with kids ages 5 and 8. We never left the resort. The pools were large and warm and the beach was incredible. Always could find a hut on the beach and the kids loved playing in the waves. The service was amazing and food was definitely better than all the other all inclusive places I have stayed. We stayed in a renovated room which was spacious with a huge balcony. The only complaint would be the mattress...it was very hard! Overall, I highly recommend staying here!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're delighted to see that your time spent with us was a great experience. We appreciate your recommendation to the Expedia community and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beach Park, IL

close to beach.

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: It had 2 pools which was nice; one was quiet the other was not so quiet
Cons: The resort need activities during the day & entertainment at night besides being in the bar
Location: we didn't do anything outside the resort
Only 1 restaurant to eat at in the resort. No daily or nightly activities. This is a time share resort so we had to change rooms. I would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Brian, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Sands. We're happy to see that you liked our privileged location in front of the Mexican Caribbean and enjoyed some time in the pools. We're sorry if we failed to communicate during your stay about the different daily activities available at the resort or the restaurants and pool bars within our facilities, as well as the options of the off-site restaurants that you can take advantage too. We're sharing your comments with the appropriate departments in order to find ways to improve our service. We hope that you give us the opportunity to host you again in the future and change your mind about vacationing with us. Best Regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Clean, A/C & Hot water worked in both rooms

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Beach was nice with good waves to body surf in.
Cons: entertainment and some of the staff.
Location: centrally located with lots of stuff around.
As the title states, rooms were very clean, A/C and hot water worked in BOTH rooms. This hotel has a strange policy of ejecting everyone out of their room and into another room on Saturdays. Very inconvenient and a pain in the buns. Even the gift shop closes from 11AM until 2-3 pm because no one has a room key that works and you have to charge everything to your room. Staff- Some were great, some not so friendly. Front desk (who you would think should be great) were what I would consider middle of the road on friendliness and helpful. Had a couple of pool bartenders that seemed to expect big tips. That being said there were a couple that were great. Also, the bartender in the sports bar is the best. Only contact with maid service was a friendly one giving us better directions to our room than the front desk did. She was very helpful and walked us right to our room. Never saw our room maids but room was always tidy, bed turned down and clean. If you are looking for nightlife, this probably isn't your place. Karaoke only on Tuesdays ( didn't stay on a Tuesday). other than that I saw some old(er) people playing bingo. The hotel is close ($10 cab ride) to all the bars and disco's down town. Restaurants- lacking but we were fed well. The one reservation restaurant on premises is nice and the food was good. Always an "up charge" for steak or better food but the all inclusive food was still good. The other restaurant that is open from 7am- 10or 11 and is good
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Jason, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. We’re happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a great location to make the most out of your vacation. We always strive to give our guests the best location, value, amenities and service. We appreciate you letting us know about the aspects of your stay that didn't live up to your expectations. We are constantly working to improve the experience of our guests, and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards.