Ratings based on 1,935 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bonners Ferry, ID

Amazing view, clean pool and beach

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Will stay again, the experience was wonderful.Staff patient, helpful and friendly. Hotel plain but neat and clean. Food really good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Beautiful hotel, beachfront, ocean view balcony

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Beautiful. Clean. friendly staff.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: Nice location. Bus stops right in front of hotel to take you anywhere!
We loved every minute of it. Open bar stopped at 1030 pm which made for less partiers keeping you up at night, but room service available all night with drinks and food. On a few nights they did have entertainment until 12 am which was fun; We like to go out too. We would definitely go back again and feel comfortable telling our friends; actually insist our friends go there! Everyone working there was very nice and helpful. No kids without their parents; no a spring breaker hotel. We did do the time share thing; lasted 2 hours for us, but they were good too. Several restaurants off site but they did have shuttle service to their restaurants. The restaurants were fabulous and worth the short drives. On site restaurants amazing too. Food phenomenal! Beautiful location. Beach soft powdery sand. No bugs anywhere! We didn't feel like we were ever hounded to buy anything even with the limited vendors they allowed on site. Felt safe in the area.This is a top notch all inclusive! Our favorite place by far. Treated like royalty for 1 week at the Royal Sands and Spa! Awesome!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

All inclusive???

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Clean. Beautiful pools and beach. Mexican restaurant on site was wonderful!
Cons: Straighten out the tipping policy, especially for all inclusive guests.
Nice place. Beautiful grounds. However, all inclusive used to mean, you know, all inclusive (including tips per website)! It's very obvious that staff expects 15-20% tips even though the much higher prices to book include tip money. Couple this with the fact that most guests do not choose the all inclusive option and DO pay full tips, who do you think the staff is going to cater to??? Concierge took 5 minutes to walk us to our room (we didn't ask), gave him $5, he said he made dinner reservations for us...didn't, he'd arrange for double beds to be put together, didn't. He'd have chairs brought to our balcony, nope. Guess a $5 tip for 5 minutes of his time wasn't enough to keep his word. Twice housekeeper didn't leave clean bath towels, when we called for some, guess what, person bringing them wanted a tip! Plenty more examples too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We had an amazing vacation! The beds were soft/pillows. Towels felt amazing too. The staff was awesome and very helpful. This was the best resort we have stayed at. No complaints! We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL

very nice hotel and resort.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: great clean outstanding hotel.
Cons: there could be always more improvement but for the price I paid I can't complaint much.
Location: it's in a heart of hotels district basically many shopping malls great restaurants lot's of activity's within 15 minutes Walking distance.
it's a great place to get relax & enjoy the beautiful beach resort with the great food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great property...terrible SALES pressure!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Royal Sands is a tremendous property...great condition, kept spotless, tremendous service staff. The one downside is the constant pressure to sell timeshares. For example, had a meeting with our "VIP Concierge"...she told us about all the things to do and how they provided discounted pricing...as long as we attended a sales presentation (she didn't call it that!)...no attendance...no discount. Once I made it clear that we were on vacation, we weren't going to buy a timeshare, and we weren't going to waste any of our vacation time attending sales presentations, we suddenly no longer had a VIP Concierge. Another example...I tried making dinner reservation one day for the next day...I was told only owners could make reservations ahead of time...all others were "day of" only...but that if we would attend a presentation, we would be able to make reservations for the entire week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon, IN

Even better than expected

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The view, the beach, the pool and the food were all wonderful. All the staff (ALL of them) were helpful and friendly.
Cons: Monitor the beach chairs and remove the towels that "hold" them when no one shows up in excess of two hours. We watched chairs sit vacant over 6 hrs.
Location: Perfect location being midway along the hotel zone allows access to many shops and restaurants within walking distance.
We spent a week here with the all-inclusive package. The food within the resort was good while the reservations required restaurants available at all the Royal resorts was 5 star quality. This was a stress free, relaxing in the sun perfect getaway for us. If you want to try an excursion, there are many to choose from at great prices through the Thomas More Travel agency located inside the resort. There's so much to do, we ran out of time to try out the Spa, but it sure looked great. Maybe next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pools

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Huge pools and pool decks Pool bars that served food Fantastic staff Large clean rooms
Cons: Only one real restaurant on the property. Most all inclusives have had several to choose from
Good hotel, almost great Huge pools and pool decks Pool bars that served food Fantastic staff Large clean rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Clean hotel, great food choices and a great pick

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We had an amazing time again! Make your dinner reservations early in the am, and put your towels on a pool or beach chair by 8am. This is a great hotel for the money and very clean. The atmosphere is laid back but be wary of time share presentations. I have been to Cancun many times and this is a great resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Will definitely come again!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Restaurants were great! Everyone was very friendly and helpful! The grounds were immaculately clean!
Cons: My husband and I ordered 40 drinks throughout the day and neither one of us felt the affects of the alcohol at all! So please, make stronger drinks!
Location: Great location, middle of the hotel zone! Best beach access!
This hotel was exceptionally clean and well taken care of. We had housekeeping stop by a couple times a day with fresh towels and to restock the mini fridge. The pools were amazing! The beach is absolutely beautiful!