Ratings based on 1,455 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Vacation

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Cons: The food all taste the same not alot of variety.
Location: Went off the site and felt very safe.
What a wonderful place to spend a week in cold February.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Beautiful resort right on the beach.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and the fact the resort was right on the beach.
Cons: When something is left in a room and the guests are still at the hotel (but in a different room), please reach out to them.
Location: We walked to a cigar bar right down the road, which was nice.
Before booking our trip, I read the reviews online and they are pretty accurate. We knew it was not your typical "party" type of resort. It is more laid back, relaxing and very clean. We also knew it was a time share resort which meant we would need to change rooms on Saturday night. Knowing this up front, we were not bothered by this. I wish the small bar had more activities (one man band, karaoke, etc...) at least on Friday or Saturday nights. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff was nice. We had one staff that was less than accommodating when we went to check out. We had left our phone charger in the first room where we stayed. They assured us they had our phone charger. However, upon check-out they could not get into the housekeeping area to get the phone charger. We checked out at 8:50 am. When we called at 7:30to make arrangements to pick it up, she didn't think there would be a problem. When we went down to get it, she told us housekeeping had not come to work yet and to check back at 8, which we did. They still could not get access to us and told us to check back at 8:30 (still no access) and again at 9:00. At 8:50, we had to leave to catch our flight. She was not apologetic and could have cared less. Other than this one person, we had great service. The food was typical buffet type food - not excellent but good. My husband and I were by far one of the youngest couples at this resort. Most couples are retired and time share owners.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wa state

Not a 4 stars.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Staff was a great. Special thank you to the staff from LaVeranda buffet and Char Hut pool bar. Beach was very pretty and clean.
Cons: Rooms in the hotel really needs remodeling. Glass door in the tub would looks much better. Buffet needs new menu. Food was hardly warm.
Location: There is not much to do nearby. Very good experience at Xcaret park. Beautiful and interesting place. Would not go again to Isla Mujeres.
This is a time share resort. No evening entertainment at all. On the expedia site it was advertised like " eveving entertainment including in your packet." Very disappointed with restaurants. Limited food options. Food was cold in the buffet. Every day to get a towel for a beach you have to provide your room card. I have been lectured for returning towels in the wrong location. Mini bar in the room included 2 cans of cheapest bear, one can of fanta and cola. We have to call room service every day to ask for bottled water. We never knew what time a day they will be cleaning room. One day it was early morning and another day we back around 4pm and had to wait in the hallway for 40 min because they are just start cleaning. Few words about staff. Extremely nice and hard working people. Went above and beyond to make our stay very pleasant. View from our balcony was breathtaking though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Beautiful resort

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Rooms, restaurants, pool, beach, gym, staff.
Cons: Stock in room bar more frequently.
Location: Love the location. I am an avid cigar smoker and this resort is a 15 minute walk to the La Casa del Habano, which is the premier Cuban cigar shop.
This hotel far exceeded our expectations. It was beautiful and well equipped. The food was great. The gym was well equipped and well kept. The grounds were beautiful. The staff was very helpful. The pool was great and the beach was beautiful and wide. I have nothing bad to say about this resort. It is top notch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Overland Park, KS

Beautiful beachfront resort!

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable room, beautiful view, staff was top notch.
Cons: Notifying guests about property activities and maybe including a couple of more things to do at night. It pretty much shut down about 6 pm.
Location: Very convenient location from the airport. There is a small shopping mall just a couple of blocks away. You can ride the busses downtown ...
This property is very nice if you are looking for a quiet getaway. The beach is white powder, and in very good condition (little seaweed). Our view was directly beachfront, so we saw and heard the waves 24/7 ... which was very relaxing. The staff does everything they can to ensure your comfort, even having twice daily maid service. The food was good in the buffet. If you are looking for a place with nightlife, this is not for you. There were many older guests and several families with young children (0-5). No teenagers or young adults, so don't bring your teenagers here. In fact, the Royal Sands publishes that they do not want spring breakers and if you are coming to Cancun to party, stay elsewhere. Yes! We had just a couple of minor inconveniences. We were not contacted by the concierge until the day before we left and we did not receive any information about the activities at the Royal Sands until we asked the concierge on duty on day 3 of our stay. So, we missed out on some things we would have liked to do. Also, we had a poor experience with Thomas More transportation on the day of our departure ... they drove through the front of the Royal Sands and didn't stop to pick us up! So, we had to scramble for other transportation to get to the airport. But, overall, it was exactly what we wanted ... a quiet and relaxing getaway with perfect weather and lots of sand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great resort, ocean view great

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Great location, great service.
Cons: They could use a service elevator for staff with their carts. Felt bad that they had to wait for elevators.
Staff very, very helpful and kind, and went out of their way to make us comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Excellence!!

Posted Feb 4, 2016
This resort is exceptional in every way you can think of. The staff is friendly and helpful, they make you feel like family. It is very clean. The food is wonderful. The beach is awesome. I can't say one bad thing about this place. We have been here three years in a row and have never had to change rooms mid stay (I know some have this concern, but they will make every effort to see that you don't have to change rooms). I would recommend this resort to everyone planning a vacation in Cancun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Excellent facility, beautiful beach and pool area.

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: see above.
Cons: Limited restaurant facility at the resort. Lots of options available but need to take a bus to get to them.
Location: We mostly just enjoyed the beach and pool area during the day. Had visited before and had taken some of the excursions, etc.
We had a wonderful week at this resort. The facilities, beach, pools, and restaurant were excellent. Small inconvenience results from having to take a bus that is included as part of the all inclusive package to enjoy restaurants at the other resorts. Also, the elevator was out of service for the better part of three days during our visit. It seems that would have been more of a priority to get fixed right away. We were a little disappointed in that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Very clean and comfortable
Location: very good
Great place to stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. All star....Wonderful and caring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester ny

Nice comfortable hotel on beautiful beach

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Very nice hotel, great staff, quiet, not good for drunk kids, great for anyone else. Get drunk some were else. Not really designed for partiers! No dance club and stop serving at 11. Awesome for triatheletes lap pool, awesome workout facilities and beautiful beach. All treadmills worked and two spin bikes. Complete lifefitness workout facilties. Food very healthy options and fresh fish at any restaurant. Xelha excursion a must...take excursion...all included...towels,lockers,food,drinkand snorkel gear, even super clean showers before leave. Tip for families:photo package great! Wish my kids were there. Zip lining included into water great. Ledge jumps from twenty feet into beautiful water and amazing views. Food and drinks were super. Wish they didn't havee dolphins just personal opinion. Would definitely go back Great week for quiet vacation...good hotel for early riser and early to bed.