Ratings based on 682 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: facilities are overall very nice nice pools and beachfront
we were told at check in that we would have an upgraded room room with ocean view which we did not get. Also basic necessities in our room were scarce and had to be requested numerous times. breakfast buffet is very pricey for a small variety of foods and foods that were available were not very tasty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Terrible attitude to visitors, poisoned their food, poor rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Israel

Prestigious but expensive

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros The hotel is very pretty, luxurious, prestigious. You have a few pleasing swimming pools, and a great indulging hot tub. The rooms are very clean and the bed is very comfortable. The hotel offers a private beach, which we found to be very clean and quiet. Cons - Wifi costs 10$ per day. Should be free!! - If you don't have all inclusive, the restaurants will suck every dollar that you have. They charge you 12.5% tip (and not 10%) and they also charge 20% taxes and more weird taxes, which makes a "cheap" dish expensive. - The hotel is far from the city center, and if you want nightlife, you'll have to take an expensive taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Mayan: Your review and comments are greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you found our property to be gorgeous and your room to be clean and comfortable. It is disappointing to learn that our restaurants did not "wow" you. That is our goal! We do appreciate your input as we are 100 percent committed to delivering excellence and every impression is valid and presents us with a training opportunity or an opportunity to transform "good" to "excellent". As the numerous other reviews reflect; our commitment to excellence is unwavering. We hope to have you join us again in the future. It would be our pleasure! Sincerely yours, G. Uribe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from raleigh, nc

Nice all-inclusive hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: All- inclusive. Cleanliness. Great waitstaff.
Cons: Guest services- our room did not have a room service menu so we called guest services/lobby and requested one. They said they were out. We said that
Location: Was unacceptable and they said they would try and find an empty room- never brought us one. We called room service and they appeared w a menu in 5min!
Hotel staff was great for the most part. We never left the resort since we were only there 4 nights. Had we been there longer we probably would have. Drinks were great and food was good for the most part. I'm not sure we would stay there again but would refer it to anyone looking for a nice quiet getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guests: Thank you very much for sharing the difficulty you had in getting a room service menu when you called our front desk. Your experience should have been an immediate delivery the first time. That is our service commitment! Your many kind words and recommendation to others are much appreciated. We would love to have you return. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Sincerely yours, G. Uribe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel away from the crowd.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: The pools were the best!!! And WOW, the Japanese restaurant was so look good.
Cons: The buffet needs more variety. The kids club needs activities for kids over 5.
Location: It's very secluded.
We loved it here. The pools were perfect for our kids ages 7 and 10.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guests: Thank you so kindly for your excellent review and generous praise. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed an excellent vacation with us. Reviews such as yours are our greatest reward for our efforts. Our cuisine is constantly under review as we have independent culinary teams in each specialty restaurant. We will share your praise as well as your suggestion. Both are much appreciated and invaluable. We look forward to your return to "su casa" in Cancun. It will be our pleasure to serve you again! Warm regards, G. Uribe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice Hotel...beach and activities close by.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Quiet, out of the busy city
Restaurant food was great! I would recommend the European package.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Neena: Thank you so kindly for your great review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed an excellent vacation with us and are honored by your recommendation to other travelers. We look forward to your return to "su casa" in Cancun. It will be our pleasure to serve you again! Warm regards, G. Uribe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Location

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Hotel was really nice. Only think that bothered me was staff only spoke spanish and they charge for wifi that doesnt work. Food is good in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: We are so pleased that you found our hotel to be really nice. We do hope that you reported to the front desk or a manager that you were having difficulty with your WiFi. We are committed to 100% guest satisfaction. It is very disheartening to read that your impression was that no one spoke any English. While it is true; that many of our staff are in the process of learning English as their second language; one of our requirements for any of our colleagues that work in a position where they are providing guest service which requires a lot of communication, is that they are able to communicate in English. The accent can sometimes make the spoken English sound a bit different than from someone from another region. Admittedly, there are some words or phrases or verb tenses that may not be completely accurate but I can assure you that our colleagues work very hard to learn this second language and are dedicated to constant improvement. Your words inspire us to continue working to improve in this area. We thank you for the time and for choosing us as your vacation destination. It would please us greatly to serve you again. Warm regards, G. Uribe
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa, CA

This is a time share scam, not a resort

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Leaving. And at least we went to Isla Mujeres for fun.
Cons: Everything.
This place is all about time shares. It completely lacks the feel or personality of a resort. As you as we entered the lobby I was disappointed. You can tell this place is all about looking good in pictures, but there is zero effort put into the 'feel' of the place. The restaurants have long lines and even if you have the 'all-inclusive' package, there are upcharges for everything. Plus you have to wait for a bill for everything transaction- no matter what. That defeats the convenience of an all-inclusive. The pools and hot tubs are cold, and the beach is tiny. Going to Isla Mujeres is great- but the ferry that's right next to the hotel is the junky slow car ferry. This one is terrible. Go to the fast one, it's modern clean and 100% better. If you have a future reservation at this place- trust me you will want to cancel and book something else. It's terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. David: Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay at Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa. We are very sorry we were not able to satisfy your expectations and your vacation experience was not the success we would have liked you to enjoy. We have taken note of the issues encountered and will be working very hard on taking the necessary corrective actions in order to prevent them from happening again in the future. Once again thank you, your comments are very important to us and we hope to have the opportunity to demonstrate it to you in a return visit. We do hope that anyone thinking of booking elsewhere will take the time to read the many many reviews that have been written recently and are a much truer reflections of our unwavering desire to deliver excellence in all we do. Our colleagues are the heart and soul of our teams and their efforts and passion for service are as unique and wonderful as our well maintained, very clean and spacious and well decorated rooms. Our pictures are an accurate reflection. We believe it is essential to maintain transparency and deliver what our valued guests have come here expecting. Warm regards, G. Uribe
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Expensive 4 stars Hotel.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
The beaches in the Cancun area are beautiful not depending from the hotel. Likewise the personnel are so tough to speak, they are not giving a real quality service, they just look for your tip! I was with the "Do not disturb" sign in the door (red card inside of the key reader) and they knock around 8am. So I ask for come later, and he took the red card and he opens the door and I was totally sleepy. The worst thing is he never say I'm sorry, he took the red card from the key reader and opens any ways. Front desk knows everything about it and they just said, We apologize, sorry and sorry! It's common as far I could appreciate. As well, they don't give ANY kind of payment receipt, they said Expedia should send me everything to me. But I was asking just for a room balance to be legal. It seems some illegal things occurs behind the front desk because they were looking each others like "omg, he wants a receipt" The food in the breakfast it's a normal 4 star quality. No much to say about it. The room was plenty good and comfortable. I say 3.8 stars !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel to stay at!!

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Everythinng! Period!!
Cons: Please bring the breakfast back to the Zamba restaurant.
Location: I like heading over to Isla Mujeres.
I loved the spa. Everyone throughout the hotel was so helpful, kind, pleasant and happy. What a great place to relax and get away from all the stress of modern day life. I cant wait to go back..... On another note; I would love to see the breakfast come back to the Zamba restaurant. Keep the "buffet" in the other restaurant. I was disappointed when I could not eat outside and have a glass of champagne with my girl while sitting outside early in the morning. I love the open air "vibe" at the Zamba rest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are delighted that we delivered the vacation you were seeking and most definitely look forward to your return to "su casa" in Cancun. Your request for breakfast to be served again in Zama will be shared. You may rest assured that we are always seeking new ways to delight our guests and provide an excellent vacation. We welcome any and all suggestions. Thank you again! Warm regards from beautiful Cancun, G. Uribe