Ratings based on 782 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Everything is good. The view, food, facilities are all wonderful, but the location is far from hotel zone and the transportation to there only can take taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: We appreciate your review. We realize that we are a distance from being in the crux of the hotel zone. We do have entertainment that we provide on site and there are many additional options for local travel and excursions during your stay. It would be our pleasure to assist you in making your next stay filled with all of the activities you desire while you are visiting Cancun. We hope to have you return to beautiful Cancun soon. Kind regards, G. Uribe
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great time on vacation.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: -Beautiful hotel, lush greenery, very nice staff, great heated pools and hot-tubs, CLEAN rooms, excellent food.
Cons: -Beach is slightly disappointing but tolerable-- very rocky and lots of seaweed that does not get cleaned up and can get kind of gross.
Location: Location is away from hotel zone/downtown. You can book many trips through the concierge service, and they pick you up on site.
Overall we had a great stay. The staff was very responsive and friendly. Some reviewers said that they felt like they were expected to leave additional tips for the all-inclusive option--in our case, while the option to leave additional tips was always there, the staff EMPHASIZED that it was OPTIONAL, and only if we felt like the staff deserved additional gratuities. Also, while the option to sit through the time share presentation was offered to us, in exchange for a VIP card with discounts on trips and various other things, it was also made clear to us that it was optional. We chose not to take it, especially since our trips were already booked. It is my understanding that the presentation does take more than 90 minutes (from what another person staying at the hotel said--for him, it took over 4 hours), but while the presenters did use hard selling tactics, they were not verbally abusive, at least to him. The location is further away from the main hotel zone. We actually liked that, but if you're into nightlife and clubbing, you will not find that here. Neither will you find the "typical" Cancun beach. What you will find, however, is the lush greenery that makes this resort very unique--from what I saw, the hotels in the hotel zone are giant buildings with maybe a few palm trees and a pool--not at all what Villas del Palmar offers. Note: They are constructing a new area , and construction work starts early, about 6 AM. Hotel is NOT soundproof--can hear EVERYTHING.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond VA

Five Star Treatment

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Staff, Room, Food & Spa
Cons: The speed we receive our food and drinks could be improved upon, as no one ever seemed to be in a rush at the resort. The beach wasn't the greatest.
Location: n/a
The Villa de Palmar is a beautiful resort. The food was excellent regardless of the restaurant we dined in. The spa was phenomenal. When we were finally upgraded to a nice suite (after being assigned to rooms on the lower floors), we were very pleased. However, we quickly learned that members of the time share received many more perks & VIP treatment after we purchased the timeshare. I didn't particularly like this. I prefer all customers be treated the same. That said, my husband and I like the resort enough to invest so that says alot. Also, overall, the staff was wonderful! You could visibly tell they enjoyed working at the resort, as they were smiling and laughing even when they thought no one was watching.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Kimberly Our Valued Guest: We appreciate you choosing us as your vacation destination and are delighted with your excellent review. Your gracious praise of our colleagues will be shared with them. They are the heart and soul of Villa del Palmar Cancun. We look forward to having you return to "su casa". and are honored to have earned your trust and look forward to seeing you many times in the future. It will our pleasure to welcome you back and provide you with many excellent and memorable vacations. Kind regards G. Uribe
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Food was awful . Rooms and facilities are worn out and not to clean .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: We are disappointed that your review does not reflect the excellent vacation we are committed to having every guest enjoy. I apologize for the areas were we missed the opportunity to do just that. We are very proud to offer an exceptionally clean and well maintained property to our guests. It is deeply disappointing to read that you experience was so poor. I would like to take a moment to inform you and every reader that we care deeply about guest satisfaction. While we acknowledge we are not perfect, we would like the readers of this forum to know that we have a 100% pledge to quality service and product. If we, for any reason fail on our mission; we request bringing it to our attention immediately. We have a system of customer care that includes a direct contact with our general manager by simply dialing 0. This would also include sharing any incident that deters from the excellence of your stay. You may rest assured that we always appreciate and follow up on any training opportunities. Our expectations and training are a reflection of our commitment to each of our colleagues performing at his/her highest potential. Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you, we will continue to work hard to improve our offer, service and products. We are committed to only amazing experiences. Sincerely, G. Uribe
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good hotel, bad service

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Hotel and Room/Lobby decorations, Cleanliness.
Cons: Service/People working at the hotel
Location: There is nothing to do nearby, You would need to drive about 10-20 minutes away to find something to do. Only thing to do at night is have dinner and
The hotel is beautiful, decorations and view is amazing. But most of the people were not welcoming. Hotel is very expensive for the quality of the overall service. We payed $120 U.S dollars for buffet style breakfast for 4 people. The prices are not worth the stay at this hotel. The beach has sting rays... not because they are a part of an excursion, but because they are brought to their shores by the ways and sea currents. The beach is dangerous and personally not appealing. The pool area is beautiful but I wouldn't consider this hotel for a family event, its not convenient, neither is Cancun overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guests: Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share what you enjoyed; as well as areas that did not deliver the excellence you anticipated and deserved. While we acknowledge we are not perfect, we would like the readers of this forum to know that we have a 100% pledge to quality service and product. If we for any reason fail on our mission we request bringing it to our attention, we have a system of customer care that includes a direct contact with our General Manager by simply dialing 0. We always appreciate any training opportunities and you may rest assured that our resolve is unwavering. Therefore, thank you for your detailed comments. We hope to have you return to Cancun one day in the future. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Sincerely yours, G. Uribe
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort worth

Great food and staff

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Wonderful experience for a vacation. Highly recommend for couples or families.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: We are delighted to know that you enjoyed an excellent vacation. We are honored to have earned your trust and thank you for your recommendation to others. We look forward to your return to "su casa" in Cancun. Serving you again would be our greatest pleasure. Kind regards, G Uribe
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Very nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Apr 19, 2016
This was our second time staying here and will continue to book here. Hotel is always clean and in great condition plenty of pools to relax in and it's right on the beach and away from the big crowds. Room service and restraunts have great food also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guests: We are thrilled to know you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your second visit. We are honored to be "su casa" in Cancun. We feel proud and confident that we have the best selection of restaurants and food available. Each of our restaurants are headed up with a very well trained and highly experienced Executive Chef. They, along with their culinary teams; daily bring their enthusiasm, talent, dedication and creativity together, to create dining experiences that will delight our guests. It will rejuvenate their spirits to read your review and your generous praise of each of our restaurants and room service. We look forward to your return. Kind regards, G. Uribe
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Apr 17, 2016
This is a great resort. We have stayed here 2 times. We love it. Great staff,resturants,bars and entertainment. It's about a 20 min from downtown which is nice. Not to crowded. I love it here and can't wait to go back. They treat you like royalty here!! Give it a chance you want be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valuable Guests: We are delighted to receive your review and know we delivered the excellence you came here expecting. Nothing pleases us more! The over 700 professionals working at Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa are ready and willing to provide world class hospitality.Our expectations are that every one of our associates takes personal ownership of our guests’ wants and needs. Thank you again for your generous recognition and recommendation. We are honored to be su casa in Cancun. Warm regards, G. Uribe
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is beautiful, but moldy and staff ignored me

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Dinner took an hour to get in a sushi place. There was a roll of half used toilet paper in the stairwell for two days. On the beach the waiter asked everyone around me for three hours what they wanted and just ignored me. Rooms are beautifully appointed and the terrace was huge but the room was moldy so I awoke with a clogged head daily. I switched hotels to Secrets Playa Mujeres. It was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: We sincerely apologize for the areas where the service you received was not in line with our service vision or commitment to delivering excellence. I totally understand your frustration. It seems to me that you anticipated an excellent stay with us and we should have provided you with exactly that. Our goal is to provide world class hospitality​ and​ service​. Y​our detailed feed back will help us with our commitment to do just that. You may rest assured that we read each and every review and embrace every opportunity presented as an opportunity to improve for all future guests. The over 700 professionals working at Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa are ready and willing to provide world class hospitality.Our expectations are that every one of our associates takes personal ownership of our guests’ wants and needs. What you described in the areas we fell short is not consistent with our service vision or our commitment to make every vacation a memorable one. I want to use this opportunity to inform you and every other reader; the hotel manager is always available, day and night, regardless of the issue. The hotel has a system of having an MOD which cover 7 AM to 11 PM, with a night manager available from 11 PM to 7 AM. Our General Manager is a phone call away from any guest, who by a phone call to the Operator may request he be called. We encourage you to do just that. I can assure you that you will receive a response. There is nothing more important to us than to transform a negative experience into a positive experience. We hope to have you return one day in the future but wish you the best in all of your travels. Warm regards, G. Uribe
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Gorgeous resort with some issues

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Beautiful pools, towels readily available, housekeeping was wonderful. Overall the staff at the pools and restaurants were beyond kind.
Cons: Front desk wait time Breakfast buffet needs to be more reasonably priced. Or other options for breakfast. Spa services were overpriced
Location: North of Cancun, this resort is in a remote area, but steps from the "work" ferry to Isla La Mujeres. If you like remote, this works great.
Check in and front desk - ridiculously long experience not a great way to start our stay. If you had a question about your room card key, you had to stand in line at the front desk! UGH! Check out, same thing - really? On the last day, we needed a check out pass to leave the resort? Hmmmm, why? They had our credit card, but we had to suffer the long line - no kidding another 15 minute wait. Further, we filled out a survey about how bad the check-in experience was and they replied (the manager) would contact me during my stay to get more feedback. That never happened - I was there 6 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Deb: We are very pleased that you enjoyed an excellent vacation with us. Thank you for taking the time to recognize the areas that contributed to the excellence of your vacation. We are disappointed that your check in and check out process did not meet the standard of excellence that we are committed to delivering and that we fell short on an opportunity to contact you and correct that. Our goal is to provide world class hospitality​ and​ service​. Y​our detailed feed back will help us with our commitment to do just that. You may rest assured that we read each and every review and embrace every opportunity presented as an opportunity to improve for all future guests. Thank you for your sharing both the areas where we fell short; and also for sharing the areas where we met your expectations. The over 700 professionals working at Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa are ready and willing to provide world class hospitality. Our expectations are that every one of our associates takes personal ownership of our guests’ wants and needs. What you described in the areas we fell short is not consistent with our service vision or our commitment to make every vacation a memorable one. I want to use this opportunity to inform you and every other reader; the hotel manager is always available, day and night, regardless of the issue. Our General Manager is a phone call away from any guest, who by a phone call to the Operator may be reached. We encourage you to do just that. I can assure you that you will receive a response. There is nothing more important to us than to transform a negative experience into a positive experience. Lastly, we would be honored to be "su casa" in Cancun. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Kind regards, G. Uribe