Ratings based on 844 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

all inclusive is not all inclusive

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: the food was really good- though they could have changed up the breakfast items at the buffet restaurant as it was the same every day!!!
Cons: FREE INTERNET...why am I paying all this extra money and cant get free internet. And then they charge you per person, per device per day!
I booked this hotel for my girlfriends get away and I booked it as it had 2 adjoining suites with 2 queen size beds in each suite. That was not what I got...I got 1 king in each suite and a trundle bed. While they stated that I could request 2 queens for each suite they said that it was a request and that none of the rooms allow 2 double beds in each suite. Well then don't allow the customer to make a request. At dinner at some of the restaurants their was a notation that certain food items were not included in the all inclusive and that it would be an extra charge. So I paid all inclusive for basic stuff. The video in the room states the hotel offers free shuttle to the shopping district...however when you get to the lobby and the print out they give you it states that its 5 dollars. When we made the mistake to say we thought it was free a bellman got very hot with us yelling "who told you that" then speaking under his breath in Spanish! Not good customer service at all! I will say to accommodate the mix-up in the room we were offered to be moved the next day to a room that had 2 double beds in 1 room and 1 king in the other with the trundle bed. When I explained to the hostess at that point it would be a big inconvenience to now move as at that point we had settled in and had stuff everywhere...no sympathy or compensation was offered to us other than maybe moving into the room sooner. When I asked for the option of possibly free internet in the room- answer yes for 24hs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your detailed review. We are extremely disappointed to receive only three stars as that is a fail for our colleagues that are committed to serving you so well. We are a luxury resort and remain committed to excellence always. We appreciate you taking the time to share all of your thoughts. Every review is read and we utilize the points made for training purposes. Kind regards, G.Uribe
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Muy Bonito hotel, Elegante

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: El hotel es muy confortable Pero los precios de los Restaurantes son excesivamente altos.
Cons: Precios mas axcesibles en los Restaurantes.
Location: magnificas
Muy Agradable estancia y sobre todo muy atento personal, Especialmente Personal de Limpieza, Meseros, Botones, personal de starboks y personal de gerencia de paceos .estoy muy satisfecha con la Compania de "Expedia" por haberme ayudado a obtener my instancia en el hotel , ya que por medio de la" Membresía de Villa Del Arco Constructora de Los Arcos Cabo,S A de C V. "Time chere" No me pudo ayudar a reservar en el hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Communications Manager, Hotel Management
Estimado huesped: En nombre de todos los colaboradores de Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa , queremos darle las gracias por los comentarios que hizo hacia nuestro hotel. Nos sentimos honrados y súper contentos al saber que hemos sido capaces de contribuir al bienestar y disfrute de sus bien merecidas vacaciones. Sus amables palabras nos sirven de inspiración y energía renovada para luchar y ser mejores cada día . Muchas gracias y no podemos esperar para tenerte de vuelta en "su casa" Villa del Palmar Hotel & Spa. Le esperamos pronto de regreso Saludos cordials Atentamente, Gabriela U. Galicia Communications Manager Villa del Palmar Resort & Spa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from exmore va

Good and Bad

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: food was good at all restaurants
Cons: wifi
Location: nothing nearby, just easy to get taxi, about 30 minutes from downtown
There was good and bad about this resort. The bad: wifi even when pay for it does not work - had to have IT come daily, pool temperature is hot, the time share feel was unexpected, the beach is rocky and there are no fish for snorkeling, under 18 can not paddleboard even with adult depsite the picture ads, the bathroom has no AC and is hot when take shower, patio door so hard to open could not really use. Beach huge disappointment as was the wfi for my teenager. The good: Big pools, friendly staff, clean and pretty resort, no party atmosphere, good for kids
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear MLH, Thank you for your review and for your recognition of our spacious pools, and our clean and beautiful resort that is a quality place for families. We also appreciate your mention of our colleagues being so friendly. We are very proud of them and their dedication to our guests enjoying excellent vacations with us. We also welcome opportunities to improve and appreciate the suggestions that are shared. We have an Manager On Duty stationed in our lobby area now to ensure our guests have prompt and easy access to share any concern or question; to ensure you find quick resolutions. We hope to have you return soon and we wish you all the best in your travels. Warmest regards, G. Uribe
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great hotel for family vacations

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Did not realize it was a "timeshare" hotel and the minute you walk in they try to invite you to a "free" breakfast and a sales presentation to hear about their timeshare opportunities. Beautiful property, basic rooms are nice, modern and clean. Food is great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guests, Thank you for your review and your recognition of our beautiful property, great food, and modern and clean guest accommodations. Many of our guest have made us their vacation home and are delighted to return often. We are fortunate to have that option for our guests and the many beautiful amenities that are available at our resort. We look forward to your return and hope to be 'su casa' in Cancun for the comfort, quality, and cleanliness that you can count on. Sincerely, G. Uribe
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Hiroshi restaurant has amazing sushi. Lobby bar employees were very friendly.
Cons: All around customer service. Restaurants should stay open later.
Location: There was beach access but the water was disgusting. Very dirty and a lot of seaweed. Very far from downtown area about a 30 minute taxi drive.
My experience at this hotel was far from great. My husband and I stayed for one week. We stayed in the one bedroom suite which was actually really big and beautiful. However, we had to call in every day to get the room cleaned and new towels. No one ever came in for that. The all inclusive plan includes room service. We had to order room service almost every night for dinner because we were out doing activities and by the time the bus brought us back to the hotel all the restaurants were closed. No alcohol is included with the room service. So if we wanted to have some drinks we had to go to the lobby bar. Charlie at the lobby bar was absolutely fantastic. Customer service at the lobby bar was great which is the only reason why I am not giving this hotel all the lowest rating. This location is very far from the downtown area, it was about a 30 minute cab drive. My uncle lives in Cancun so luckily he was able to take us places. Although the first night he picked us up the hotel security refused to let me and my husband get into my uncles taxi. Apparently only certain taxis are allowed in certain areas. Security threatened to have me arrested if I got into my uncles taxi. After about 45 minutes of arguing with the hotel security and after the threats were made, finally we were able to get into MY uncles taxi. That situation could have been handled a lot differently. Rather than threaten us they could have explained it in a much different manner the rules of the taxi service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Marissa, We appreciate the time you spent writing your review. Your acknowledgment of Heroshi and our colleagues in the lobby bar will be shared and appreciated. We regret that we missed the mark of excellence that we strive for and appreciate you sharing the areas that present us with opportunities to train. You may rest assured that each item presented will have our attention and follow up. We wish you all the best in your travels. Sincerely, G. Uribe
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice Hotel and excellent service

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Excellent service and nice food.
The resort was great.We really enjoyed the resort. Our room was clean and nicely appointed. Food was good, and plentiful; excellent at the speciality restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful. The best thing was the people - everyone was friendly and no one made us feel uncomfortable in any way.It's big enough to find a quiet spot with your family but small enough to create that feeling of a week long party with really good friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. George, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to have eared your mark of excellence. We are honored to have served you so well. Our goal is to exceed every guests expectation. It is our pleasure to know when we succeed and also to be informed of areas where additional training is needed. You may rest assured that we read and follow up on all reviews. We hope to be 'su casa' in Cancun. Respectfully, G. Uribe
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dumfries, VA

Away from the hotel zone

Posted Jul 29, 2016
While away from the hotel zone, Villa del Palmar offered a peaceful and elegant vacation experience. I visit Cancan about 2x a year and I would feel safe staying alone at Villa del Palma. Good restaurants and great staff! Great place for singles, families and groups. You are welcomed as soon as you arrive and step in the lobby!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2016 by GG, Hotel Management
thank you so much for your review we look forward to your next vist
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with great staff

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Everyone there makes you feel so comfortable. The food was amazing, the place was so clean, and I could not have asked for a better experience. I have been there twice now and will return again next year!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: We are delighted to know that you have made us your vacation destination. It is an honor to know we have earned your trust. We will deliver the excellence you come here expecting. Our commitment to continuous improvement and training is unwavering. We are committed as well, to resolve any issue as quickly as it is brought to our attention. Your happiness is our pleasure! We are 'su casa' in Cancun. We look forward to your return. Kindest regards, G. Uribe
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Best Honey Moon Ever

Posted Jul 17, 2016
HAD THE BEST TIME HANGING OUT ON THE BEACH AND BY THE POOL. THE SPA WAS SO FANTASTIC I FELL ASLEEP AND WOKE UP FEELING GREAT. ME AND MY HUSBAND HAD A GREAT HONEYMOON!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Sam: We are honored to know that you and your husband enjoyed the best honeymoon ever with us. Our goal is to meet or exceed every expectation. Nothing pleases us more! We are 'su casa' in Cancun. We would be delighted to have you return each year to celebrate your anniversary. Our Village Spa would be a wonderful place to start with a couples massage. We look forward to your return. Warmest regards, G. Uribe
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Best vacation. Beautiful resort, helpful staff. Hard to beat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by G. Uribe, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Kris: We are delighted to receive your review and know that you enjoyed the best vacation ever. Nothing pleases us more! We are 'su casa' in Cancun. Please return soon. It would be our pleasure to deliver another excellent vacation. Kindest regards, G. Uribe