Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miramichi NB canada

Clean, basic, comfortable and great location

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: I liked the view, location, and price of this hotel.
Cons: Wifi only in lobby. Would be nice to get it in room.
Location: Great snorkelling right in front of hotel. Nice little breeze there too. Minutes from north beach, bar and restaurant next door. Minutes from downtown
Villa kiin was a great choice. Clean air conditioned with a great view. We had room 33 over looking the hammock garden and water. Beautiful sunrise views only a minute away. Breakfast included of coffee, juice and toast around the corner at beach restaurant. Clean towels everyday, no face clothes but no big deal we brought disposable wipes. Beach towels offered must get two days out of them. You can rent beach chairs and umbrella anywhere on beach from 180 Paco - 300 paco. More expensive chairs include drinks and food. Hotel is about 7 minute walk to down town street of great eating, shopping and bars. If looking for a reasonable priced no frills hotel this is it. I will gladly go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: the garden, the view, and the beach close by
Cons: cleaner tables outside in the garden, cleaner beach towels, some fruit and a few more choices of drink and toast for the continental breakfast.
Location: nice location, but very busie with locals on the weekends
Enjoyed every minute of it, the beach was nice and the water pretty, people were friendly. Vendors were not pushy even though there were many.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice and simple, low frills

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Cons: coffee in the rooms
Great spot on the beach. Simple place, clean and nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Wonderful view

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet service in rooms instead of having to go to the lounge or lobby.
Location: Easy walk to restaurants,, beach is just a few steps from your door
Great location with tropical breezes and beautiful blue water away from the tourist traffic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place. Highly recommend it.

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: The beach area
Location: It is close to everything you will want to do.
The staff were very helpful. The rooms were very clean. Beautiful beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Unbeatable Value

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: The hotel had all of the things we wanted in a hotel; clean room, clean towels, working air conditioner, good shower and good bed.
Location: Close to the beach and just a short walk to bars and restaurants.
We booked Isla Mujeres for the beach and bars. This hotel was close to both.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Impossible-to-beat Location for a Laid-Back Stay

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Location, quiet, beach access, easy walk to Hidalgo Street restaurants and shops, continental breakfast at Buho's (toast, coffee, juice)
Cons: Beach towels could be changed more often, ours were a little gross by the end of 7 days.
Location: Fenix Lounge for drinks/ceviche, Jardin Maya for Mayan food, Qubano for cuban sandwiches, Lola Valentina for breakfast,
Villa Kiin is not a resort. It doesn't have a ton of amenities -- but that's not what we were looking for. We were looking for a comfortable bed, AC, and beach access. To our pleasant surprise, it was so much more than that. The quiet east end of Playa Norte was right outside the back door -- you can wade out hundreds of feet and see tropical fish swimming around your feet. We fed them tortillas, and were absolutely SWARMED with colorful fish. We had a hammock on our balcony that overlooked the beach, and we were a quick walk from a seemingly endless selection of restaurants -- plus, you're across the street from cheap and delicious cocktails (try a caipirinha if you've never had one before) and unbelievably fresh ceviche at Fenix lounge. The hotel also does have a small slightly ramshackle kitchen, but it'll work fine for simple preparation. Wifi was only in the lounge, and a little unreliable, so that is a downside. Things were clean, but fair warning: They change your shower towels but NOT your beach towels. They do also provide a safe, a TV if you care about that kind of thing, and pure water is available from water coolers (they provide pitchers in the rooms). The AC units have a "dry" feature that just cuts the humidity without cooling the room -- I suggest using it liberally. All in all: It's not a resort, but if you just want a comfortable bed, a shady hammock, and an impossible to beat location on a quiet beach, it's impossible to beat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Location is number one. Hotel was fine. Do not spend much time inside in these situations. More time spent on beach
Cons: Privacy outside sitting areas
Location: DId not go anywhere except beach and Hildago to restaurants.
WE had a lovely time, weather gorgeous, hotel located in ideal spot, hotel well kept up, clean, everything worked. Only comment would be that the little sitting area in front of each unit had NO privacy. Would be nice to have lattice work with plants or some such divider. Otherwise perfect
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love the beach and water

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Room, view , beach, kitchen you can use and book exchange.
Cons: Internet in the room. Lounge chairs on the beach be part of the room cost.
Location: Restaurants, beach walking, snorkelling, biking around the island.
Great waterfront beach hotel. Internet doesn't work in the room but has 2 kitchen/reading rooms and the lobby .Nice and relaxing! Good little walk into town for all the restaurants etc. Easy to get a bike. Too many golf carts though!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GREAT!

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: The quaintness, quietness, and its right on the ocean. Room was very spacious.
We stayed here 2/6/16-2/13/16 we will return. Staff was very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. They are very hard workers and even with the language barrier did all they could to make everything perfect.. the rooms were very spacious. Had a wonderful time and were very happy here. Thank you!