Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Super clean and comfy, right on the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The room, the location, the reef in front.
Cons: There was a thin wooden door between our room and our next door neighbor, and we could hear everything.
I'm not sure why this hotel has below 4 stars. The room we had (#11) seemed all new, soft king size bed, brand new bathroom, A/C worked really well, all very clean. The hotel is right on a small beach that is enclosed on 4 sides by a long dock, a resort, a reef, and a curve in the coastline. The water at beach is very shallow and there are a lot of kids and local families there. The hotel can loan you a snorkel mask and there are tons of fish out at the reef. Playa norte is about a 5 min float via the water, 5 min walk on the beach, or 1 block away via the street. It's about a 10 min walk to town (about 3 long blocks). I liked how it is not in the middle of the madness of town / playa norte, in the morning & at night it's very quiet. The lady who owns it is a native to the island and she is super sweet. If you don't speak any spanish it might be an issue. It is a great hotel. We would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

A good, adequate beach hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: location, view
Cons: furnish beach chairs and umbrellas.
Location: Small island with many very good restaurants nearby
Overall experience was positive. Location was very good right on small beach next to water which was a shallow inlet about 75 yards across and waist deep or less. Great place for children. Many locals come to this area. If stairs are ok for you, second floor is best with balcony and beach/water view with many palm trees in courtyard next to beach. You can get king size bed or two doubles. Good maid service and ladies at front desk were helpful. The biggest negative is no beach chairs and umbrellas come with the hotel price. They rent 2 chairs and an umbrella for about $12 U S per day, which seems pricy. This seems to be the norm on the island unless you are at an upscale hotel. This is a casual beach hotel. They furnish beach towels and there is a kitchen where you can prepare light meals. The room has a refrigerator. About 3-4 blocks to all the restaurants and shops. No room service, pool, or restaurant on site. Fenix bar & restaurant nest door. Rent a golf cart for a day to see the island, was about $35 if you shop around . Everyone does it seems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on snow white sand beach

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Turquois water. Snow white sand. Snorkle with the reef fish right outside your door. Everything within walking distance. Rent a golf cart go to the most eastern point in Mexico under beautiful cliffs above crystal clear water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Greit hotell som ligger ved den nordlige stranden. Fordelen ved den nordlige stranden er at det alltid er vind.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Steps from the beach

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Great location, friendly staff, nothing fancy, could use some updating. Can't beat laying on a hammock by the ocean. Free use of snorkel gear was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Angelica from Silicon Valley

2015 Vacation

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location right on a lagoon and across the road from the beach. The property is lush and well maintained. However, the staffing is inadequate as the poor lady at the desk was by herself and overwhelmed with check ins and checkouts which slowed the process. Additionally, the hotel was under construction. This was not communicated to me before my stay. This caused noise during the day. Some of the hotels were directly in the construction zone and my friend hit his head twice going under the scaffolding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Superb location on a protected beach

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. Complimentary breakfast down the street. Refrig in room. Windows open with screens for fresh nighttime air.
Cons: This is a genuine local Mexican hotel, not a US chain hotel. Conveniences of the latter may be absent. I like it that way.
Location: Not far from the town market with its fresh fruits, associated eateries, and fresh squeezed juices. Coconuts for sale on a nearby street.
As nearly a non-overdeveloped relaxing beach/garden setting as you can find nowadays. Snorkelable fish on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. I will defiantly stay again.

Posted May 15, 2015
Isla is a great destination. Good place to relax and get away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Into the Paradise

Posted May 12, 2015
Very nice place, clean rooms. Very simple, but offers what you need. They have an attached kitchen, where you can prepare quick meals or snacks. The beach is just a paradise, an aquarium, an emerald pool. Read that some people complained about the gates be closed by 6pm.. it's for your security and is no big deal. Continental breakfast is included. Internet available at front desk only. We didn't need more. After all you are there to enjoy outside.. right? restaurants and grocery store in a walking distance. Great place and we will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2015
Location and beach was excellent. Loved the hammocks and the close proximity to restaurants and shopping. Rooms were comfortable.