Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel location and quality

Posted Nov 30, 2017
The location of the hotel was awful: close to the road so it was noisy, the gardens surrounding the room had a noxious smell and the hotel could use a makeover. There wasn’t any nice shops within walking distance and the surrounding stores were dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Nyoman, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay and I do apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We at Watergarden understand the importance of fulfilling our guests expectations and it concerns me greatly that you have left the resort with such a negative impression of our hotel condition. I will table and share it with our respective department head for our further review and immediate action and to ensure this type of issue will not repeat in the future. Talking about Candidasa is a sleepy town and there are some shops along the road depends what you will get. Thank you and i hope there will be an opportunity to welcome you back in the future and somehow to restore your faith on us. Best Regards, Nyoman Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Orbitz
The koi ponds were a nice touch. You can hear the critters around you at night – quite charming!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

The Watergarden is a gem.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The Watergarden is a gem of a boutique hotel. Each accomodation unit is isolated by beautiful ponds stocked with fish and water lilies. Sitting on the spacious veranda and watching butterflies, waterbirds and iridescent dragonflies is a continuous and relaxing entertainment. The occasional giant lizard puts in an appearance and the fish love to be fed with a supply of food which can be requested at reception. Room service is first class and breakfast on the veranda is a real treat, especially in the cooler morning air. The combination of air conditioning and an overhead fan make the rooms very comfortable. The pathways leading to accomodation are attractive and brick paved. The swimming pool is excellent with adequate, comfortable lounges and umbrellas. It's also possible to have lunch and other meals poolside. The new restaurant at the hotel has to be rated as one of the best in Candidasa. The menu is innovative and well priced. A wide range of cocktails are on offer. The tables are large and seating comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and all speak good English (and maybe other languages). The gift shop has high quality crafts for sale at very reasonable prices.
Cons: It would take a very picky person to find fault with this hotel. The only complaint was that the bar fridge (with very reasonably priced drinks) needed defrosting. A major disadvantage to Candidasa is that the main road which runs through the town is a drag strip for noisy, heavy, trucks, cars and noisy motorbikes. As it is a straight stretch of road traffic speeds through and little consideration is given to pedestrians. In the seven days we stayed there was one fatality (a schoolchild was killed) and a two car, one truck, accident. This traffic problem will deter people from visiting and local businesses should collaborate to ensure a speed limit and other traffic calming measures are introduced and enforced.
Location: Candidasa is situated on what used to be a decent beach. There's a nice selection of shops, small supermarkets, cafes and restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
by Karl from Kennett square

Ridiculously unique garden boutique!

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
This must be one of the more unique boutique properties I have ever stayed in! The water lily pond just outside my room was a delight and the koi beside my dining table were mesmerizing! Nice and quiet in the back of the property with plenty to stroll and see along the Main Street.
5 out of 5
by Jo-Ann from Brisbane, Australia

A hotel that you will re-visit again and again

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
We regularly stay at the Watergarden Hotel in Candi Dasa. We love the privacy provided by the surrounding gardens and the comfortable seating provided in the outside under cover verandah area. Room service is very good and the food prices reasonable. A very high quality accommodation which we recommend to other couples who want a relaxing holiday.
4 out of 5
by Gordon from Adelaide

Secluded escape in comfort

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here for 4 nights and loved almost everything about it. The free standing cottage had a comfortable bedroom and bathroom with double doors onto the wide deck overlooking a thick garden hiding us from other guests. The pool area and cafe were also very pleasant shady areas to spend our time. The cafe breakfast was good value and plenty of options. Though not on the beach the hotel offers a very comfortable quiet secluded place to stay with plenty of restaurants and the beach a 3 minute walk away. There's no TV which we loved, patchy WiFi which we worked around and our room had very low water pressure that was frustrating.... We definitely stay there again
3 out of 5
by Sarah from usa

ok hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was nice overall. Loved the veranda with the garden view, but the overall room was ok. The first night I stayed the bed sheets looked as though they hadn't been changed in that there were multiple blood stains and the toilet didn't work properly. So used the extra blanket to sleep on top of sleets but the extra blanket had dirt/sand mixed in it. But they fixed the toilet the next day and changed bed sheets, fortunately this sheet only had one blood stain. There's no tv and the wifi is very slow. But the food was good and massage was lovely. And the driver they arranged for me for a day tour was very good and day tour great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria Australia

A place to unwind and relax ! Wonderful

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Loved the privacy of the rooms, loved the koi and the verandahs !
Cons: Shower needs an overhaul, but this was already being renovated so no need to worry about return visit
Location: We found ourselves very close to other shops, the main road is right there ! Lots of cafes, shops, and vendors - also walk through to beach
As you arrive at the Watergarden Hotel in Candidasa, it is quite deceiving as the front reception is simple, and small. But what a wonderful treat - as we were lead to our rooms, up a very clean and tidy path through lush gardens, we were very pleased to see our room. Set in a very lush tropical setting, the room was lovely, nice and cool, and we had the joy of spending quite a lot of time relaxing on our verandah feeding out koi. It felt like that we were away from the world, so peaceful. Staff were wonderful, especially the Orchid Day Spa, where I went every day for a massage and to be pampered and spoilt. Great place to unwind. The Manager there is lovely, and we could not find fault with anyone there, and the prices were excellent. Staff were always happy and greeted you with a smile, and the meals in the restaurant were great, plenty of variety and staff were very happy to order off the menu as well. They were able to help us with booking a driver to see the sights of East Bali as well as book in a fishing trip in a traditional Balinese boat. We visited in November in the low season, and had absolutely perfect weather the entire time. Now looking at when we can return.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Australia - SA - Regional SA

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: The staff were fantastic.
Location: Away from it all
Service: Flawless; Cleanliness: Beautiful;
4 out of 5
by Byron from Australia - NSW - Regional NSW

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Private
Cons: No tea making facilities
Location: Tranquil
Facilities: Typical; Value: Affordable; Service: Respectful, Friendly; Cleanliness: Lovely;