Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Great Experience in Candia

Posted Oct 23, 2016
I was very impressed with the owners, particularly Teresa who made everyone including myself feel at home. The room I had definitely felt like home, nicely furnished and a great place to get away from citylife. The guests as well. were fun to interact with. The breakfasts tasted very good.I would return in the future to this inn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Welcoming, friendly and personal

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Spacious room, wooden floors. Friendly and personal welcome. Best eggs benedict my wife has ever had!
Location: Magnificent crab cakes and excellent pizzas at Pasquale's in Candia. Currier Museum of Art & Zimmerman House (Frank Lloyd Wright) in Manchester.
From the moment we walked through the door, we knew we were in for a special experience at the Stephen Clay Homestead B&B. We were personally welcomed, shown to our room, and provided with all the information we needed, including an excellent recommendation for dinner (Pasquale's in Candia). Throughout out stay, the owners and other guests were friendly - at breakfast we had a long and wide ranging discussion which could have gone on for longer if we hadn't all had to move on. We had chosen to book one of two rooms without en-suite - which made the experience excellent value for money at the expense of a short trip up the landing in one of of the very excellent bathrobes provided! All in all, a superb start to our trip to the US.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast was just okay, not super. Shared bath was a bit of a downer, but large old home was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Jenna from Washington, DC

Wonderful Experience

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
We chose Stephen Clay Homestead because we wanted a quaint New England experience, and we got more than we even expected! The owners were very kind and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, and the whole house was exactly the New England atmosphere we were looking for. No complaints whatsoever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location and hospitality

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Would definitely stay here again, very accommodating. Close to Pawtuckaway State Park, snowmobiling trails and great places to bike (as long as you enjoy a challenge, the place is on top of the hill!) For their breakfast, the eggs benedict and apple pie for 2 is awesome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
We were welcomed into a most delightful and comfortable home. Our hosts were very friendly and we enjoyed hearing about the 200 year old history of the home. Our Needs were met very well!
5 out of 5
by Erich

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Home and Owner

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Wonderfully restored
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Well, we were leaving the next morning very early but owner recommended Tuckaway Tavern a few miles away. WOW, what a fun place for drinks and dinner.
Great ! what else can I say? We wished we had more time to spend in this beautiful B&B. The owner, Teressa , talked with us half an hour about the home and their process of getting it restored. Most enjoyable. Especially since I have revived several old homes myself.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and Cosy

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
Je garde un très bon souvenir de mon séjour, les hôtes étaient vraiment adorable et attentionné! La maison est belle et bien entretenue!