Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A brilliant find

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The hotel was a real coup. Situated in rural countryside with all the comforts you could want, including a wonderful pool and loungers which we used when we arrived tired after a long drive. Restaurant was in colonial style and food was fantastic with very attentive staff who could answer any question about the menu and the wines. Reading other reviews about bugs, yes there are some bugs but it's in the COUNTRY, and bugs are food for wonderful wildlife there. I would defiantly recommend this place and would love to go back if we are ever in the area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarsdale, NY

Country Charm with Amazing Dining

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Room size and cleanliness. On site restaurant and amentities.
Cons: Better landscaping. In driving around the area - saw so many colorful gardens.
Location: We spent our time visiting the castles.
We had a pleasant stay and Le Fleuray - was not sure I would like it upon arrrival and it did grow on me after the first day. Why? I felt the grounds could have been better planted - more colorful flowers/containers. We had a "garden" room and the view was of very dried out greenery and tall green hedges that surrounded the pool. Not much of a garden to see. The room was very spacious and comfortable although no mini-fridge to keep snacks and no a/c (which fortunately was not an issue and I was there in early August). They did provide a fan. The dining room was beautiful both inside and out - the food was absolutely delicious and the service outstanding. Watched the sunset from the outside dining area, simply beautiful. We drove to the nearby castles, was very easy.
5 out of 5
by Travis

Lovely Country Place

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was a beautiful place in the middle of nowhere they took care of you and it's a beautiful stop in to the Loire Valley. Super close to Amboise and other amazing castles.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Uncomfortable and disappointing

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Cons: Pest management Keeping the pool open during heat waves
Location: Removed from sites. Country setting.
Be warned: If you plan to book a stay please read this first. I am a seasoned traveler and like to pride myself on making smart selections. I do my research and sort through multiple sites for reviews. This time I don't think the reviews I read captured the experience a traveler could have at this destination. There is no air conditioning in the rooms (we visited during a crushing heat wave with daytime highs above 100 Fahrenheit). After being miserable touring, the last experience you want when you retire for the day is to sweat through the night. Be warned, summer visitors. Further, there were bugs in our sink, roaming around on the bathroom floor and flying in our room. When we brought this to the attention of the management they simply shrugged at the idea of garden bugs who don't hurt anything. I would expect, however, that most guests would care very much about sleeping with bugs flying and roaming around their room. Despite the heat wave the property closed the pool promptly at 8:00pm when it was over 90 at the time. To make sure no one went to the pool the gate was locked and the pool was covered. One would think an exception could be made given the heat and lack of air conditioning. Would it have been too much to ask to have the property extend pool ours given the circumstances. The setting is in the country and removed from the rush to the point of isolation. By no means is it convenient to anything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey uk

Very nice hotel and very quiet too.food excellent

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Food very good rooms clean. And looking over well kept garden
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very friendly hotel but no air conditioning

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: The staff were wonderful. They responded to requests gladly and cheerfully. Pool, tennis courts, etc. are great -- and bikes, racquets, etc. provided
Cons: The hotel needs to install air conditioning. Also, the staff wasn't helpful when our car was scratched, probably because another guest was at fault.
Location: Location in the countryside is wonderful. Quiet, peaceful, relaxing. Nice to ride or walk through the fields. But it isn't near major tourist sights.
We had a generally very enjoyable stay at Le Fleuray. The staff were great -- friendly, helpful, solicitous. The pool and the tennis courts were wonderful, and we especially appreciated their providing racquets, etc. Likewise we really liked their providing bicycles, though it was disappointing that almost all of the walking and biking routes were on roads, many of which had significant traffic traveling at relatively high speeds, 90 km+. The rooms were very comfortable, but they did not have air conditioning which was a major drawback given the high temperatures this summer. The air outside cooled down at night, but because there was no cross-ventilation, it was difficult and slow to bring down the room temperature. One of the great things about the hotel are the pool, tennis courts, bicycles, etc. It was a great place to stay for a couple of days and relax, especially with kids. But this wonderful atmosphere was because it was in the countryside: it was not conveniently located for visiting the chateaux, castles, etc. in the region and would not be a good base for visiting the Loire valley. Don't get me wrong: at its best, it was great -- having a delicious dinner looking out over the beautiful and peaceful countryside, sitting on the terrace outside the rooms sipping wine and enjoying the sunset, playing tennis, swimming, or strolling around the hotel. Some of the happiest memories of our trip. But no air conditioning and an extra 30 mins. to get to Blois.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Overnight stop travelling back from uk to France.Excellent Room, service, food, and suroundings. Would recommend to eveyone. This Hotel has Swimming Pool, Very large Hot Tub, Tennis, Golf Course next door, Pet friendly hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Woods, CA

Superb Hotel in the countryside

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Clean, attractive, good staff and service, excellent restaurant
Cons: Nothing I needed.
Location: Located north of the small villages of Fleuray an Cangey surrounded by open fields of grass and cows. The closest village of size is Onzain.
Beautiful hotel a few kilometers off the main road between Blois and Amboise and surrounded by open fields and green grass. This was the nicest room of our trip (and most expensive). We had dinner two nights at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed both tremendously. Excellent food and generally excellent service, not to mention watching the cows roaming back and forth beyond the windows. I can highly recommend Le Fleuray but be forewarned you will far from any options for eating, both Blois and Amboise are a "drive" away.