Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

The worst...

Posted Jun 30, 2017
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights of our 2 week trip in Bali. It was the worst, by far. We originally were shown our "ocean view" room which only had a sliver of view if you searched. When we returned at night the noise from the bar across the street was unbearable, so we moved to a room with a "private pool". The next day we woke up to kids screaming at the main common pool at 8am. The private pool is unusable in our opinion. It looks dirty and old, and never saw a sliver of sun. When I tried to use the common pool all of the (very few) sun chaises were full, and there were tons of kids. Disappointing. The rooms may have antiques but the condition of the rooms are not up to par with anything close to a 4-5 star hotel. Needs renovations badly. The bathroom areas and exterior are run down. Everything is tired looking and dark and dingy. With strange old technology like switches for lights from random spots and filthy marks where you imagine a million hotel guests have touched to use. The "antiques" seem like an excuse to avoid a much needed renovation. As an interior designer I was excited to stay at a hotel with their claimed reputation. On the contrary. It feels like a junk shop with yes, some gorgeous antiques, but littered with other pieces that are falling apart and less authentic looking. Even antiques can need a little restoration. "Eco friendly" seems like a term to cover the cheapened amenities. The complimentary water included is in glass
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great location, warm staff, family friendly

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Location. It's 1-min from the beach and close to shops and restaurants. Staff. Food is awesome - Balinese and the new Japanese restaurant.
Location: Great location. 1-min from beach and Saturday market. Next to the happening Old Man bar, clothing shops and hip eateries. 15-min walk to Deus cafe.
It is our third time back at Tugu Bali. First 2 times for meals and finally for a stay. The staff is always warm and welcoming, especially to our 7-month old baby. Each time we return, we feel like family. Pre-arrival emails are prompt and effective. We asked for a baby seat for the airport transfers and baby cot in room and sent relevant images to explain. They delivered. The lobby is spacious, beautiful traditional wood-based and inviting for a read, playing wth baby and a relaxing meal. Sounds of water relaxes you. Great massage. Each room is a unique Balinese style, our came with a lovely little pool and beautiful outdoor bath and bathroom with carp swimming nearby. We highly recommend this place for couples, people looking to destress and families with children. We will be back. Food is excellent as always. Beautifully prepared, delicious with healthy options like brown rice and superfoods breakfast. Amazing fresh juices. Great new Japanese restaurant. Picky eaters will be happy here. But above all, it is the amazing staff, from waiters to reception to the friendly managers, everyone. This trumps everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

loved everything but the ocean

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
loved the hotel- staff was very accommodating to any wishes we had. food at hotel was excellent. we ate a special "Forbidden City" dinner on the beach surrounded by candles & enjoyed gorgeous sunsets from the high "bed" platforms every evening. we were traveling w/ 2 kids (4 & 6) who are excellent swimmers & had been surfing daily & wave jumping at our previous bali hotels. unfortunately- the sea here was just too rough- as waves break on beach water is filled w/ roiling sand. i actually was hit by a crazy wave when i was standing in less than knee depth water & fell & broke my left arm :-(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Romantically Stunning

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Cons: Mosquito control. Insect spray is a must!
This wonderful hotel sits on echo beach and is stunning throughout. First impressions mean a lot and the authentic Balinese decor and atmosphere do not disappoint. Here you can experience traditional Balinese foods and themed dinners that are amazing. The Puri Le Meyuer suite is fantastic offering a spacious accommodation, modern amenities, comfortable bed and great rain shower. The villa is romantically located hovering above a pink lotus pond surrounded by candlelit wooden walkways. The staff and management are highly attentive, instantly remember your name and take care of any request making your happiness first priority. Breakfast and dinners are fantastic, creative and delicious offering both Balinese and Western fare. Don't miss the cultural dinner and dance performance on Thursdays. Make sure that you try meals at different locations throughout the hotel for a different romantic feel. Ji's is a must with excellent sushi, sake and try the smoking coco sexo drink. The hotel has 21 rooms but only 1 Puri Le Meyuer suite. You can clearly hear the waves from Echo beach crashing and lulling you to sleep. We'll never forget how romantic it felt pulling up to the entryways candlelit walkway for the first time. The hotel boasts a charming appeal during both day and night. The location also offers several excellent breakfast options offset like Old Man's, Crate and Bettlenut cafes all within a 5 to 10 minutes walk. Hotel Tugu offers the perfect getaway from the crowded downtown.
5 out of 5
by Olivier from San Diego, CA

Amazing!!!!

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Simply an amazing place. The staff is on top of everything. Close to the busy areas without being in them. Would stay again in a second.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, very friendly staf, eye for details

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Small hotel
We had a great time there, excellent food, beautiful furniture, beautiful garden AND very friendly staf.
5 out of 5
by Deja from Seattle

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Such a relaxing and luxurious place to begin our honeymoon!
5 out of 5
by CHEN from Bangkok

You just have to try this hotel!

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
Depends on hundreds of reviews with all 5stars on TripAdvisor, made booking one day before. Had a warm welcome when check in, and sweet gifts when check out by hotel manager. It's a member of a boutique hotels group, full with collections, super nice style. Got a private pool with in my room, walk to the beach just by through its backyard. It's only have 21 rooms, that makes this hotel a quiet and peaceful place. To me, it's a small luxury hotel style, and it's different from those international hotels groups, those hotels are good, but just with the same styleEverything's good, facilities, food, spa, etc. Two small complaints: wifi isn't fast, and hot water isn't 24x7(these two happened in other hotels as well, but not all of them in Bali). Guests get a free transport when they leave. Before, I was not satisfied with Bali at all. After, Bali is not that bad to me. Better if the group could design its loyalty program for guests.
4 out of 5
by Yuqin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Amazing hotel right at Canggu Beach

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, courtesy.
Cons: Nothing. It's just wonderful.
Location: Surfing at Canggu Beach, great restaurants surround the hotel; local Bali massages.
From start to finish, an amazing experience. Walking in, the hotel receptionist immediately walks you through all the amenities and asks what they can do to make your stay perfect. I asked to move rooms once and they were so prompt it was amazing. Seriously, I've stayed at some of the best hotels in the USA and Africa, and this is definitely one of my best stays ever. I would recommend it without any hesitation or reservation. A+++