Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford, UK

Really good for a price

Posted May 23, 2017
Clean, quiet, nice and helpful staff. Very nice view from a hotel room, breakfast until 11, (I like to sleep a bit longer)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

ants in bedroom and kitchen

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: close to sea
Cons: remove ants
Location: ok not a problem
on arrival we found place looked ok until infested with ants in the bathroom and closer look we found them in the bedroom / lounge area we moved hotel with no help available to move baggage as i have a disability
4 out of 5
by Roger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atherton, Manchester

Great hotel and great sea view

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Ebookers
Excellent hotel and area. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by Karl from London

Lovely hotel, Stunning views

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed the hotel. Staff were very accommodating. We had the use of the leisure & fitness centre in the Orchid hotel next door too. Would Recommend Rocamar to anyone looking to stay in Canico de Biaxo
4 out of 5
by Elena from UK

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, very comfortable, good price!
4 out of 5
by Fco Borja from Bristol

There are pickpockets.

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
It was good but we have a problem with one of the service women´s who took 50€ from one of our wallets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

Lovely location with wonderful views

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: We loved the location and the fantastic breakfasts.
Cons: The only thing which could have been improved was the shower. The water had little power, and the direction could not be changed.
Location: Walking along the levadas, bus tours around the island, Funchal with the cable car up to the botanical gardens, and the Madeira winery tour.
We liked this hotel as it is in a quiet spot, located on the cliffs in the village of Canico de Baixo, which is a short drive from the capital, Funchal. The hotel has a free bus going to Funchal 3 times a day, which was great, but the local buses also had a fairly regular timetable. Although it was February, it was warm enough to sit out on a sunbed on one of the many areas cut into the rocks. We were able to use the facilities of the hotel next door, which had an indoor pool and gym.The breakfast each morning was more than adequate, and the many options varied from day to day. The reception staff were very knowledgable about the island, and were able to book trips for you.
4 out of 5
by recommend from canico

recommend

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely sunny stay Excellent see views Spacious and very well equipped room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B H UK

Nice Hotel not enough local transport

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Very pleasant hotel.Pool about 3 flights down. Hire car essential