Ratings based on 1,545 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Such a nice place. Clean, new, and friendly staff. Would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Norman (Guest Services Supervisor), Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Falcon Crest in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
We had to switch dates for our stay and they switched it with no extra charge, even though online the room on this day was more expensive. We were also upgraded! The shower was sooo nice, and we loved the hot tubs. There was free movie and popcorn and delicious coffee in the rooms. It was so enjoyable
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Norman (Guest Services Supervisor), Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to take advantage of our movies and popcorn. We look forward to welcoming you back to Canmore in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shefford, QC

An ok stay for us this time

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: It's a nice condo.
Cons: Going above and beyond expectation is what makes a customer service the best, so definitely work on this.
Location: Everything is near by.
We have come here for years now, couple of times a year for our anniversary and for a birthday. The room had some issues since the renovation in the kitchen (eg: 2 cupboards that don't open because the oven is too big), but overall, the renovation made it better. Unfortunately, I booked this room back in February 2017 for this November 2017, to be sure to have our "regular" big room at the end of the hotel. We were first put in a room in the middle on a second floor, but there was construction across the street and no way we were to stay in this room. We were then put in the only other option available on the fourth floor, but we had to sacrifice space. Room was smaller and bed was a Queen bed and not a king. I actually had to sleep on the sofa bed. My husband and I don't fit in a Queen. We were very disappointing about this. A room is very important for us as we stay in this room for the whole week. We don't ski nothing, we just come here for the luxurious room and peaceful. We even paid for an extra day as our flight was at 1am and we wanted to leave at 10pm that Friday. It's not a cheap stay. We now reside in Quebec and not in Alberta and this is probably our last stay. It's not worth it if we can't have a nice room like we had in the past. The staff is always nice though. I think it's just a matter of giving more attention to clients like me, that even called 4 times prior to our arrival to make sure we were to have the room we wanted...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Dear Isabelle, We appreciate your feedback and addressing the issues you've had during your last stay. We apologize for not fulfilling your expectations this time and want to ensure this is not our standard. We would be happy if we could welcome you in the future to make it right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canmore, alberta

Very nice - WIFI is inconsistent

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The place itself has am excellent location, lots of parking and a great staff. The unit is wonderful and very spacious. The only complaint is the Wi-Fi is inconsistent. It will only sometimes work which is quite frustrating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Kat, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback James. We appreciate your input and are making sure to follow up on the WiFi connectivity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Thus was a fantastic hotel and experience. Thanks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Kat, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your positive feedback Kurt. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Very Nice!

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Quite, clean, underground parking
Cons: Lobby was not clearly marked where desk was.
Location: Lots to do in the Canmore area. We enjoy visiting Canmore, not touristy like Banff.
Stayed for the weekend and it was a very nice 1 bedroom suite, really like a condo with everything you might need. Quiet location and very clean. Couches and chairs were a bit firm but that was ok. Nice kitchen that had everything if you wanted to eat in. Definitely would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Kat, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your positive feedback Wally. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Nice cheap Mountain Hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2017
If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel with good room amenities (full kitchen etc) then this hotel is great. However the amenities are less than stellar. No hotel restaurant, hot tubs are not very hot for mountain weather, parkade is very tight to get into and hotel lobby is very plain and uninviting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We do not own the restaurant onsite but apologize that their annual vacation was during your time here. We will certainly investigate the hot tub temperatures as that seems not as they normally operate. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Love the Falcon Crest. Our favourite place to stay in Canmore. This time we opted for a standard room instead of a King Suite. This was a good deal on expedia. Room was Great, staff was still as friendly as always but the bed was horrible. Mattress definitely needs to be changed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear your bed was not comfortable as they are all brand new. Please note that if you stay with us again we can try putting a mattress topper on it for you as well. We are pleased to know you had a perfect stay with us anyways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Nice facility with underground parking.

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: Staff were attentive and efficient, the room was clean and well laid out.
Location: Canmore is just outside of Banff national park. There is easy access to hiking, skiing, and the town itself has cute little shops and restaurants
We were very impressed with our stay at the Falcon Crest. We arrived earlier than the check in time, and were able to get a room immediately and a complimentary upgrade. The staff were friendly and very efficient, the room was clean, comfortable and it had a well stocked kitchen (only minor flaw we noticed was the two cupboard doors by the stove didn't open). The underground parking was appreciated as Canmore had freezing rain that night..
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Kat, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the positive feedback Cindy. we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Excellent place to stay

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Falcon Ridge resort is the perfect place to stay in Canmore when you visit the Rockies. The staff are excellent, the rooms are outstanding and the area is breathtaking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
We appreciate your kind words about our staff and Lodge. We truly love to ensure all of our guests have the most amazing stay with us and we are pleased you had a perfect stay. Thank you for your time.