Ratings based on 1,433 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great location in Canmore

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel is right off the freeway in Canmore, convemiently located close to shopping and restaurants. It was a very standard room and was not updated but clean. The train passes right behind the hotel several times per day/night, so if you are a light sleeper that's a concern. Breakfast is very affordable-continental buffet. Free and ample parking and had AC. Bed was extremely soft and uncomfortable and bathroom was very small. However, after a day hiking around Banff, it was sufficient and I would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of Extra Fees

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Alberta Room Levy and Marketing Fees are charged, so be prepared to pay an extra 10% tax on top of 5% GST. Not worth it if you are just passing through.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to highway

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The hotel was nice, with excellent staff. The room was nice and clean. However the hotel was a little overpriced and did not include a continental breakfast. Overall experience was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Professional staff but old hotel next to railroad

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Professional staff.
Cons: Réactualise furniture, change windows.
Location: There is nothing to see in Canmore. We have to drive one hour to get to Banff.
The hotel, like hotels and lodges in the same street, is located next to railroad. Earplugs are given to clients since there are trains passing by night and day. The staff is very very professional, all over. Our room was clean but old, need to be actualised (furniture from the 1970s, etc.). Free breakfast is OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milton, ontario

Excellent as this was close to Banff also.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Very friendly staff, breakfast was excellent, quick check in and out plus mountain views were awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel and free breakfast

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Free breakfast
Nice hotel and free breakfast and nice location in town
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expectations outweighed the experience

Posted Aug 19, 2017
For a hotel charging $280/ night, one would expect to have room service available to them, a tv that you can rent movies from (VOD), and not have a frieght train screeming by every 45 minutes. Dissapointing at best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Saskatchewan, AB

Needs some updating

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The staff were very nice.
Cons: The rooms need some renovating.
Location: The location is convenient. Close to shopping and not far from the highway.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and accommodating. However I noticed several black hairs in the bathroom when we first got to the room. Also my daughter fell in the bath tub and hit her head on the soap dish which sticks out from the bath surround. The room we stayed in had peeling wall paper in the bathroom and the looked like it was sadly needing some renovations.The train went by about every hour and a half through the night, so for a light sleeper like myself it is not a good location. My daughter really enjoyed the pool with the water slide, although I think they should have a larger pool for such a fast slide. When bigger people came down, they would swamp the pool and sometimes run in to others. This is not a pool for swimming. It was also surprising that there was a charge for the breakfast buffet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Old carpet, bathroom fixtures. No bath tub and shower tiles dirty and old. No place in bathroom to hang a robe or place your stuff. Overall poor design, we had to fight over the only two electrical outlet. Would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Clean, Friendly & easy access to downtown

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Cons: Adding a green space or outside benches / outside area for guests.
Location: Easy access (via the walkway behind the building by the train) to get into downtown. Shopping and restaurants were easily available and the front desk
The desk staff were extremely happy and helpful at both check in and check out. I didn't have other interaction with them though. The hotel was clean and well lit. I wish there had been access to some type of green space but whether you exit the front of back of the building, you are immediately in a parking lot, back side bordered by the walkway into town and a train. A grassy area or benches would have been nice. The room was very clean and well appointed. Bed was comfortable and the pillows were divine. Would probably stay here again.