Ratings based on 1,356 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Good location to stay when visiting Banff

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: The condo unit.
Cons: The cooling system.
Location: The downtown area is a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Banff National Park is about a 15 minute drive.
My sister and I stayed here for three days while visiting Banff National Park. It was comfortable, spacious, and convenient. We enjoyed the hot breakfast (with good bacon, not so common in hotel breakfasts). The main problems we had was with the cooling system (a single fan in the bedroom as far as we could tell), the odd lack of a pan larger than an egg pan in the kitchen (were finally able to communicate our need to the staff and got one from housekeeping), and lack of proper counter space in the bathroom. On the other hand, the unit had a washer machine and dryer combo that we hadn't expected and were happy to use. We also discovered we could park on the street for free and with great ease. It was a pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Very small room. Dirty rug floor. No air conditioning. Not worth the price you pay. Would not say here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winona Lake, IN

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Restaurant food was slow and came out cold. No apology from staff. A place to stay - not bad, but not great either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms are small and no AC.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The rooms are incredibly small and paid way too much for what we got. not to mention they are non refundable from the moment you book with them. Tried rearranging my stay by an additional day but they somehow messed up my reservation, in turn losing my reservation, even though it was paid for the moment it was booked. Spent about 10 hours on the phone trying to resolve this, no joke. Save yourself the headache. No AC in the rooms, which is odd for the daily rates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Nice location but our suit was facing a building

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Was a good experience but next time Will ask about better suit facing the mountains
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice accommodation.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at Windtower. The breakfast I have to say is probably one of the best breakfasts I've had at any accommodation in the Banff/Canmore area!! The only downside to my experience at Windtower is that parking was either on the street or $10 to park underground. I've stayed at many hotels etc in the Canmore/Banff area and I've never been charged to park in underground parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Good for a short stay.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Room was clean. Bed comfortable. Good shower. Really good hot breakfast.
Cons: The room was small. Otherwise there was nothing to be concerned about.
Location: Canmore is the gateway to Banff National Park
Small room meant one could not relax before bed as there was neither desk nor chair in the room. It is adequate for people spending their day in Banff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Nice hotel, the room we got was very small. No A/C, the room was very warm. We got some issues at the check out but the staff been able to fixe it. Nice underground parking but we had to pay for $10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfast buffet

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Breakfast buffet was empty when I went for breakfast. They were also out of plates so people were using bowls and I watched a number of people arrive and were disappointed that there wasn't any hot food available. I waited a 1/2 hour for the food to be brought out from the kitchen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff; Great views

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Restaurant, breakfast, views and price
Cons: twin beds could use updated mattresses
Location: Nice walking/ running path nearby, lots of wild rabbits :) drive to downtown. Great views
You get what you pay for - they only had a 2 twin room available so we took it. Great if you are only staying one night and don't plan on being in the room much, I would not recommend for larger people as the room it's self was very small and cramped, bed was a bit hard for my liking. Bathroom was adequate.Everything was clean, but a bit dated. However: the restaurant was lovely in summer as we sat outside. Good drinks and they offered a 20% discount as hotel guests. Large portions, friendly attentive staff. Can't say enough good about the young man from Australia! The breakfast included with room was a really good buffet - although be patient as it is all made in batches from kitchen and takes a bit to refill. The wait staff do the best they can as it out of their control. Bit of a walk to downtown area so plan on driving. Overall I would stay there again but would try to get a different room.