Ratings based on 1,150 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Excellent location

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The accommodation would have been great if we were warned it did not have any lift. Walking up to the 3rd floor with luggage is a big deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located and quiet

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We were here 10 years ago and loved the location right next to train station on a quiet street. No need to truck luggage for long distances and affordable. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Excellent value.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor hotel near train station

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The hotel staff member extremely insensitive. The hotel stated 4 floors but 6 with no elevator. Sub-standard rooms with air-condition problem with extreme heat wave in Venice. We had to change our rooms twice in a short 3 night stay.And the housekeeping staff declined to provide toilet tissue to our extremely small bathroom. We ere left to fend for ourselves. The hotel phones did not work. The worst European hotel experience to date. I should have been paid to stay not the other way around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Near the train station

Posted Jun 23, 2017
This location was great it was a 5 min walk from the St Lucia station. We were extremely happy that we didn't have to carry our luggage through the many bridges. Finding the front desk though was a bit confusing as it's located in a different place. Overall we enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal,CA

Would not book again

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Not great, cleanliness so so... Price quality not worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Great location

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The location of the hotel couldn't have been better.
Cons: Clearer instructions of where the rooms are located, as they are separate from the reception. Bathrooms inside of the rooms.
Location: The Alloggi Agli Artisti Hotel is located right next to the Ponte degli Scalzi bridge which is one of the main attractions of Venice.
Upon arrival we quickly found the hotel with it being so close to the Ponte degli Scalzi bridge, which is one of the 4 bridges that crosses the Grand Canal. Walking to the hotel from the train station (Stazione di Venezia Santa Lucia) would take less than 5 minutes, and walking from the bus terminal (Pizzale Roma) takes 10-15 minutes depending on the route you take. Which ever route you are coming from, just find the Ponte degli Scalzi bridge and the Hotel is at the most southern side of it. Depending on the room you are designated, there are two buildings which your room may be in, and the reception is on the other side of the alleyway. We arrived at the reception to check in around 11:30am and had to leave our baggage there in the reception as our room wasn't ready yet. The receptionist told us to come back at around 2:00pm and the room would be ready for us at that time. We returned at the specified time and was given 3 keys from the receptionist. She explained that the keys were for the main hotel building, another for the room, and the last for the bathroom. As you can imagine this wasn't too pleasing to hear we had a key for our bathroom as we made sure, when choosing a hotel, we didn't have a shared bathroom. This was true, but our bathroom was outside of our room and a short distance down the hall which isn't practical after getting a shower! Overall, the location is perfect but we wouldn't return to this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Disgusting

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleaning would help
Location: Location was fine
Apparently the hotel has recently been split into 2 sections. I was put in the older bit up the road from the main hotel. The room was 3 flights of stairs up, filthy and smelled. I had to pay to again to stay in the nicer part of the hotel. I would like full refund for this please.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but terrible bed and smelly bathroom

Posted May 5, 2017
The bed was clearly very old had clear "indentation" in the middle of the bed. Bathroom had a bad odour which was made significantly worse when humid. However, the location was nice close to the train station. No need to haul luggage over bridges.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Bad