Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel, close to train station

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Location is great, a lot of restaurants are around. Walking distance to St.Marco Baselica and more. Breakfast is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Good location, great staff, excellent breakfast! Staff were very accommodating; provided us with outlet adapter for our phones and allowed us to leave luggage for a bit after checkout!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel overall.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
A little old style and small but overall good. Elevator not working sometimes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Star rating is relative to what's available around

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Maybe update the decor inside the rooms to feel more cozy and homy
Location: Near main road
First impression was a nice building and lobby. Then, when we got to the room, we understood how premium the space is in Venice. The room is barely a studio, I would say no more than 12x12ft. It did have everything and was clean, but not the 4 star experience we were used to. I would say that relative to other hotels in the area, it is probably 4 stars, but comparing to other hotels we were at in Milan for comparison, more like a 2 star Motel but which is very clean and with nice staff. There was some kind of an odd smell, but it was minor and we got used to it. They had nice breakfast area and decent selection of food. Nothing else to note except it is right off the main road and is couple of minutes from the train station, which was our criteria for selection.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Disappointed

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Good location close to train station, nice breakfast, bathroom clean, however our room 130 had a terrible smell of mould, quite noisy with the sound of water from rooms above, and then in our last morning the smell of cigarette smell coming through either the air conditioning or vents. Our room was on a strange level that you couldn't reach via the lift, therefore we needed to carry our bags up a couple of flights of stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg, VA

Hotel with AC and a view of the grand canal

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Our experience at the Continental Hotel was amazing. Our room was clean and very comfortable- we had a king sized bed and our daughter slept on the sofa bed. The cool AC greeted us each time we entered the room. (This was very important to us as we visited during a heat wave that Italian newspapers were calling "Lucifer.") The bathroom was very nice and the shower had great water pressure. The most amazing part of our room were the double doors that opened up to reveal the canal!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Hotel Continental, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your positive impressions. The satisfaction of our Guests has highest property! We look forward to welcome you back at the Hotel Continental. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely authentic hotel, right on canal,

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Typically venetian
Cons: slightly dirty around pull cords and light switches. Pigeons!
Location: plenty of eateries, train station very close, lots of shops and markey traders
Excellent hotel location in a Lovely canal view room, very Venetian, excellent water pressure, Nice large room with comfy bed, and mini bar. Breakfast was good but toaster very slow. Shame about the pigeons at breakfast! Would definately stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by hotel continental, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your positive impressions. The satisfaction of our Guests has highest property! We look forward to welcome you back at the Hotel Continental. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Venezia Santa Lucia Rail

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Very convenient, clean, and delicious breakfast.
Location: Hotel Continental is situated close to Venezia Santa Lucia Railway Station, plenty of tourist shops and eateries, and a beautiful view of a canal.
Hotel Continental was the best choice I made for accommodations in Venice. It was a 3-minute walk from Venezia Santa Lucia Railway Station (avoided extra fare for boat transport along the canals), next door to plenty of shops and eateries, and had a lovely view of one of the several canals in Venice. My room was spacious and clean. My favourite part of my stay was the breakfast buffet included in my reservation. I was very impressed with the selection of food and beverages (e.g., eggs, meats, fruits, yogurt, breads and pastries; and cappuccinos). The dining area was very clean and included a patio overlooking a canal. I give this a 5 star for both young professionals and families.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by hotel continental, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your positive impressions. The satisfaction of our Guests has highest property! We look forward to welcome you back at the Hotel Continental. Best Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

great location, clean, great breakfast!!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
We have stayed in a few hotels in Venice. We were impressed with the continental hotel. Pros: great location - close to train station and airport. fantastic breakfast - lovely to sit at the grand canal - it's a great start to the day! Bed comfortable and pillows were amazing!! Wifi was great in our room. We had a side view of the grand canal! cleaners cleaned our room everyday and given fresh towels everyday too. Close to amenities - coop and spar near by for essentials. Cons: Room was a little stinky especially if you left the bathroom door open. TV only had news channels in English ( didn't really bother us but if you travel with kids it could be annoying) A long walk from st marks area however we bought a 3 day water bus pass and would highly recommend this to travel around Venice and the other islands!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by hotel continental, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. It's a great pleasure to know that you liked everything here. It means that we are part of your beautiful souvenir of Venice. We would like to thank you also from our staff that work always so hard to meet the customers satisfaction. We are looking forward to welcome you back, in a next future. Best Regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel with nice views and close to train station

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Good location if you want to be close to the train station. Easy to find. Lovely views of the Grand Canal
Cons: One female dining room staff was very rude. Night Front desk person also very unpleasant when rang the bell to be let in.
Location: On Grand Canal, close to train station, Piazzale Roma and Vaporetto stop
Clean and comfortable room, although a bit dated - had a few issues with air conditioning on the last night. Lovely views of the Grand canal from the room and from the restaurant balcony.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by hotel continental, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I'm sorry and i want to apologize for what you experienced in our hotel. I also want to thank you for your reporting and we can we assure you that we will investigate on what happened with our staff. Best regards