Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Venice hotel stay

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Extremely courteous and friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable.
Cons: A little too french provincial for or liking.
Location: Great location for shopping and dining.
Excellent staff and very professional, friendly and couteous. Extremely helpful. Our room was excellent and the location was great. Easy access to restaurants, shopping and tourist attractions. Overall, a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire,England

Very nice hotel on the canal.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly helpful Staff, comfortable room very nice food and great location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The hotel was on the canal which you could get a boat to take you to the glass factory. Gift shops very close and good restaurants close.
The reception staff were all very friendly Sara was extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The porter was a very helpful and friendly man.The room was very nice, bed comfortable and the room was cleaned and towels changed every day of our stay.The breakfast staff were very attentive and lovely especially Sabrina and Vera.Overall myself and my husband would like to say The Antico Doge was an excellent place to stay in Venice.Thank you for all staff making our stay a very lovely memborable time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Manuela/ reception, Hotel Management
Dear Sir and Madam, Thank you for choose Hotel Antico Doge and for your kind mail .We hope to have you as our guest in the future! Best Regards Manuela / Reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel overlooking the canal.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: See above. Excellent in every way, great position, comfortable and superb staff.
Cons: Supply decaffeinated English breakfast tea bags, but used to not having them so bring my own worldwide.
Location: Quiet hotel, bridge away from main street, so noisy outside due to the water taxi stop & life! Loads of shops & restaurants nearby.
Brilliant hotel - we had the room photographed above - newly refurbished, clean and welcoming. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much for them, especially the porter who did lots of things to help from getting an adaptor as our multi-Europe one did not fit properly to bringing us tea and unlocking the jammed safe as I muddled up the code. Even when we checked out early due to a tour they kept our bags until 7.30pm, made us tea on our return and allowed us to use the breakfast room and bathroom etc. It cost more for the view, but worth every penny. The hotel was quiet, but as it was next to the main street, there was a lot of noise from outside due to the water taxi stop and the fact that deliveries etc. are by water and that part of the city rises early and party late! The shutters helped drown the noise. We will book there again should we return to Venice - this was our fifth trip. So convenient for walking cross Venice etc. A great buffet breakfast - as much as you could eat with everything from bread based products, to fresh meat, cheese and fruit and cereals. Five stars plus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ely.

A hotel in Venice

Posted Sep 8, 2017
This small quiet hotel is in a very nice position as it is very close to all the attraction Venice has to offer. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was excellent and spacious and nicely furnished with a nice bathroom, air conditioning in the room and throughout the hotel was very nice after the heat of the day, the bed was very comfortable the breakfast was excellent with a fine range of all manner of food to satisfy anyone. There are many nice restaurants very close to the hotel, with a gondola on the doorstep, it is hotel i would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gulf breeze

great location on a canal.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The location, on a canal, the gondoliers right outside. The ornate decor, which feels Venetian.
Cons: My room did not have a view, but it had a loft, so was 2 levels, which somewhat made up for it.
Location: Rialto bridge is a 5 minute walk, St marks is 15 and it's a leisurely walk.through shop filled streets, which is very enjoyable.
Beautiful hotel, situated on a canal. It is hard to find , so have google maps available as you will be coming on foot from the water taxi. 15 min walk to St Marks Square and 5 mins to the Rialto bridge and grand canal, through cobble stone streets with lots of wonderful shops to browse along the way. Breakfast was in an ornate dining room and the choices were plentiful. I would recommend this hotel. We stayed the night before a cruise and the price was reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camberley, England

Great Location in Venice

Posted Aug 15, 2017
stayed 1 night and loved it. beautiful room and ideal location. staff extremely helpful. could not ask for more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good Hotel central to ameneties

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The Staff
Cons: could do with a little updating in places
Location: Central location you could easily reach the city centre in minutes
Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfasts. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Beautiful hotel on a canal

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We loved this hotel and the staff! We had plenty of room for two adults and two teenage boys. The breakfast was wonderful and helped get our day in Venice started. It can be difficult to navigate in Venice in general but a downloaded map we used offline was a lifesaver and we had no issues finding the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

central location

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: staff spoke a good level of english and the rooms were very clean.
Cons: air con on upper level. More information in an arrival pack
Due to our flight time we had little choice of room which was a little disappointing. Mezzanine floor where our bed was meant bizarrely the air conditioning worked well on the lower level but useless on the upper where the bed was located. Details for the online connection were wrong in the welcome form and once connected the signal strength was poor. Sadly the hotel was less than we expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great position to see all of Venice!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: How clean and tidy it was.
We were very happy with our stay here. The staff were all very welcoming, the rooms very clean, tidy and well kept. The inclusive breakfast was a great way to start the day and was always well stocked. The position of hotel is simply perfect. All of Venice is basically in four directions as you are virtually central. The Rialto boat stop (orange line) takes you from and straight back to the airport which means only a relatively short journey with your case through the streets which at the start and end of a holiday is important!