Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Anthony

Good Value.

Posted Nov 28, 2017 on Hotels
A weekend away with the family. The hotel just fitted the bill. We needed a small clean hotel and a bed. We were out all day and late into the evening. It was just right for us. In a quiet but good spot. Staff very friendly. Some might say old - but we found it full of character. Good value for a weekend in Venice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Noisy and disappointing breakfast

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Easy walking distance to everything - the train station, San Marco Square, Rialto Bridge, etc.
The hotel room was not at all like the picture displayed on the website. It was extremely small. The bed was a double not queen-size. The included breakfast was disappointing. No fresh fruit, no cheese, no cold meats! The family who own and run the hotel hang out in the reception area most of the day and talk very loudly. This noise carries up the stairs which makes it difficult to rest or relax during the day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Bed bugs, don't stay here!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We stayed in the apartment location for this hotel. We were eaten alive by bugs and had marks all over our body and face that required medicine to stop itching. It was the beginning of our Italy Trip and we were very disappointed. Expedia did nothing and neither did the hotel to deal with our issue. Save yourself the hassle and avoid staying here.
4 out of 5
by Reymundo

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient location ,easy access to transportation, clean room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Room was not as advertised, completely different

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Wotif
Room was different (and worse) than shown on photo, we booked a double bed yet the room came with 2 singles. We asked if we could have a double bed (which we paid for) but got told we'd have to pay extra for the upgrade, or wait until tomorrow for the beds to be made into a double. Sadly wouldn't recommend
3 out of 5
by Jon

As a late replacement it was ok

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
This was a last minute booking as the other apartment we booked let us down. It was convenient and it served a purpose. Wouldn't be my first choice and it does need some work to it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Place was fine, but it's a shared bathroom

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a room and when we got there it was a shared bathroom. Nowhere on our reservation did it list the bathroom was shared, so best to check with the hotel before you get there...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Horrible old hotel in an alley.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Old smelly hotel in an alley. 10mins walk from the train station. Room was in terrible condition. Tried to change another room but was told by the front desk there aren't any room available. So we booked another hotel and checked out immediately and suddenly they said there are rooms available. Horrible services, no integrity and disgusting room. Stay at your own risk. Stayed for less than 30mins and left due to the terrible condition of the room. If you do not want to ruin your holiday, book elsewhere. I'd recommend La Palazzina Veneziana which we book after checking out and it was heaven compared to this. On the side note, we brought up to Expedia and the hotel denies all allegations and said we have hygiene issues. How are there hygiene issues if the hotel was clean? I would attach photos if we didn't want to leave asap.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great location!

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location, furniture and free breakfast!
Cons: 1. The staff needs to be more friendly. 2. The towels the provided were so thin it felt like they were sheets and not towels!
Location: Everything is within walking distance. We stayed for 24 hrs and did the touristy thing to do: walk the streets, ride a gondola, sight see and shop.
Firstly: Please read to make sure that the information of this hotel clearly states that check in is in a different location. We arrived from Rome to the Santa Lucia Station and used google maps to direct us to the check in location. Please, PLEASE note that there are TWO Calle Della Masena. We had luggages that we dragged through cobblestone and carried up and down stairs to pass canals to find out that we were at the wrong location. I had bought and Italian sim card and attempted to call the hotel but the phone number listed on expedia is incorrect. So if you use google maps, choose the Calle Della Masena closer to the Santa Lucia station. Upon arriving to the right location, our check in was where our room was at. And our passports were held for the duration of our stay at the hotel (I guess as an insurance policy?). The room looked exactly as the picture portrayed and was spacious. I loved the antique feel of the furniture, it takes you back in time. A con to this hotel is the restroom which was located outside our room (but I guess that's common for European hotels). The restroom was clean and there was hot water but it seems like it was added on to the building as an afterthought. I am 5' and 90 pounds, very petite and felt that the restroom was tiny! We shared with an adjoining room but it was so clean and always free when I needed it. The best feature of this hotel is how central it is in Venice. Everything is within walking distance.