Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Frederick

Another great stay

Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at this hotel many time we have been to Venice. It's in a great location away from the madness yet close enough to get to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Silvia, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Frederick, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Palazzo Cendon. We are really happy you are satisfied with your stay, and we hope to have you again at our hotel to give you, as always, the best service that we reserve to our guests. Warm regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent choice of hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, decor, bathroom and breakfast.
Cons: Wifi could be free.
Location: Very good bar / restaurant just next door.
We were very pleased to have chosen this hotel, very good location to walk to the attractions of Venice. Very good room and private bathroom. When looking online for a hotel we were shocked to see many rooms have shared bathrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Giulia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing Palazzo Cendon as your retreat during your holiday in Venice. We hope to have made a significant contributed to making your holiday in Venice a truly unique experience. It would be a pleasure to have you again here in Venice. Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW

Boutique hotel in Venice

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Reasonable location and friendly staff
Cons: Better in room facilities and a refresh of the bedding
The hotel is extremely difficult to find with the entrance off the main street with a very small sign. However this is typical for Venice however regular visitors to the city should be aware. The hotel was old (as is everything in Venice), however the room was smelly and lacked basic amenities such as tissues and tea and coffee making facilities. The air conditioning did not work and the sheets were only changed during our 3 night stay upon our request on the final day. Breakfast was a disappointment and reception and the meals area did not open until 8.00am which was inconvenient for our early morning departure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Silvia, Hotel Management
Dear Roy, thank you for writing an honest review about Palazzo Cendon. We are sorry you encountered some inconveniences during your stay. We kindly inform you that Venice regulations are very strict about any sort of skyline and public modifcation (i.e. signs on walls or even antennas) and because of that we are not allowed to hang any sign on the outside walls. While it is true that our guests do not find amenities such as tea bags in their rooms, we can provide them upon request. The air conditioning did not work because in autumn only the heating works. We could, however, provide some fans if requested. As for the sheet change, it is normally done every 3 days as an average routine; of course, if we are informed in advance of a particular allergy or need to get fresh new sheets every day, we can always fulfill every guest's request. As for breakfast, it is true that this service starts from 8AM and stops at 10AM, but we usually provide a breakfast tray the night before for early departures, always upon request. We thank you for your stay and we hope to welcome you again here at Palazzo Cendon with a better service. Best regards
3 out of 5
by Christine

Three days in Venice

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great helpful and polite staff . Although breakfast was (free ? ) considering the room price we thought it could have been better . There were no tea / coffee making facilities in the room or hotel making it necessary to leave the hotel to get refreshments, other than at breakfast .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017
Dear Christine, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Palazzo Cendon. We are glad you were satisfied with our service. We kindly inform you that we have no room service, but on request we can provide a tray with a kettle, some cups and some tea bags, so you can drink tea comfortably in your room. We hope to have you at our cozy hotel again in the future. Best regards
4 out of 5
by Ann

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017
Dear Ann, thank you for rating positively your stay at Palazzo Cendon. We hope to have you again at our hotel in the future! Warmest regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

No facilities for making coffee. Wonderful staff

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Cramped and small rooms and dining room. Today expect to be able to make coffee in any hotel room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Silvia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time of writing a comment about your stay at Palazzo Cendon. We are sorry to hear that you were displeased with our room and breakfast. Usually we provide a kettle and some tea bags in the room upon request and without any charge. As for the coffee, as you have seen, we only have the large machine available at breakfast time. Thank you for your precious feedback. It will be useful to improve our service and meet our guests' expectations. Best regards
5 out of 5
by John

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
Really liked this place. It is about a 10 minute walk from the train station, and situated in an old palace (13th century) on an active canal. Really nice service as we needed to drop off bags the first day, and hang around late night in their lobby as we waited for the train the last. Breakfast was nice with cereals, meats, fresh fruit, juices and coffee. And my 3rd floor room (triple) was surprisingly very spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Dear John, thank you for taking the time to write a kind review about Palazzo Cendon. We are happy everything went well with your stay. Reviews such as yours are our greatest reward for the dedication we put in our work. In the hope to welcome you again at Palazzo Cendon as our valued guest, we send you our warmest regards. Silvia
2 out of 5
by randhir

Never again.

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Our room had a god awful smell that the reception said was "venice". The air conditioning took 4 hours to cool the room and there was no fan. The bed was hard and they only provided 2 sad little scratchy pillows. You could not prop the pillow up against the headboard to read as it was too small. The free breakfast sucked except for the orange juice which was fresh. They served some gas station quality boiled meat salami which was terrible. Oh, and you had to pay extra for wifi. While the hotel is right on a canal, our room was right in the back, number 6 on the top floor. It had one tiny window overlooking the neighbour's laundry area. Being on the top floor meant that the room was extra hot at night. And I've already mentioned the poor AC. The area was great though. Venice is the epitome of "touristy" but this area is a little off the beaten path. There is a cool bar right on the corner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your honest review. We were sorry to know that you were disappointed with your stay at Palazzo Cendon. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. We are also sorry that the breakfast didn't live up to your expectations, as we have received good feedback lately. We nonetheless appreciate your criticism as it will help us to improve the quality of the service offered to our Guests. Please accept our apologies for the issues you have experienced. However, we do hope that, despite your disappointment, you will give us another chance to give you our best service next time you will be in Venice. Best regards, Silvia
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
What a great place to stay, try to get a balcony suite if you can. Lovely overlooking canal with a drink. Included breakfast was totally adequate and sets you up for the day. Try Brek (next to Universo Nord) for good value meals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words of appreciation toward Palazzo Cendon. We are glad you were pleased with your stay and we hope to give you again our warmest welcome in Venice. Best regards, Silvia
5 out of 5
by Joyce

Wonderful

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful view of Venice Canal from our balcony which would've been 2x the price if we stayed in San Marco area. Cannaregio is quieter area but walkable to main points, 20 mins to Rialto bridge (leisurely) & another 15-20 mins to St. Marks square which was awesome! Along the way we passed all the elite designer stores and lots of souvenir shopping, restaurants/even McDonalds! Hop on hop off (city sightseeing) boat stop also very close. Reception is 8am-1am but they gave us a key to get in after 1am. A Bar/resto is also just downstairs. Breakfast was basic (pastries/bread/croissant/cold cuts/cheese juice coffee and did its job to start off our daily journeys. Took the orange line Alilaguna water taxi from the airport and hotel was close enough from the Guglie stop not bad with our luggage. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017
Dear Joyce, your heartfelt review is a great feedback for us but also for other future guests who will choose Palazzo Cendon for their retreat. We thank you for your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you again. Best regards from Venice, Silvia