Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff
Location: Well situated not far from the main Railwat station , shops and the Front
Been to this hotel many times and have enjoyed every visit Nice setting and surprisingly quiet when considering where it is situated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oxford

Quaint hotel disappointing room

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Quaint and ornate reception and lounge
Cons: Bed and bedroom NO WAY a superior room!
Location: Good location
Bathroom clean staff helpful but a 2* room uncomfortable bed squeezed between two stone pillars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from z

Bad hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Bad hotel unsafe bathroom bad location and serveses no refund no upgrade no exchange with other hotels . The ready available execuis NO VACANCES .
3 out of 5
by sofiane from LONDON

Basic hotel offering basic services

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
I had a small duplex room and was surprised when I tried to use the bath. The smell was horrible like the smell of a sanitory sewer system. The room was very basic without coffee/ tea facilities. I forgot to say that I was asked to give 100£ as deposit to the front desk agent. First time I am asked to do so in an Hotel in France, above all for a room already paid by Bank card. Other hotels in the same city are offering better services and are quite often more competitive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Fantastic location 10 minutes walk from the town

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, comfort of whole hotel. Friendly and efficient staff. Great breakfasts.
Cons: Sun loungers!
Location: Just a 10 minute walk into the town with myriad bars and cafes, but far enough away for peace and quiet.
We booked this hotel two weeks before journeying to Cannes for our honeymoon in August 2015, after a complete nightmare involving British Airways and a trip to the Bahamas. Well, Cannes and the Golden Tulip more than made up for our disappointment in not going to Freeport! We loved the hotel, the super friendly and efficient staff, the good quality breakfasts, the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms - all superb. Our room was a triple, which didn't leave a whole load of space to waltz around but with Cannes on your doorstep how much time do you spend in your room anyway! Plus this is one of the only hotels in Cannes with a swimming pool - perfect for lazy days! Only one comment though - as funky as the sun loungers look, they really aren't all that comfortable! And near to impossible for laying on your front!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Nice Staff
Location: Good location for all of Cannes
Stayed there before no problem Trains a bit noisy NIce Staff Expensive Food
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Horsham

It's Just Pot Luck

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: We did think that the staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good too. Some refurbishment helps too.
Cons: Obviously, there is still some way to go with the refurbishments and perhaps a bit more observation as to what clients have actually booked.
Location: 4 star hotel in 1 star location, right behind a 6 lane expressway vaulting above the main railway line. Station is close and only 10 mins walk to town
When booking this hotel through Expedia, the room we chose trumpeted ' A Superior room with Queen bed and space for a small child's bed if required. What we got was a musty smelling small attic room on the 4th floor with a new double bed, new carpet, decoration which seemed to be 'work in progress' and a very tired looking bathroom. Oh, well, the weather is nice so let's not dwell on it. After the 5th night, half choked on liberal doses of lemon air freshener, presumably instructed to be sprayed by the maid, we awoke to the pitter patter of rain dripping through the ceiling onto the the duvet. We quickly got dressed and reported the situation. 3 hours later we were allocated another 'Superior' room on the second floor which was fully refurbished and seemed to match the room description at the time of booking. We were promised 'breakfast on the house' that morning, but as we had already paid in advance, upon our checkout the receptionist said that it would have to be checked with the manager as it was a package booked through Expedia. Great !
3 out of 5
by Norbert from Berne

Nice stay

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
It is a nice hotel in one of the less pleasant surroundings of Cannes
5 out of 5
by Rachel from Salt Lake City, UT

My new favorite and home in Cannes

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was refreshigly accomodating from initially granting my request to have a room w/a bath tub, storing my insulin in fridge, patiently and repeatedly explaining detailed directions to various destinations on foot, by car and the various parking rules, regulatios, prices and schedule. When a local friend came to visit me she was escorted personally to my door by Raymond graciously without any expectation or hesitation for compensation. Argen, paciently and calmly exlpained and assisted me with several requests above and beyond the typical. Pierre's level of service was beyond wonderful. I felt welcome, warm and at home at the Golden Tulip and was sad to leave.