Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a surprise...

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Orbitz
We arrived in Canes by the TER train. The hotel is not far from the train station, a few minutes of walk toward the south, and from there one block away from the sea further south... When we arrived in the afternoon of a late March day, the hotel was closed, off-season as the Canes Film Festival was still two months away as many other small businesses nearby were all closed... Before we started to panic, I saw the notice with a French number to call. Luckily, I had international plan with my cell phone before leaving, and I called. The owner spoke good enough English, and asked us to walk back north about 100 yeas on the same street. It is the Florian Hotel (named after the street it is facing, I guess). The staff was waiting for us, and the hotel is small and nice, and just renovated. They had not finished the art paining on the wall of the hallway yet. Although small, the bed is comfortable, the bath and toilet are all new! The staff guided us for where to go for dinner, and the simple continental breakfast next morning was warm and good. Overall, we felt it is a big surprise, and we are rating another hotel because we did not step into the hotel we booked, but we are very happy with everything. If you happen to travel by train and want one-night crash-stay in Canes, the Florian Hotel near the SNCF train station is the place to go...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Location is the saving grace here

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location Easy to find simple
Cons: Décor and bathrooms need full refresh older staff need to be more like the younger guy who works during the afternoons/ evenings breakfast
Location: shop eat drink beach party
You cannot beat the location but you def get what you pay for here In the heart of town, moments from the bars and beach, shopping all around you The hotel itself is VERY dated, we were 3 floors up with no lift and as the main building has no air con this is very hot during the summer, especially if you are carrying luggage or pregnant like myself. the rooms are very basic, dated in style and décor, even down to the bedding. the bathroom too was tiny and very dated. It was all sufficient though, and you don't go to Cannes to spend your day in your B&B room that's for sure. Staff - the young guy on reception was delightful, friendly and helpful. The older lady, who I believe to the manager/owner is very miserable. Reception is only manned until 9pm Breakfast served in your room or in 'Reception' - a tiny space outside a number of peoples bedrooms, where everyone comes and goes, is like a basic school meal, served from a stack of trays, for 1 Euro more, you can eat at one of the lovely cafes near by for a much tastier selection in the sunshine There is also very loud building works at the rear of the hotel on the next building, which woke me at 7am Saying all that, for a relatively cheap and great location I would go back but now have more realistic expectations
5 out of 5
by Wai Yin from Hong Kong

Enjoyable stay there

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
My two nights stay there was pleasant. The location is good that it sits just beside the beach with street vibes out of my window, and by walking you can reach all the sites in Cannes. Staffs are helpful, friendly and eager to help you through your stay. It is by far the best affordable hotel I stay in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very small room off of croisette near Palais.

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
lobby at top of long staircase. no amenities, my room was located off of narrow reception area, very small with hardly room to maneuver.
2 out of 5
by William from Dallas

Great location, nice price, but small/smelly

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel has two of the big three things going for it: a great price in a city of very expensive things (price), and the location is very nice (location)- but the facilities and cleanliness leave much to be desired (cleanliness). The room was very small, even by France standards, the toilet was electric, and it was so close to the wall that I had to get creative to use it (I'm 6'- and I couldn't sit on it). The shower was tiny, too. The room smelled like beach funk, and the A/C emitted a sour vinegar smell when turned on. The outdated fixtures and lighting only add to the overall shabby feel. My fiance cried when we got to the room, and I felt similarly panicked, but nothing a little French food and wine couldn't put us at ease about. The hotel is a block off the beach, sits above some of the TripAdvisor top-10 rated restaurants in Cannes, and with the money we saved on lodging we were able to affird very nice beach rentals and food- so it all evened out in the end.
4 out of 5
by monica from Marseille

Good hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for a new years eve in Cannes. The reason was for watching the fireworks on the bay of cannes. Location if this hotel is so perfect, close to the beach - within less than 100 m-, walking distance to the train station and commercial area. The owner was very nice and she explained about cannes and its interesting places. Love the fact that a lot of good restaurant nearby. Definetely recommended...
5 out of 5
by harel from Los Angeles

CANNES 2014

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
overall it was an extremely pleasant experience. the room was cleanthe owners of the hotel to care of all our needshe was very conveniently located I would definitely go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack

Great hotel within steps from the beach.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Location! Beach, restaurants, and bars all within 5 minutes walk. 10 minute walk from train station.
Cons: No lift.
Location: Public and private beach within a 2 minute walk. Can rent a mattress at a private beach for little money. Train tour at boardwalk is very informative.
This was a great little hotel right in the middle of everything at Cannes. Very small room, but comfortable with a/c.
4 out of 5
by Dude from Texas

Perfect Location

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
This place is perfect for the minimalist traveler who just needs a place to sleep at night so you don't look like another vagrant sleeping on the street. It has a bed! It even has a shower, sink, and toilet. Do you miss your mother while you're away from living in her basement? Then this place is perfect place for you. The middle age woman that works there loves to ask you a hundred questions on your way in and out. "Don't forget a coat." "Did you let your dog out?" "Don't stay out too late." "Oh you slept in, did you take your dog out?" Everyday I had to assure her that my dog was grown and so was I. Other than that, GREAT location for ballin' on a budget. I was drunk every night so I didn't have a problem sleeping on the firm mattress. Awesome bars and restaurants right outside. Beaches right across the street. It even has free WiFi, so that was a huge unexpected bonus. No breakfast buffet but I never wake up in time for that anywhere anyway. I would definitely stay there again considering the prices for other hotels next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ali from beirut

Nice hotel

Posted May 19, 2014
I spend 4 nights during the film festival , the owners are very nice , I felt Comfortable، I recommend this nice place :))