Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

An average/above average experience

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: They had a room when I needed it most!!
Cons: I think they're as good as they're going to be able to be.
Location: Extremely close to street. Claustrophobic area. Royal Gorge Park nearby. Italian restaurant behind the motel is excellent.
Motel located in congested area. No place to let our pet relieve itself except on their flowers. Breakfast was well presented and met our needs. Few motels have selections appropriate for diabetics. Staff handled our check-in and out fine. Would not stay there again if better choice was available, primarily because of the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Good price, clean room. I would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Convenient Location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the train depot
Cons: Staff was a little unprofessional in appearance and rather lacking in current hospitality industry standards.
Location: The Royal Gorge Train, Royal Gorge activities, Ziplines, rafting, helicopters, segways. Town otherwise revolves around the prison industry.
We stayed one night at this hotel because we were taking the dinner train through the canyon. So convenience was the driving force. The hotel was just OK. We tried to check in at noon and they were forbidden from allowing us to do so even if rooms were ready. The rooms were fine for a place to sleep. Beds were descent Breakfast was subpar for hotel free breakfasts. so we skipped that Honestly, I would not stay there again. It was really well below my comfort zone in a hotel. Old, unaccommodating, outdated. Left me worried about sanitation standards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Small room not like picture drapes. Falling

Posted Aug 17, 2017
After reviewing room we declined. Staying there staff manager wonder ful about canceling without fine us
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Beckie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, General Manager Canon City Econo Lodge 719-276-6900
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Great little recently remodeled pet friendly hotel in perfect location. Train station and veterans park right across the street, main street with popular restaurants 1 block away, minutes away from recreational activities in Royal Gorge area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The first impression we had to go off of was the girl who checked us in, in the evening. She was rude, and about as far away from friendly as you could get. The room was ok, but the first thing I grabbed was the hand towel and it has a brown mark on it. The pillow cases were old and stained from thousands of people laying on them. The only convenient thing was that it was right across from the royal gorge train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Rebecca Swift , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Horrible experience!! Management terrible!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Do not stay here...smelly rooms like stale cigarettes and dirty!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Front Desk , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a online review. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us, your feed back has been shared with the entire staff to ensure that the issue is addressed and improvements are made for future guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

smell

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Halle's smelled of marijuana, a/c didn't work on first night. Breakfast was horrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stop and go hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Adequate for a one night stay. Not fancy just ok. Beds ok. Temp hard to control. Adequate breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Lisa

Not bad - basic accommodations.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Air conditioner not strong so it was a bit warm (though it was 100 degrees outside). Staff was super friendly and helpful. A basic hotel.