Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, reasonably priced hotel.

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Not fancy but the rooms are clean and the staff is pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

An average/above average experience

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: They had a room when I needed it most!!
Cons: I think they're as good as they're going to be able to be.
Location: Extremely close to street. Claustrophobic area. Royal Gorge Park nearby. Italian restaurant behind the motel is excellent.
Motel located in congested area. No place to let our pet relieve itself except on their flowers. Breakfast was well presented and met our needs. Few motels have selections appropriate for diabetics. Staff handled our check-in and out fine. Would not stay there again if better choice was available, primarily because of the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Good price, clean room. I would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Convenient Location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the train depot
Cons: Staff was a little unprofessional in appearance and rather lacking in current hospitality industry standards.
Location: The Royal Gorge Train, Royal Gorge activities, Ziplines, rafting, helicopters, segways. Town otherwise revolves around the prison industry.
We stayed one night at this hotel because we were taking the dinner train through the canyon. So convenience was the driving force. The hotel was just OK. We tried to check in at noon and they were forbidden from allowing us to do so even if rooms were ready. The rooms were fine for a place to sleep. Beds were descent Breakfast was subpar for hotel free breakfasts. so we skipped that Honestly, I would not stay there again. It was really well below my comfort zone in a hotel. Old, unaccommodating, outdated. Left me worried about sanitation standards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Small room not like picture drapes. Falling

Posted Aug 17, 2017
After reviewing room we declined. Staying there staff manager wonder ful about canceling without fine us
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Beckie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, General Manager Canon City Econo Lodge 719-276-6900
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
I like that it was a no smoking hotel. However. Those smoking went just outside the door so we had to walk right through their smoking area witch was unpleasant. Overall the stay was satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Great little recently remodeled pet friendly hotel in perfect location. Train station and veterans park right across the street, main street with popular restaurants 1 block away, minutes away from recreational activities in Royal Gorge area.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Great place great price great staff

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
We moved to this hotel after leaving another, due to conditions and service. The gal at the front desk, I think her name was Beckie, was soo accommodating. She found out that my wife had issues stepping into a high sided tub. She then made sure to get us a handicap accessible room. Not only that, she and one of the maids made sure there was a non-skid rubber mat so no one would slip. Beckie and the staff acted above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay. The maintenance guy even apologized for not having fixed the ice machine. This hotel was clean and quiet with a great staff. Their front desk staff is top notch and deserve a raise. We will definitely be back to this hotel and room 122 and recommend it to friends and family.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Great location for attractions

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
The biggest problem was the A/C unit did not cool the room and cycled on and off all night. The told me on check out that the thermostat is at the unit and only takes the temperature at the unit. They diffidently need to change that. The bathroom is very small and not much room. The internet showed that the tickets for the Royal Gorge train were sold out but went to the depot and they still had tickets. Was able to get on the train that was about to leave.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The first impression we had to go off of was the girl who checked us in, in the evening. She was rude, and about as far away from friendly as you could get. The room was ok, but the first thing I grabbed was the hand towel and it has a brown mark on it. The pillow cases were old and stained from thousands of people laying on them. The only convenient thing was that it was right across from the royal gorge train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Rebecca Swift , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely,