Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winchester

Good hotel convenient location

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Excellent base for one night stay whilst singing at Cathedral. Large room, very clean, reasonable price. Ten minute walk to city centre.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Run-down

Posted Feb 8, 2018
We booked for 1 night but ended leaving shortly after arriving and returning home as the room we were allocated was run-down and dirty.The poor standard of housekeeping is evident from entering the hotel.Its a pet friendly hotel that doesn't allocate seperate rooms for them,they can stay in any room.The room was grubby and dingy and adorned with huge cobwebs.The curtains were stained and torn,the cushions and runner on the bed were stained.We were offered a choice of 2 other rooms that we declined as they were of a similar poor standard.We foolishly paid upfront and was only refunded 50% of what we paid for B&B and don't find this acceptable as we weren't willing to stay in dirty,run-down accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Great room , friendly staff. Was nice stay. Easy to find. Room had all you needed, bed was very comfy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable hotel close to city centre.

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Pros: The hotel is centrally positioned but set well back from a busy road so you are not aware of road noise. Good parking.
Cons: See above.
I had a very spacious, comfortable room which had recently been refurbished to a high standard. Only two small niggling points. The only biscuits on the refreshment tray were gluten free, either have both on offer or none at all. The headboard around the top of the bed totally blocks out the light from the bedside light so to read in bed you have to put on the central light. Otherwise it was a treat to have so much space and the room was very fresh and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire UK

Nice hotel close to town centre

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Close to Canterbury and seaside such as Herne Bay and Whitstable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

stuck in the 80's

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Hotel looks great from outside but V 80''s inside. Room and bathroom bit tired looking, bed comfortable. No hairdryer. Reception were unwelcoming and unhelpful. However great location for town centre etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Nice hotel, close to high street

Posted Jan 19, 2018
It was a nice hotel, I know the bed wasn't perfect, but it wasn't ok either, as me and my wife did our backs in. Anywhere you park in Canterbury you have to pay which was disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Nice staff, but not so nice room.

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Friendly staff and close to Canterbury's center and the Cathedral.
Cons: Not sure...it's just small hotel.
Location: Canterbury's center is close by - a 10 minute walk.
The hotel is small. The hallways/corridors are narrow. Hard to navigate if you have a lot of luggage. The room we had was very small and the bed was literally inches away from the dresser. The bed was pretty hard as well. We constantly felt cramped and it was hard to move around in the room because it was just so small. My partner scalded his hand from the hot water from the shower. It was hard to adjust the water temp and pressure and water splashed all over the floor that we had to use ALL the towels to soak it up. When we left for dinner, we told the front desk and they said they would put more towels in the room, but when we returned, no towels. We had to call again and they sent someone with towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Close to town centre

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Cosy homely comfortable & lovely staff ! Not very modern but has a lovely feel to it ... hearty breakfast decent bar. The suite we had was very big for just us two not requested but appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice hotel convenient for city

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Nice homely hotel walking distance for city have stayed before and will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by S, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again.