Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with rustic charm

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
I arrived late and left early so I can't go into too much detail however the hotel was easy to find, the parking area felt safe and secure, the staff were welcoming and friendly and the rooms were as you would expect for the price. I did have a bit of an issue when I first arrived as the room I was escorted to by the receptionist appeared fine however after a few minutes I realised it was directly above the restaurant where there was obviously a large group having dinner and their laughing and talking could clearly be heard in the room. I went back down to reception and the lady was very apologetic and quickly showed me a much nicer room with period features and a 4 poster bed away from the noise. The building is packed with all the rustic charm you would expect for a property of its age, wooden beams and creaking floorboards. There are a few cosmetic faults that my keen eye spotted but all in all it was a pleasant hotel with plenty of character.
3 out of 5
by Darrell

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Tracey from Gosport

Howfield Mannor Hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful night away staying in this fabulous hotel, Andrei The staff were so friendly and helpful especially Andrei
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Independent hotel with character

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Although a little tired, (bathroom needed updating), the hotel has character & individuality that modern chains do not. Setting is lovely (there is a nearby small light industrial estate, but not visible as hotel surrounded by lovely grounds. Excellent, friendly service. Would stay again, ideal for a weekend visiting Canterbury & area.
4 out of 5
by Clive

comfy accommodation

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
very comfortable accommodation.
5 out of 5
by Clive

welcoming late sandwichs!

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
arrived late so organised sandwiches on arrival as restaurant would be closed. fantastic receptionist organised great sandwiched for my self and colleague. very accommodating staff. great place to say. will book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Hotel set in nice garden and grounds

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Old world charm
Cons: nothing
Location: good location for Canterbury and local coast towns
Found the Hotel easily Staff excellent Food very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford

Very nice hotel with good restaurant

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: The location was great, the bedroom was very spacious well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was great and set us up for the day.
Cons: The shaver point in bathroom didn't work, and the heating was on even though it was a very warm few days,
Location: The Ramesgate Tunnels a must, Quex House was wonderful. The village of Chilham wonderful cream tea at Shellys
We were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary, and were given their bridal suite which had an enormous four poster bed, which was very comfortable. There was a good size TV, and a nice en suite bathroom. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, not just your full English, but kippers, smoked haddock and omelettes were also available. The restaurant was very good with two set menus, one £25 for 3 courses, the other £28 for 3 courses. The food was well cooked and presented. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We will return as we like to visit Kent at least once a year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantasitc food

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
Fantasitc food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent welcome, lovely location, good food