Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Small and friendly.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Staff, food and atmosphere
Cons: Just minor maintenance required
Location: Stayed due to wedding nearby. Will stay again
Small and friendly, great atmosphere, great food and very friendly staff. Lovely stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice country side stay

Posted Sep 8, 2017
A bit of a trek from the town of Canterbury where our conference was which we weren't aware of but once we arrived a we enjoyed all aspects of the duke of cumberland. The pub staff is fantastic and very helpful. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was homemade and delicious! We would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Posted Aug 22, 2017
A very relaxing and comfortable overnight stay thus I would not hesitate to stay there again. There was plenty of parking space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stayed with my kids

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Comfort, great staff
Cons: Room 1 is a touch noisy due to bar proximity but not a massive issue
Location: We came here from Leeds Castle, and used it as a base to go to Margate, Dover and Folkestone
We spent two nights there in a family roof, comfortable, staff were great and we ate there both nights as the food was good. It is a bit off the beaten track but worth finding for a good stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

country pub

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Olde worlde pub
Cons: Just finish the improvements.
Location: Near channel crossings Folkestone and Dover and Canterbury City.
Although there were workmen everywhere improvements to the pub can only be a bonus .It was quiet at night and breakfast was enjoyable,lovely village location.
5 out of 5
by David

Excellent value

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Very convenient place to stay, in a country village close to the A2, for visiting the Dover and Canterbury area. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, making our 5 night stay very enjoyable. The breakfasts and evening meals were all very good. Although the room was quite small it was more than adequate for our needs and the bed was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Keith

Good

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Good food .ideal location for lydden hil
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stourbridge

Good standard

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Friendley staff
Cons: Reception in pub
Three double rooms available, small but clean. Good food and staff. Staid for one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

We loved it!!

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Breakfast was wonderful. Delightful staff. So fun to room right above a pub. Great deserts. So nice to be out in the country, but you'll need a car.