Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Room was full of charector. Staff were helpfull and food was well cooked. Overall great experiance and some where id stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely stay.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Lovely stay in the converted barn. Good location to visit Canterbury and Folkestone. Nice breakfast and very friendly staff. Will be back!
4 out of 5
by chd104 from Uk

Pretty Stop Over

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Clean, large, comfortable room in lovely location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Pretty location - near Channel Tunnel

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Location: Lovely village - several nearby pubs as well as this one. Quiet and
Great people - helpful and friendly (held restaurant when we arrived late). Very pretty village. Handy for Channel tunnel trips. Rooms are spacious and comfy. Wifi good, but as there is no mobile reception there, it does need to be!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for travel via Eurotunnel

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: need to 'prop up' the plunger on the bath mixer tap that switches from shower to bath to keep it on shower - we used an elastic band
Location: Perfect for Eurotunnel - PERFECT!
Location great, food choice in restaurant ample, rooms comfortable and breakfast ample
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leigh-on-Sea, Essex

Great hotel - spacious room

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Very spacious and comfortable room with great facilities. Pub food excellent too. Would visit again.
4 out of 5
by Rebecca

Amazing food!

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful pub in a beautiful village. No signal, but free wifi, certainly not a problem! Food was amazing. The room was lovely, nice and big, bathroom incredibly clean. only flaws were the rooms were not very sound proof, people walking around in room above was incredibly noisy in our room and secondly the shower was very inconsistent in temperature, scolded myself a couple of times! However, overall lovely pub, with lovely hosts. Would consider staying again.
5 out of 5
by ALAN

5 star gem

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed one night when travelling to Dover. Friendly welcome, great room, superb food in the evening and substantial tasty breakfast, what more could you want, a real 5* gem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oro-Medonte, ON

A real piece of the English countryside

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The pub atmosphere was very relaxing and my wife and I enjoyed a leisurely 3 hour dinner and after dinner drinks. Everyone was very friendly.
Cons: Nothing! It is what I had hoped for in a countryside English inn.
Location: A great location to Canterbury, Herne Bay and St. Margaret's Bay at Cliffe, which are all a must see. Dover and the Chunnel are also close by.
We recently stayed at the Rose and Crown upon return from a few days in Paris. This true English pub and inn is in true English tradition. The ride to Elham is beautiful. Upon arrival we knew we had made the right choice for the experience we were looking for. Parking was available and we were welcomed by some locals upon check-in, as the reception is located in the pub. Our room, 5, was very large and well appointed. The pub had an outdoor patio located in the back and an entry to the pub and the eating areas was also located back there for any guests. We ate dinner and breakfast there and recommend it to anyone. The dinner area is located on the pub side and the meals were amazing. Breakfast, which was included, was located on the other side of the pub and was equally amazing. Eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, salmon, Eggs Benedict were a few of the available breakfast options. A true gem in the English countryside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Attention to Detail

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Attentive staff, location and "special breakfast".
Location: Good for the Channel Tunnel, Dover Castle and Canterbury.
Having briefly mentioned that my son was so fussy about food while having a beer at 11.00am we were pleasantly surprised when his breakfast bacon sandwich arrived cooked perfectly and buttered on the bottom side of the sandwich only, not too thick or thin........we had forgotten the conversation the night before. My son is very fussy about his food! A great place to stay if wanting a stay close to the channel tunnel or local attractions.