Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old historic hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was the bartender Karen. If they could find more help like her this hotel would be great. The history
Cons: CLEAN!!!!!
Location: We went downtown to the art district and it was so neat. So many different statues
Walking into the hotel I was quite impressed. We were able to walk in and get our room quickly by a really nice man. When we walked out of the elevator I was surprised at how old and dingy the hallway looked like. It is not hard to change out vent filters so that there is not dirt on the walls nor the ceiling. Entering the room I was like "ok this isn't that bad" then I laid on the hard bed with crappy pillows. Oh well we got a good deal on the room. We then went to the bar and met the bartender Karen (the best thing about that hotel). She was very nice and gave us a map of downtown. When we got back Karen was still at the bar and she suggested that we have the steak. The steak was AMAZING. Karen worked her but off but was still personable and wonderful. The next morning we went for the free breakfast and that was horrible. You could not get anyone to wait on you and the selection was awful. The waffles were gross. No eggs or bacon. So you just got cereal, muffins, fruit and something to drink. And NO ONE will get you a refill or ask you how you meal was. The waitress was there once and that was it. She sure could check on the ladies in the corner about 20 times. My suggestion is that they clean the hotel, get someone in the morning that cares and have better food. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone because they need to be more personable and get some help to serve ALL customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

grand hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
This grand hotel was a pleasant place to stay. The room was comfortable. I enjoyed the treadmill. the morning breakfast was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Not So Grand McKinley Grand

Posted Sep 18, 2017
This hotel was disgusting. The only good parts about it were the check in staff was nice and the check out staff was nice. The rooms are outdated, old dresser, barely any channels on the TV. Our shower curtain had a hole in it. You can't close the curtains all the way so no privacy. The pool was disgusting with brown spots at the bottom. Our light was out on one of the lamps so the room was not well lit. There is also no refrigerator or microwave in the room. The breakfast was oatmeal, hashbrowns, and bagels. Like not worth anything. Also there were kids loitering outside messing with guests, informed hotel staff that was on duty Saturday 9/16/2017 at 9:20PM and she says with attitude "are they bothering you? Okay?". Like totally rude and disrespectful. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Don't stay here!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Great hotel staff and the room was clean even though it was an older building. You recieve a complimentary breakfast for each day. There is a tv in the room along with a dresser and mirror which was good. We really wished we could've had a mini fridge and microwave...another negative was that there was NO free parking. Meters are on the sides of the building or you can park in the garage across the street which will cost a pretty penny if your stay at the hotel is long. Next time we will opt for a stay at a Quality Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Good overall value

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, Lounge and Restaurant, Price
Cons: The rooms are dark and dated.
It's an older hotel. The rooms could use some updating.The restaurant an bar are nice. Free breakfast was good. Overall, good back for the buck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick response

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to training site. Easy access.
Had an issue with air conditioning not working, but it was quickly addressed. Furniture is showing age, but room was clean and bed comfortable which was the most important. Staff informed me of opportunity to park at a meter overnight and avoid garage parking fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Good value in downtown Canton

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Check-in and out were very efficient and the breakfast was a nice surprise. I also appreciated the coffee maker in the room.
Location: The location is in center-city with a museum directly across the street. The police headquarters were within a block so our car was quite secure.
The hotel was clean, professional and included a varied breakfast buffet with a waitress taking your beverage order. The cost for the night was much less than for budget chains in the area. It was quiet and we were quite comfortable. The was a pool getting a lot of visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel was very unique and had a lot character. It was clean, modern, and walking distance to a lot restaurants. We would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable friendly staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Unique property close to everything comfortable with restaurants and bar
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bowie MD

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: the front desk folks were very pleasant.
Cons: The hotel itself needs to be updated and more modern room facilities.
Location: Location downtown. Nothing to do locally.
The hotel is old fashion. The rooms were not too par. The bathroom outdated. They did not clean my room or bring fresh towels. The AC system was horrible. Also had no parking facility.