Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Endicott Ny

Very Quaint Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Cons: A very minor change .. they serve 24 hour coffee which is a nice touch could you serve the dairy creamers versus the packet creamers
First let me say that I was a little concerned about staying at this hotel because you of the mixed reviews I read on Expedia as well as Trip Advisor.. My daughter had a music audition at SUNY Potsdam and the other hotels that weekend were running 150- 199 a night and we were staying for the entire weekend so I decided on going the cheaper route so we picked this hotel .. We had a wonderful stay ! The hotel was spotless , the staff were very professional and the room was very nice ! We have not one complaint ! the breakfast as well was good .. we will definitely stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to colleges

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location to the local colleges!
Cons: Needs a total make over!
Location: great walmart down the road but that's about it. Not a lot of nicer restaurants to choose from.
Pros: Staff is friendly and helpful. Decent breakfast each morning! Rooms are good size. Refrigerator and microwave are big plus! Comfy beds! Cons: Hotel is older and outdated. Horrible odor when you enter (smells like mold/water issue) Our rooms wallpaper was peeling in a few locations. Curtains were splattered with something white...eww! Heat took a long time to get the room warm. Rugs are gross!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to SLU

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Room was nice! Staff was excellent, we were able to check in early after a very long ride.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Doesn't appear open...or inviting

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The beds have lovely white duvet covers and many pillows.
Cons: Desk clerks need to be more welcoming and pleasant. Breakfast should be hot and fresh, not pre-packaged like in a convenience store.
Location: The location is central and convenient, near to St. Lawrence University and Canton village. Close to shopping, theater, golf course.
Arrived to a snowy (not plowed) drive. The person at the desk was there, yet not overly friendly. When you enter the building, there is an overwhelming smell of chlorine (pool). The room was clean and the bed comfortable, but the hotel definitely needs updates. Breakfast was completely disappointing, with a few (3 total) breakfast sandwiches in the cooler with instructions to microwave, an equally sparse number of Danish (plastic wrapped), and cold cereal. When I checked out, the desk clerk was sitting at her desk on the computer and didn't even get up! She just asked if I already had a receipt, not whether or not I enjoyed my stay, etc. The staff at this hotel needs a refresher on hospitality!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is conveniently located near colleges

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: If I hadn't had the problems I did, the price was reasonable.
Cons: Better attention to cleaning by housekeeping and more support for the problems I encountered.
While the overall appearance of the room was clean, upon further inspection, their were large hand print on the windows, food from previous occupants had been left in the cupboards, and the drain the the tub in the bathroom, did not work. When I showered the tub filled up with water. When this was reported to the desk, they were apologetic but did not offer to make it right. I have stayed here previously and had good experiences. In fact, it was my favorite hotel in the area. Since the ownership changed, the quality of the hotel has declined.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: they help us
very good hotel staff very nice and helpful and I was very happy they help us very much and they help us to check in early went to the best western they was very bad thank you foe everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at University Suites hotel! We were happy to do everything we could to accommodate you. We look forward to having you stay in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Spacious room, abundant heat (it was a cold, snowy night), and a full, complimentary breakfast service. Staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at University Suites Hotel. We look forward to having you again in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The smell in the halls and woman licker room was awful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for parents of college students

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel offered a great breakfast. Room was large and comfy. Location was perfect if you're checking out the colleges in the area. Nice pool and hot tub as well, however, the hot tub was not hot at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Nice,clean comfortable