Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather a Hostel than Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Central location in Locarno. (if you travel by car use parking "Centro Castello" it's 9CHF for 24 hours from hotel)
Cons: Some warm cover on the floor can be helpful. And window frames need some inspection (it was freezing cold)
Location: Locarno in winter time is not the best place to go in general. You may want to visit Funicular and Madonna del Sasso
The place is good for a sop on your fay, not for a stay in Locarno. On our Swiss trip we wanted to spend one day in Locarno, and decided to stay for a night. Be careful, don't be mislead by hotel's photos, the building is vintage (perhaps even classic), but the condition is rather old as well. You'll find a sink in the room and a shared bathroom in a hallway. And if you stay here in winter be sure to grab all the warm stuff you have - it's really cold inside. To be fare I should admit the price you pay is the quality you get - so if you're a backpacker seeking for shelter it's a decent choice, if it's warm outside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay at this hotel in Locarno

Posted Nov 30, 2016
I liked my stay here. I was only there for a night but the room was comfortable and decent. Yes, it may be a bit on the older side but everything works fine and is clean. It's also very central so that was great to walk around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gary from Hong Kong

Budget choice with good breakfast

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Outside toilet and shower room as we stayed at the annex. Reasonable price with buffet breakfast. Can't beat the central location.
2 out of 5
by colin from canterbury

Unhelpful

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
The reception woman was at best unhelpful,Breakfast was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Unless you have to, I would avoid this place

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Room size, receptionists (English speaking would be nice), bathrooms, elevator, air conditioning
Location: Grand Piazza, Hiking
First of all, the receptionist didn't speak English. I find this odd as this job entails you to speak with many tourists. This made communication unnecessarily difficult. Having lots of heavy luggage, she gave us a room on the highest floor. They have no elevators, so we had to lug all of this up 3 flights of steep stairs. The room was tiny; I'm not sure how they even got the bed in there as that is the only thing that fit. They had no AC and the bathroom is shared for the whole floor (not just between two rooms as we thought). The bathroom doesn't have a shower, and the only shower is way down the hall. We ended up not showering. It was loud outside and the walls are paper thin. This was one of our most expensive stays and the hotel really wasn't worth it. I would avoid
3 out of 5
by Elena from Tel Aviv

Severe hotel in great location

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels
Great location , poor facilities in the hotel.