Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Eduardo from Geneva

Fantastic location, nice option to explore Ticino

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, perfectly located in front of the lake in Muralto/Locarno. Simple but very nice breakfast and ok service. The decoration looks a bit dated but it does not compromise on comfort. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Cinzia, Hotel Management
Dear Eduardo, thank you very much for the very good review that you made about our hotel. Yes, as you said, our hotel has a very long story and you can feel it as soon as you enter into the building, although this does not compromise our comfort. We would like to thank you for the possibility you gave us and would be happy to welcome you once more in Ticino. Best regards, General Manager Cinzia Belingheri and Team.
5 out of 5
by Juan Carlos

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Close to train station and walking distance to center. Lots of restaurants around. Quiet neighborhood. Great breakfast (high chairs available) and friendly staff. Fantastic view of the lake and mountains. HIGHLY recommend taking a room with lake view and balcony. Relax while the little one(s) sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Cinzia, Hotel Management
Dear Juan Carlos, thank you for your wonderful review! Our greatest aim is to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible and we are very pleased to read that we have achieved this goal. We are happy that you felt comfortable and that you enjoyed your time at the RAMADA Hotel in Locarno. We look forward to welcome you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location Great Value Happy US Traveller

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
For the value very good Breakfast was included. Right on North end of Lago Maggiore close to centrum and Navigorie and Funiculora up to Orselina and then up to Cimetta. There's a great grotto on the hike down or up called Lo Stallone great authentic Ticinese cuisine. Leonardo was very helpful and friendly from arrival to departure as was all other front desk staff housekeeping and resturaunt. Only draw back for me would like to have had a pool to sit and read when done with hikes. Perhaps they can work something out with the other RAMADA west of this hotel site to accommodate guests. Otherwise very please and would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Cinzia, Hotel Management
Buongiorno, thank you very much for you excellent review. It was a pleasure to welcome you here in Locarno and if you might decide to come to visit Switzerland once more, it would be a pleasure to us to be your host again. Best regards, General Manager Cinzia Belingheri and Team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Perfect stay with reasonable prices

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Cons: extended opening hours for breakfast at fesitval times (ombres & luce)
very nice and warm welcome, very comfortable room, perfectly situated directly at the Lago Maggiore, breakfast in front of the Lago Maggiore, very relaxing :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Heblinsky, thank you very much for the good review. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tillsonburg, Ont

Pretty hotel with great views

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Hotel staff was great. Wonderful view of the lake right across the street. No english spoken or understood in the restaurant. Menus were in italian or german.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno sallij, thank you very much for the good review. Best regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Hotel needs complete redecoration They should put in a pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno, thank you for your review. Best regards.
4 out of 5
by A. Leung from Hong Kong

Hotel room with lake view

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
Location of the hotel is convenient. It is in walking distance from the train station and there are many restaurants nearby. The room I stayed was with a spacious balcony facing the lake. Breakfast was good too. I enjoyed the 2-night stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cinzia, Hotel Management
Buongiorno A. Leung, thank you very much for the good review and even more we would like to thank you for taking your time to evaluate our hotel even after your stay. We do have a very unique location and that has been one of the strongest point of our hotel since ever. We do hope to see you again here in Locarno. Best regards, General Manager Cinzia Belingheri and Team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely lake views

Posted Sep 29, 2014
All hotel staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to have a room with a lake view - what a treat! The breakfast offered plenty of choices of which we certainly indulged! The decor of our room was very dated but it was so spacious, comfortable and clean. All in all a fantastic hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno CD, thank you very much for the good review that you made about our hotel. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Another Very Enjoyable Visit to This Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, quiet, breakfast on the terrace.
Location: I recommend: A boat trip on Lake Maggiore, an evening drink on the Katja Boat (a floating bar that moors near to the hotel), a day trip to Lugano.
This was my third visit to the Ramada Hotel La Palma, this time for six nights - the previous visits were for one night only. Once again I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. A huge bonus is the location, for these reasons; The hotel is only a short walk (five to ten minutes) from the railway station. Once you are settled in, using the rear entrance through the car park is the most direct route to the station. The hotel is situated on a quiet road, immediately adjacent to the lakeside. The main town centre (Locarno Piazza Grande) is no more than ten minutes walk away. The boat stop is no more than five minutes walk away. I found the staff on reception at check in/out to be very friendly and helpful - and they spoke excellent English. Breakfast staff were also friendly and eating breakfast outside on the terrace in the fresh morning air was lovely. My room was at the rear of the hotel (not on the lake side - but this was no surprise as I knew I was paying a lower than average price) - even so there are pleasant views up to the hills at the rear of the town. The room was spacious, clean and quiet.. In summary I think this hotel is a super base for a holiday in the Ticino region. On a couple of days I took the train to Lugano - about 1 hour, and one change, from Locarno - it was very easy. I would be very happy to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by General Manager, Cinzia Belingheri and Team, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Peter, knowing that you have enjoyed your stay that much is just amazing to us. Best regards.
5 out of 5
by Mike from Hawaii

Viva Locarno!

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels
It was a great short stay. Great views and convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Cinzia, Hotel Management
Buongiorno Mike, thank you very much for the excellent review. We do hope to get the possibility once more to be you host. Best regards, General Manager Cinzia Belingheri and Team.