Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views of Lake Lugano

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
15 minute downhill walk to centre of Lugano and uphill to railway station, taxi typically 20 SFR.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Hotel Delfino Lugano Patrick Gerber, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Tiny rooms if at end of hallway which we were. Location is a little out of the way, but it was walking distance to the car rental and train station which worked well for us. Breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Hotel Delfino Lugano Patrick Gerber, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carleton Place

Loved the outdoor pool

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is one of the few I found in the mid price range in Lugano that has an outdoor pool and I really loved it because the weather was very warm and after walking around the sites all day it was great to go for a swim to cool off. The hotel restaurant has tables around the pool and it was lovely place to have drinks and dinner. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. The manager came around and chatted to everyone at their table in their own language which was a nice touch. The receptionists were very helpful with tourism info. The room was small as are most rooms in switzerland but it had a little balcony with chairs which was a nice bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Hotel Delfino Lugano Patrick Gerber, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Lastminute
Small room but comfortable beds and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was delicious. Pool and dining area combined was pretty and very Mediterranean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Patrick Gerber, Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Hotel Delfino Lugano Patrick Gerber, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from UK

UK couple

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
A pleasant enough hotel. A little out of town and away from the lake, but within walking range. A nice range of options for breakfast and a good patio area to relax in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Hotel Delfino Lugano Patrick Gerber, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by Paula from Drogheda

Fab hotel in beautiful Lugano

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
We only had 24 hours in Lugano but bed it. Hotel Delfino was perfect for us. Great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Hotel Delfino Lugano Patrick Gerber, Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by Bradi from Boston

Clean, but outdated

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
I only stayed one night which I was thankful for. I know I am not European, but this bed was SMALL! Overall the accommodations were very basic and outdated, but clean. Parking is an additional $18. It is a 10-15 minute walk to old town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We have different room categories. You booked a smaller double room with a french bed - if you need more space we can suggest you for your next stay a room with a twin bed. We are happy that you could enjoy the walk along the lakeside to the city center of Lugano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel, but without a breakfast.
Cons: Breakfast.
Nice hotel, but without a breakfast. Nice staff and facilites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Patrick Gerber, Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very sorry that we did not explain good enough that in the period from January to February we did non serve breakfast to offer lower rates to your guests. Since March we have again our traditional breakfast buffet with big choice of fresh and local products. We hope that you come back soon to try our breakfast buffet and we are sure that you will not be appointed.
3 out of 5
by Jude from San Antonio

Good place for one night

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
The room was large by European standards and included hot water pot with coffee & tea. The desk staff was helpful and efficient. The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from a local train that goes to the main Zurich rail station. Breakfast was ok. The main negative was that the desk won't provide a wake up call and the wake up function on the phone did not work. The desk offered to send a technician, but we didn't want to wait around the room for who knows how long until the tech person came. The shuttle to the airport was handy and on time.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Management Hotel Delfino, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you that you have chosen the Hotel Delfino for your stay at Lugano and that you have rated your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to read your very nice review and we look forward to welcome you again at the Delfino very soon Kind regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, quiet but price a bit steep for the value.

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Given its price I expected more. If you're going on business, keep in mind that they do not offer an iron, only an ironing service which is quite expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Management Hotel Delfino, Hotel Management
Dear client Thank you for your kind review. We are sorry but for security reason we never provide the iron in the room. We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Delfino.