Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient location near train station. Rooms are ok for a transit stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Great service and fantastic location

Posted Nov 27, 2014
I would recommend this hotel to friends. The staff are extremely friendly. Rooms are very clean. Location is just opposite Licarno main train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by martin from sydney

Excellent location and value for money.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel has an excellent location with the station, lake and restaurants all very close by. The view from the room is amazing.
Cons: Hotel maintenance needs attention.
Location: Go for a nice walk along the lake or hire a bike; take the train to Bellinzona or the ferry to Ascona. Lots to see and do in Locarno.
I was a bit unsure about the Garni Montaldi, but the hotel is located not 2 mins away from the station and double-glazing make sure the room remains quiet. The hotel itself is a bit old, and rough around the edges, but the rooms are big and perfectly clean, so you have to take the good with the not-so-good. Helpful staff; free Wi-Fi.
1 out of 5
by DB from Hertfordshire

Prisoner cell block H

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels
First impression on entry is 'Is this a hostel ?' and it goes downhill from there. Staff were reasonably helpful but first worry is when you are handed 2 remotes for the TV at reception ?? The lift was old with NO GUARD between the lift and the lift doors.Could not see any fire escape signs even though we were on fifth floor. Door to room led to 2 separate doors to 507 and 508 (as we required a separate single). One bathroom which was a horrible plastic tatty unit with shower. The bedrooms had been painted by someone who thought that wall paint should splatter round the ceiling edges... at least that was a better colour than the stain on the ceiling. The worn out tatty furniture looked like it had come out of a house clearance... Bed linen so old that it was 'bobbly' and the sheets so thin over a not too clean mattress that we slept on top of the 'covers' in our clothes. After the banging from upstairs stopped at about 0100 hrs we tried to sleep. unfortunately the banging started again at 0400 hrs. After 1 hour's sleep all night we got up and went down to the worn out breakfast room. Staff member polite, breakfast simple and actually OK. Free wifi so at least you can surf the web while you can't sleep. Room view was nice, up to mountains behind.. Overpriced, almost a joke. I feel sorry for the staff, running a dump like this. If you are brave and book and are handed keys to 507 and 508, laugh and hand them back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to take a train

Posted Jul 6, 2012 on Hotels
Pretty old and kitch but convenient location. No air conditioning: was hard to sleep... The bathroom looks like a plastic capsule. Breakfast was OK. Nice people. I would recommend for the convenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tübingen

Zentrale Lage gegenüber Bahnhof

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Die zentrale Lage.
Location: Zentrale Lage gegenüber vom Bahnhof.
Wir waren nur für eine Nacht im Hotel um Lugano und Ascona zu besichtigen. Vom Hotel kann vieles zu Fuß erreicht werden. Ebenso befindet sich direkt gegenüber vom Hotel der Bahnhof, sowie eine Bushaltestelle, von der aus u. a. auch die Busse nach Ascona verkehren. Die Schiffsanlegestelle kann zu Fuß in 5 Min. erreicht werden. Sehr freundliches Personal an der Rezeption, an welcher auch gekühlte Getränke gekauft werden können.
3 out of 5
by Annemarie

Gutes Preis/Leistung-Angebot!

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Kleines Zimmer, aber völlig ok für kürzere Zguteseit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morges

Proche de la gare

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Ebookers
Hôtel avec beaucoup de bruit les week-ends Discothèque à proximité.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

moon&stars

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Posiriv war nur die Lage und das freundliche Personal. 2 Zimmer gebucht, einzel und doppel. Beide gleicher Preis aber das Einzelzimmer war noch schlechter als das Doppelzimmer. Für eine Nacht ok.