Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is old but nice and well cared. Service was really good and the restaurant and breakfast are serving good food. The restaurant is on a hill so location is nice and quiet, not next to shops or nightlife.
4 out of 5
by Aadil from India

Real Peace and Serenity above the Lake

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
I went for a one night stay to Lugano and chose Hotel Rovio due to its location. Its about 1-2km up a hill, in a very very quiet and peaceful area. Its away from the noise and highway, where you can really just relax. They have this lovely garden than overlooks the lake where you can sit for hours! The same view is also offered from their restaurant. Besides this, they have a heated pool. The room was big and clean, with free Wifi, cable TV and nice thick warm blankets. I loved it, and would definitely go again if ever Im looking for a quiet getaway
3 out of 5
by Yi

not feel as better as recommanded

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
no heating and no air conditioner. it's very cold at night. the light in the aisle is very dark. it's not a good feeling especially in the evening.
3 out of 5
by Justin from New York

Yesterday's Park Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is pleasant enough for a night's stay in the hills above lake Lugano, but I am surprised by the high ratings of other reviewers. The hotel and grounds must have been a rather luxurious ensemble back in the late 70's, with a small park, swimming pool with panoramic lake view etc., but not much seems to have been done to update the facilities since then. There is nothing specifically wrong with the hotel, and the staff was friendly and helpful, but everything feels a bit dated, whimsical and worn out, which might have it's charm, but we found it a bit creepy.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Chino Valley

wunderbar

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
We couldn't have been happier. The staff and the grounds were fit for a king.
4 out of 5
by wenlung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John from Norwich, England

Great view and food.

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
Situated up a windy road it has a lovely view of the lake. The hotel is very pleasing on the eye from the outside and has a lovely garden to sit and relax in. Breakfast was outstanding. We chose to eat there in the evening and again the food was really good. Good value for the money.
4 out of 5
by Bob Ladd from Spokane Valley

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels
Out of the way a bit, but very enjoyable with great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent Hotel just outside of Town

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Nothing bad to say except there is no A/C and the place could use some updating. The nights are cool so it wasn't uncomfortable and the room was small and outdated. But not in a way that makes it bad. The staff is outstanding and friendly and the location is central to everything while being well outside of the city itself.
4 out of 5
by aguerocr from Costa Rica

Staff very attentive and excellent location

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel has a great location above the lake. You can easily view the valley. The staff was also very nice and polite. The room that we got was very nice and comfortable. I would only appreciated to have a firmer pillow because the ones we got were too soft for my taste. The street that you take from the highway toward up the hotel can be rather narrow in some points. During our stay there was lots of rain and it caused rubble to fall into the street. The firemen and the repair crews had to close one lane or the complete street to address this problem.