Ratings based on 716 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

Great hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2017
We loved staying at The Central. It was perfectly located very near the train station so made it easy to get to when arriving and leaving by train. It is also very handy as it is close to the old town so made it convenient for sightseeing. The staff were super friendly snd helpful and we're ready to assist when needed Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We thorough enjoyed our stay and would definitely return if we were to be in Zurich again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and for your positive rating. We are delighted to read that you love the perfect location near to the main station and in the old town. Thank you for your compliments regarding our friendly and helpful staff. We look forward to welcome you soon again. Kind regards, Franziska Kläy, Guest Relation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
I have a wonderful stay. The front desk staff was terrific.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and for your great rating. We would be glad to welcome you soon again. Kind regards, Franziska Kläy, Guest Relation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: proximity to train station
Cons: everything else
no way this is a 4 star hotel no
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and for your rating. We regret that we could not meet your expectations and wish you a good time. Kind regards, Franziska Kläy, Guest Relation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York,NY

4-day business trip

Posted May 13, 2017
Great location; convenient to train station hub; overall a nice place, especially for the price. however, I missed the fact that breakfast was not included and there are other hotels in the area at this price-point that include breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and for your positive rating. If you preorder the buffet breakfast during the check in we offer the special rate of 22.00 CHF. We wish you a great time and would be glad to welcome you soon again. Sunny regards, Franziska Kläy, Guest Relation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Just a one night stopover

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Location. You can't get much more central than this.
Location: Across the road from the Central Train Station (Hauptbahnhof). Lots of bars, restaurants and shops nearby as you would expect.
High quality hotel in fantastic central location. Spacious, clean, classy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your visit and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to read that oyu had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the central location. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, Franziska Kläy, Guest Relation
5 out of 5
by Santos

Romantic getaway

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location in a great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Franziska Jahn, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and for your perfect rating. We are glad to read that you had a great time in our hotel. Best regards, Franziska Kläy, Guest Relation
3 out of 5
by Shelly

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
extremely small room to the extent could barley walk around without running into furniture
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Franziska Jahn, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and for sharing your opinion. We regret to hear that the size of the room could not meet your expectations. There are more spacious Superior Rooms and (Junior) Suites. It is always helpful if our guests let us know about any issue directly in the hotel. Than the reception team can organize a room change. We wish you a great spring time. Kind regards, Franziska Kläy, Guest Relation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

It felt like we were on the street

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to everything in Zurich
In the nicest way possible. The room on the first floor looked out directly onto Central Plaza, with traffic, trams, pedestrians, and trolley buses. The room was ok, but the view was in many ways rather spectacular.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and for having taken the time to write your review. The rooms in the first floor are our Superior Rooms - we are glad that you enjoyed the view. We would be glad to welcome you soon again. Kind regards, Franziska Kläy, Guest Relation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfortable rooms

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Incredibly rude, unprofessional service at breakfast Sunday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and for sharing your opinion. We regret to hear that our service team could not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we do not know what happened. Please accept our sincere apologies. Kind regards, Franziska Kläy, Guest Relation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great location for on-foot sight-seeing.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pleasant staff, and clean rooms. I was upgraded to a balcony and sitting out there people watching was pleasant. The location is excellent. Just a very short walk from the main train station itself only 10 minutes train ride from Zurich airport. No need for the (very) expensive taxis or anxiety over how to get to your hotel upon arrival. You are situated close to all the sites and an easy walk will cover everything in the main center of the city. Walking really is the way to go in Zurich.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experiences. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the perfect located hotel. Yes, it is so easy to arrive by train from the airport. We wish you a wonderful spring and would be glad to welcome you soon again. Sunny regards, Franziska Kläy, Guest Relation